It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Good morning. How is your Monday going? I had a hard time waking up today. When do we turn back the clock? I’m in hibernation mode with these chilly mornings. What about you? And dang it, we are warming up this week back to high 80’s. Thank goodness for AC.

So how was your weekend? Did you participate in Dewey’s Read-a-thon? I didn’t as I had marked it for sewing. I’m pleased with how I knocked out two tote bags. I am seriously ready to graduate from tote bag making. I want to learn how to make other kinds of bags and to move onto clothes!

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

Okay. I’ve been readin’ like crazy because I’ve been checking out books like there’s no tomorrow. My recent goal was to finish this one set I’ve had around so I could get to the next bunch. I even have a third set of books to pick up from the library today!

Sew Deadly by Elizabeth Lynn Casey

For this cozy mystery I’m going to be upfront and tell you I gave this book three stars. I gave this rating only because of the main characters. They are full of life and certainly have their personalities in this small, southern town. I really liked the protagonist, Victoria/Tori. I loved her dedication to the children of Sweet Briar and the wonderful ideas she had to make the library an inspiration and home to them. As a crafter myself, I love how groups of people get together with an interest in a craft and take the time to connect.

I didn’t like one character, Inspector McGuire. He was a real prick, a small-minded cop. However, by the end of the book this inspector was slightly different. I do wonder if he’ll be different in book two.

There are a few, semi red herrings and I didn’t guess who actually did it. I do find it strange how the author handled the murderer because it wasn’t typical like most mysteries. I have to admit it was uneventful and a bit anticlimactic, almost making me give the book two stars. I do hope the second installment picks it up because like I said in the beginning I loved the main characters and will read further on.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

This book is my book club’s November pick. I haven’t read nonfiction for a while now so I considered it to be a challenge especially since the nonfiction I have read were food memoirs. This book about Henrietta and how her tumor cells changed the world of science research and technology was very interesting. So many emotions went through me while I read this: anger at those who did things on the sly and didn’t have the courtesy to treat the Lacks family right + wonderment at how the use of her cells advanced research and changed its practices. I also felt some of the material was above my head as there are parts that get deep into science jargon and content. No matter what, I’m glad to have read this book. It was eye-opening. Three stars.

Oh and speaking of book club, October’s meeting was laid back. Whoever wanted to talk talked. You just brought up what stood out to you and what you liked. Some of the members were very knowledgeable about the time period so I learned some new facts about American history.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

I didn’t read Shakespeare in high school nor in college. But when I was in the classroom, our fifth grade had a drama consultant who exposed our classes to Shakespeare (MacBeth). Groups of students got together in my class and picked out which scene they wanted to memorize and reenact on stage. Oh boy, what a priceless session this was. My kids were transformed and just to hear Shakespeare coming out of their mouths was wonderful. Some boys even performed choreographed fight scenes.

If you met the teen’s English Honor’s teacher, you would like her. She is bubbly and eloquent. The teacher definitely has a strong presence in her classroom and I know she makes these kids think and dig deeper into the books they read. During Back-to-School Night I wrote down what books they’ll be reading in class. This is the first one.

I saw the Calista Flockhart movie version about two decades ago. I wanted to read it because the teen is reading it now. This BBC audio dramatization was highly entertaining. It was only two discs and I finished it in one sitting. Oh, the power of the Fae and the mischief they can play. Three stars.

Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson #5) by Patricia Briggs

This fifth installment of the Mercy Thompson series wasn’t as crazy as the first four. It was more mellow and I was a bit surprised at that.

But yes, she does become a target of a supernatural group and yes, she keeps putting others before herself. I love how her and Adam’s relationship develops further, how it isn’t perfect and how it has some stumbling blocks. I did find her imprisonment muddled and glossed over. I didn’t quite understand what was the whole purpose of her being there. The adversary wasn’t as evil as the ones in the first four books. Three stars.

Okay, last one, I promise. I just finished At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon last night.

This book is considered Christian fiction. There is Scripture quoted throughout the book, mostly by Father Tim. This read is an easygoing one. You read about the daily life of the small village of Mitford that has characters in it, ranging from the onery to the generous to the mischievous.

I got an idea of the duties of a clergyman and how he takes care of his people in the village. I felt the vibe of this book was reminiscent of Maeve Binchy, of how she tells a story with so many people involved and intertwined in each other’s lives. Three stars.

Okay. I am done. Thank you for soldiering through this post. Here’s what’s up next for my reading week:

  1. Fat Witch Brownies: Brownie, Blondies, and Bars from New York’s Legendary Fat Witch Bakery by Patricia Helding (This book I had to renew so I’ve had it around for a while now. I just bought molasses, butter, and eggs this morning so I can make a recipe from it!)
  2. The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky
  3. Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge
  4. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters by Susan Mallery

I have cards to tackle today so I need to get going. Have a good Monday. Happy reading!

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. You are incredibly busy…even with your sleepy mornings! We are having some very chilly weather this week but it feels good…it’s been really summery for a while. I love four seasons…I know most people don’t but I really do! Your book choices are always interesting to me!

    Have a great week!

    Like

  2. I read the MItford series in Colorado in the summer of 2009 I think. I was very anxious on the vacation and the simplicity of the book calmed me. It was sort of a book about nothing in a pleasant way. I want to read IMmortal Life and next up for me is Furiously Happy. I also am interested in 7 days of US>

    Like

    • The Mitford book was yes, calming simplicity as you put it. I did chomp at the bit a bit because I wanted to move onto my other books. The book was pretty long; that’s some small print in there.

      Like

  3. What a reading list! I just love A Midsummer Night’s Dream but then again, I adore Shakespeare. I just finished off Gwendy’s Button Box and currently reading The Zero Sugar Diet, both vastly different books.

    Like

  4. I have the Henrietta book but haven’t read it, I love the Mitford series but I have discovered we have very different tastes in books which is fine and makes it interesting. I had Shakespeare in high school and to this day I do not see what the big deal is…if you have to work that hard to understand something or get the ‘meaning’ it makes no sense to me but then I am a scientific and math type….I like things clear, concise and provable! LOL!

    Like

  5. I HATE the mean for no reason cop in a cozy mystery. Hopefully that will evolve as the series goes on. I’ve found that the first book in the series isn’t usually my favorite. There’s too much setup and introductions and then usually the later books are better. This series is on my TBR so I’m hoping! I’ve read one book by Jan Karon and while it wasn’t a wow book it was very nice and cozy read. I’d like to read more in the series. I’m a big fan of any baked good containing butter and molasses so I’m looking forward to your review of that book and The Tulip Sisters has been on my TBR since I first heard about it. Can’t wait to see your thoughts!

    Like

  6. Ah! I love Midsummer Night’s! And the movie actually – I thought it was so fun. It’s so great seeing kids performing Shakespeare right? I’m so glad their teacher is so great – it’s so imperative to enjoying and doing well in a class!

    Really need to read Mercy!

    The Immortals! I’ve heard of that one too!

    Hope you’re loving your reads!!! And that you’re having a great week.

    Like

  7. I loved the Mitford series! I have a thing for small town books, with interesting characters and that series fits the bill. It’s funny, I just was talking about Mitford over at Julie’s Smiling Shelves too! Is River Marked your next Mercy book to read?

    I can’t wait to see what you are baking from that Fat Witch book. Lol at the name.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

