Week 20: A Year of Projects

Aloha. Boy did this Veteran’s Day weekend go by fast. Our ohana have been homebodies all three days and have been eatin’ well at dinner. Each day I’ve been gettin’ in some crafting (❁´▽`❁)*✲゚* which you know is like rainbows and unicorns for me.

So, you know it’s almost mid-November already and for us knitters, it’s NAKNISWEMO – National Knit a Sweater in a Month. This event was inspired by NANOWRIMO (National Novel Writing Month) where writers write a 50,000 word novel in November. There is a Ravelry group for NAKNISWEMO which I’ve been a member of since 2015 I think. I totally failed at trying to knit Tin Can Knits’s Harvest cardigan that year. This year when November was approaching, I thought about participating again using the same yarn and pattern.

However, I didn’t know if I was going to be motivated doing so. Therefore I decided to use the same yarn but try a different pattern.

This yarn is Miss Bab’s Yowza in the Completely Lovely colorway. My mum had bought it for me at a STITCHES West. Back then I was going to knit it for a circular vest pattern but had become iffy about that pattern which had then led me to Harvest in 2015.

The pattern I’m currently working on is Stefanie Japel’s Shapely Boyfriend. I still wanted a cardigan. The only garment I’ve made myself is the Polly Pullover. I’ve finished the raglan increases and need to wind up the second skein so I can alternate skeins.

Here’s a close up of the yarn and my autumn/fall/November progress keeper:

Through this pattern I’ve learned how to increase in another way. In the past I’ve used KFB or M1R/M1L. The increases Stefanie uses are called LLI and RLI. I found it fun to learn somethin’ new.

I’ve been keeping a spreadsheet of my progress so far. Right now I have knitted 5,512 stitches. I doubt I’ll hit the required 50K stitches by the end of my cardigan but that’s okay. I’m knitting for the fun of it because I highly doubt I’ll finish this cardigan by the end of November.

So, what are you up today? What are you crafting? Mahalo for hangin’ ten with me this Sunday. Aloha! I’m off to sew for my swap partner.

22 thoughts on “Week 20: A Year of Projects

  1. The weekend has gone by so quickly! I’ve got a roast pork going in the oven soon for dinner and not long after that it will be bedtime.
    Your sweater is coming along beautifully. I’m back to knitting and am working on N’s hat.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Like

  2. That sounds like a cool group, but I have to always write report cards in November so I don’t think I’d get a whole sweater done:(
    I love the yarn!!

    Like

  3. I am almost finished with my Trillian Shawl using Miss Babs Yowza in the Beachglass colorway. I love that yarn~it’s so perfectly soft and the colors are gorgeous! I’m also working on my socks and a hat. I wanted to bring my cardigan with me, which has been on the back burner for forever; however didn’t have enough room in my suitcase or carry on for it and all the yarn 😦 I’m on the East Coast in Indiana for the next three weeks 🙂 Your sweater is looking gorgeous!

    Like

  4. My gosh Stefanie, you are full of energy! Your sweater looks great! I don’t think I could knit a sweater in a month! I love your progress marker, so cute! Today is all about budgeting. Most of my spending happens from now through to February with winter, the inevitable car repair that seems to happen EVERY January…Christmas, New Years then Alex’s bday all in the same 3 weeks!!! I’m trying to plan our holiday meals and treats while not getting into heavy debt lol…after that I’ll be getting back to my dog Christmas stockings! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hiya!! OMGeee!! That color is beautiful! I just know your sweater is going to be lovely. I’m working to try to get a few WIPS finished is about all I’m up to. Hoping to cast on new socks Thanksgiving night though. A full belly and a cast on…Ahhhh November. LOL!!

    Have a great holiday!

    Like

  6. Good luck on your sweater! I am just trying to wrap up a few things I planned to do by the end of January and I’m failing miserably! You’re absolutely right about rainbows and unicorns for crafting time!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

