It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Good afternoon. I finally have time to work on this book post. I totally blanked out earlier today; I need to go to bed earlier.

I want to first, quickly throw out another thank you to you all for sending my firstborn birthday wishes. Her dad and I still can’t believe she is 13 now; she had such a fun time with her girlfriends that first weekend of October.

And thank you also for being such a supporter of my handmade card work. I’ve been trying to come up with a design for the nine thank you cards, but have been stuck creatively. I’m taking a little break from that craft right now.

How was your weekend? Every other week the husband is off Friday so this one he was. It’s like a three-day weekend for me because he’ll take care of drop off and pick up. My man was also my chauffeur, taking me deep into San Jose to get my periodontal scans done. Afterwards, we tried Poke House back in town. It’s good; you can order one of their bowls or put together your own.

Saturday I had a cardmaking block so I treated myself to a nap. I also started utilizing our Netflix, watching two documentaries: Swimming with Killer Whales and Africa’s Deadliest. My favorite was the first show because I love orca and found Dr. Ingrid Visser so brave to swim beside or above them while filming their behavior. There are only about 200 orca that stay around New Zealand. Their numbers haven’t been growing which concern her. It’s hard for her to be able to autopsy one because a dead one either sinks to the ocean floor or it washes up in a Maori tribe’s territory. They only allow her to take a sample here and there. These samples have shown high traces of toxic chemicals. I really recommend this documentary.

Sunday, I went to knitting group! I found a local, knitting group through the app, Meetup! They meet in the town before me once a month at a Starbucks. So I went and only found Qi. We put tables and chairs together and realized it was 20 minutes past the meeting time. I checked the app and found out we had missed the change of date. So she and I bought drinks and chatted until past four! I had so much fun connecting with her. Qi is a new member like me. We’re going back this coming Sunday where at least three other knitters are supposed to come. I’m excited to meet one I haven’t met yet.

(*^^)/~~~~~~~~~~◎Moving onto books, linking up to Kathryn

Okay, so I finished this audiobook, the fourth installment in the Mercy Thompson series. I have to say I’m enjoying Mercy’s life. It’s a likable series and I swear, in each of these books there is always somethin’ slightly crazy goin’ down. I like her tough spirit and her loyalty to those who matter in her life. Three stars.

I checked out this book with two others and have been favoring A Court of Mist and Fury. Saturday night I was up reading and wanted to finish this book but the husband woke up around midnight to get something to drink and told me to go to bed. Since I was going to knitting Sunday, I did and finished this second installment in the morning.

I love this book! ❤⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ ) While I had read the first one last year, I faintly remembered the sarcasm, the fighting, and the brutal punishments. Omgoodness, this one, I loved how things weren’t peaches and roses after what had ended in book one. Things were a roller coaster and an evolution from rock bottom to strength and awareness. I loved how appearances could be deceiving and how the unexpected could ban together. I’m so excited to read the next installment! I’ve requested it from my library. Five stars!

Okie doke. I have to get our NY Steak out of the oven, our second night of it. My youngest loves chewy meat and an old high school friend of mine always flashes his NY Steak on IG which is why I bought this cut this time around at Costco. I’ve been heating up oil in the stainless steel pan, letting a pat of butta melt in it, pan frying each side, placing pats of butta on top of each piece, and then letting the steak bake in the oven. There is just gobbling at the dinner table. What are you having for dinner tonight?

Thank you for dropping by and hanging out a bit. Happy reading to you. TTYL!

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. First off, thanks for a great movie recommendation. I will watch the killer whale movie this winter. My teeth / gums are bothering me. I think Im going to get a water pik. Im a floss nut. TMI.
    Most meats we barb e cue or crock pot because the oven mess makes me nuts!!

    Like

    • It was a good documentary. Dr. Visser is very passionate about what she does. A water pik sounds like a good option. My dad had to get one because he had this pocket in the uppers and kept getting an infection.

      Like

      • I am meeting up once a week with one friend who knits, but we are hoping to expand to include more people. It is nice to have company while knitting:)

        Like

    • Oh and you were talking about bacon in recent post. I learned to prep my bacon on a wire rack in a sheet pan. I usually line it with foil for easier clean up. I then turn on the oven to 400° and put the bacon in. You don’t wait for the oven to warm up first; you put the sheet pan in a cold oven. In about 30-35 minutes, my bacon’s cooked and crispy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you are enjoying Netflix, and it sounds like you have had wonderful events lately, at home and in other places. Congrats on your 13-year-old! I remember my daughter at that age…still a lot of fun.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

    • Thank you. My daughter is a good, goofy seed. Yes, it’s nice to sit on the couch and watch Netflix. I way behind on knitting podcasts but I need a break from them.

      Like

  3. What a happy accident that you missed the change of date! Sounds like you had fun, it’s nice to just sit around talking and drinking coffee sometimes. 🙂 Dinners for us always involve cheese…although tonight I’m making a homemade Fusilli Risotto pasta…all from scratch! What have I got myself into? Lol…I wish I could eat meat…I just love the smell and taste, but my digestion hates me for it! 🙂

    Like

  4. Don’t often see a 5 stars from yourself so has to be greatly to your taste. I have been thinking about the Maas books recently and why I might read them. This helps although I don’t like the idea of brutal punishments!

    Like

  5. That steak in the oven and the way that you prep it sounds fascinating! I love the way you are putting yourself out there for book groups and knitting groups.

    We are finally having Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Tortilla Soup for dinner…I made it yesterday so it just has to be heated today. I usually set out tons of soup toppers… cilantro, Greek yoghurt, cheese, avocado and really good taco chips.

    We bought a pumpkin pie yesterday from a local orchard and we had a slice just now…it’s too good!

    I wandered through Homegoods today and had such fun…we bought new bedroom lamps and then I got distracted by the pasta aisle! I bought lots of pasta.

    Like

  6. This month seems so busy for everyone! Lol.

    I am so glad you are enjoying Mercy! I love her too – except I think book 6? or 7? The River one. I’m curious what you will think. I kept reading the series though, and I swear, the newest book was her best!

    I also love that Maas series. 🙂

    And yum to your dinner!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I got soooooooooooooooooo excited when I hit your blog and saw ACoMaF right there staring at me! I clicked straight on that pic to come and see what you thought!!!!!!!!!!!!! YYYYYYYYYYaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! I’m glad it was so good for you and a 5 star read!!!!!!!!!!! Phew! I loved that book so much! I hope you enjoy ACoWAR too. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you make of it when you get it! Also, my hubby wakes up and tells me to go to sleep too!!!!!!!! 😀

    Anyways… How did the periodontal scans go?

    Sorry about the meeting time changing but I’m glad you still managed to connect with someone and still have a great time there!!!!

    Hope you’re having a great week this week and I’m going to pop over to the other post I haven’t caught up with yet. 🙂

    Like

  8. The documentaries sound wonderful…I love them. Also, the steak sounds so good. I haven’t had one in years as they keep saying stay away from red meat for health reasons but every once in awhile I have a ‘hankering’ for a juicy T-bone! LOL! I may have to indulge!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cardmaking can be that way, don’t worry inspiration will strike again. Great that you found a friend via meet up. Its always fun when that happens. I’m reading the The Rules of Magic by the author that wrote the book Practical Magic (Alice Hoffman) its such a fun read. Hope you have a great week!
    Barb~

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

