It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hello. How’re you adjusting to Daylight Savings? The crew and I are enjoying the extra hour this Sunday. Our family had spent most of Saturday up in the city. My dentist took impressions of the titanium posts for my right side crowns. Afterwards we were starving by so we hit Mel’s Diner since this Japanese place had a long line. I ordered the Elvis Scramble – chorizo, green chiles, and Monterey Jack with scrambled eggs + hash browns, my favorite style of spuds. My Yeah Yeah used to make hash browns from scratch. I haven’t tried that yet but Mel’s does a good job of getting that crisp on each side. The four of us visited my paternal grandmother for two hours; she is always an interesting conversationalist with her sharp tongue and unfiltered thoughts. When we got back, after hot showers, the girls and I watched more of The Fosters. We love it. It’s realistic fiction as my teen would describe it, the genre she reads all the time.

What’d you do this weekend? How was your reading week?

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

I managed to finish a few books this week. The first was trying at least one recipe from this cookbook:

I ran into some potholes that were my own errors. If you’re curious about the experience, you can click here to read about it in that post.

This book is based upon Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. I’m only faintly familiar with the book as I’ve listened to the audiobook once on Overdrive. I had to visit Wikipedia to refresh my memory. It took me a while to figure out how it parallels the original work of Austen but once I saw the connections, I saw the light. While Sense and Sensibility focused more on Elinor, Hillary Manton Lodge has Jane (Marianne) in the forefront.

I’m always hesitant to read modern-day romances because my expectations are high, perhaps unreasonably so due to the creative and no-holds-barred plots of fantasies I’ve been reading. However, I actually enjoyed this book.  Each chapter starts with a quote, either about tea or about Texas. You’d recognize some of the authors. Most chapters end with a recipe. I liked the development of the sisters’ plight from rock bottom to a happy triumph. I liked how the modern-day components were played out. When I had read Eligible (a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice), while today’s society is all over reality TV, I felt all of that was shoved in my face. Jane of Austin mimics every day life. Four stars.

Do you find sometimes it’s easier to get the hard copy than the eBook one from your local library? I got this paperback much sooner than I would have the Kindle version.

I know the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache is a popular series so I wanted to continue it further. I swear, every time I immerse myself in one of his investigations, I have no clue who the murderer could be. All I see is a quaint village of Three Pines that’s inhabited by a bunch of characters of all ages and dispositions who’ve known one another and who have lived there for years. I think, who would want to kill a fellow villager? I enjoy the Inspector’s poise and composure. I like the way he treats his group of agents and how he conducts an investigation. Three stars. I will definitely be continuing this series once I finish my stack.

Currently Reading

  1. (focusing upon) A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas
  2. (listening to) River Marked (Mercy Thompson #6) by Patricia Briggs
  3. The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky

What the Dames are Reading

  1. [8th grader] Egg & Spoon by Gregory McGuire – I’m interested in hearing her opinion about this book as she mostly reads about high school characters and because I had tried reading Wicked by this author and found it too weird.
  2. [5th grader] Cavern of Secrets (Wing & Claw #2) by Linda Sue Park – Jellybean has been faithfully reading from her classroom library. We make sure to support it by having bought a few books for it and always ordering from the monthly, Scholastic Book Club so her teacher gets points and can order books.

Well, thanks for dropping by today. Have a good Monday. Happy reading to you. TTYL!

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Hi Stefanie 🙂 I think your brownies looked good! I’ve used different pans and mine were more raw in the middle too. I guess they really need a good pan to cook evenly. I’ve given up on using light brown sugar in my cooking – whatever I can find on sale is good for me, and it always makes things a little darker!

    I love potatoes, especially hash browns, which I can’t make very well at home either! You need one of those big grills! 🙂

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about library ebooks…and I really can’t figure out why! I am so glad that you take time to visit your grandmother…the girls will always remember that…won’t they?

    We always spent Saturday’s in the City when we lived in Santa Clara…there was always so much to do!

    Like

    • Oh wow, you lived in Santa Clara at one point? That’s where STITCHES West is held. I get along with my grandmother better now that we don’t live in her building. She drove me crazy and my poor mum has to deal with her all the time now since E and I aren’t there to help take her places. I let my mum vent when I see her.

      Like

  3. Sometimes diner food is just what we need! That looks good.

    I love The Fosters!

    I’ve never tried getting e-books from the library…in fact, I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t gone to the library in a long time…except to donate books!

    Enjoy your week! I mostly relaxed with books and movies this weekend…didn’t even leave the house, which is unusual. I think the time change had the opposite effect for me…and left me wiped out!

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  4. I have a copy of Sense and Sensibility that I still haven’t read, I think I’m going to try reading it, I’m having a tough time finding something to read lately. It’s been so long since I’ve read ebooks from the library but I do remember them taking a long time to become available.

    We don’t do daylight savings here, the only way it affects us is that some tv shows come on an hour later. I’m always happy when you guys change back again though, I like having shows on earlier!

    Like

    • I love having the extra hour as it got colder and darker. Kudos to you for reading through the hard copy of Jane Austen. I only like listening to the audio versions. Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice are my favorites of hers + Emma. Thank you for sharing and dropping by.

      Like

  5. Argh I hate DST.. the boys woke up so early, the little one napped 2 hours too early we got nothing extra at all. In fact i’m sure we got less sleep than usual.

    Like

  6. That breakfast sounds really yummy and hashbrowns aren’t too hard to make. I can never get them quite as good as my dad’s though:(

    Like

  7. That looks amazing! We are actually having chorizo and eggs for dinner tonight – just not as fancy a version! 🙂

    I really want to read A Court of Wings and Ruin! I also thought Wicked was weird. I read it but it was a struggle.

    Like

  8. Some great reading there Stefanie. I have been thinking about reading the Sarah Maas series, I see you are reading #3, I’d like to at least read #1 to see if to my taste. I don’t much like rewrites of Austen but the one you read sounds good. And four stars from yourself is high praise. A quote and a recipe for each chapter too would be to my taste!

    Like

  9. I agree on the ebook vs print book from the library. I think I was #12 on the hold list for a book and then walked into the library and there it was sitting on the shelf! I have a Louise Penny book coming up soon and am looking forward to it. I’m only on #2 but I’ve heard the series gets better over time. I’ve read one book by Maguire (the one connected to Alice in Wonderland) and enjoyed it but it’s definitely weird. Enjoy your reading! I’ve been on a cozy mystery binge lately so it’s all that all the time over here.

    Like

  10. I am a huge lover of hashbrowns and scrambled eggs with cheese, and a tasty protein like chorizo?!? count me in!! I’m not reading. I’ve been slipping this week. Having a hard time with the tidying and the hobbies, but that’s this week. It is what it is. I’m trying to get the teen to read more. He seems to have found an interest in serial killers. I know, I know … but if he reads, I’ll take it.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

