The Other Craft, XIV

( ง ´◇`)ง♪ “The hills are alive…”

I did it! OMGosh, I feel so free. I knocked out nine, thank you cards for the kids to thank friends or relatives for either gifts or for sponsorship. Here are the fruits of my labor:

I found on Pinterest today the blue and yellow card by Handmade by G3. It was my inspiration. I experimented with pairs of Distress Ink, trying to go along the lines of Pantone’s Fall 2017 colors. I found the pin of Sarah Renae Clark‘s color combinations useful as I ended up using Evergreen Bough and Shabby Shutters with a Tim Holtz new stencil set, Gothic. I stenciled with the Doily one.

I didn’t have die cut letters or words like how the inspirational card uses. And all of my letter stamps and thank you stamps were too big and would have resulted in a sentiment longer than the stenciled piece. So since I had bought a pad of 11″ x 17″ vellum during the summer at Office Max that needed some using, I cut down a sheet to 8.5″ x 11″ for the printer. I measured how long I wanted the sentiment to be and played with cursive fonts to see what style would go with the stencil. I ended up choosing French Script, putting it bold and in size 28.

After cutting out nine THANKS! I dabbed each end on my VersaMark pad and sprinkled gold embossing powder to heat emboss. Vellum is see through so any adhesive you use would show through it. I used half of a Scotch foam square behind each gold rectangle to adhere it to each card.

Now I have to make nine envelopes but I need more dot adhesive. I’ll get it tomorrow. (*•̀ᴗ•́*)و ̑̑ Yay for progress and a check off of my To-Do list! BTW, I am behind on your blogs. I’ll try to get to them tomorrow. And thank you for your recent visits. I’ll get to your comments tomorrow too. Off to make dinner for the crew. TTYL!

13 thoughts on “The Other Craft, XIV

    • Most definitely. My grandmother “complained” that she hasn’t heard from the teen so my mom was like just have C write a plain note. So the teen used notepad paper and a white envelope. I wonder if my battle ax grandmother noticed she didn’t get a nice card? Ha!

      Like

  1. Those are gorgeous! I love how you did the text. I’ve never really done any card making but I used to scrapbook and one of my biggest issues was with my handwriting. I just couldn’t get it the way I wanted and stamps/stickers didn’t always work.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

