It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hello readers. It’s the last full week of September and fall is in the air. Have your temperatures cooled down? We had 70’s last week but this week will be 80’s, maybe even 90’s. It does start out cold in the morning and the wind kicks up which helps during warm temperatures.

Well, I’ve been gone for about 49 days. During my time off, I was productive – making 10 cards, I got some good knitting in, I finished a few amigurumi, and I’ve read 23 books!

I’m slowly working on this post today. I didn’t have the energy to prepare my book post yesterday. After celebrating my birthday (I had asked my SIL to make me a cake in Ravenclaw colors with a golden snitch on top, based on a Pin I had seen.) two weekends ago up in the city, Jellybean got a head cold bug. When her dad finished off her pork chop one night, he suffered all last week. Now it’s my turn. I’m at the body-racking cough stage.

Last Saturday I read all day. I had two, new books checked out from the library Friday. I basically read two to three chapters at a time in one series and then the same amount in the other. I was finished with these by 10 p.m.

One of the series, the Kate Daniels, had me hooked from book one:

These are the second to last two installments. I was all searching my library for the tenth one but then realized it won’t be published until May 2018. The \(☆o◎)/ suspense!

All or nothing. Dangerous quests. Different kinds of swords. Shape shifting hard bodies. Love. Monsters and magic out of mythologies from all over the world. Blood spray. Sarcasm. Family bonds, some twisted. Stubbornness. If any of these are up your alley, then this is the series for you. Kate keeps it real and makes me laugh in each installment. I’ll be looking forward to reading the final book. Three ☆゚.*・。゚for each of these books.

Heather Graham is an author I haven’t read for years. Kathryn (I Wish I Lived in a Library) has read many installments of Krewe of Hunters. I finally became so intrigued I immediately searched my library’s database and found Phantom Evil available to borrow.

Krewe of Hunters is a specialized team. They investigate paranormal activity but closely analyze the behavior of those involved in the case. Many times it’s been said ghosts don’t kill. I used to not like ghosts in a plot but this first book had interesting ghosts, good and bad. The story centers around an apparent suicide of the senator’s wife. The senator himself has this team hired to prove anything but. I liked getting to know each team member and each of them jumped right into the case. I felt Krewe of Hunters was like NCIS. Three ☆゚.*・。゚. I’m currently reading the Kindle version of the second book.

As mentioned in this post, there is another fantasy series I’m slowly going through book after book – Mercy Thompson. Erin (Quixotic Magpie) told me it gets better and better.

Mercy is a walker, being able to change into a coyote easily with no pain. In this form this VW mechanic has a sharp sense of smell and eyesight. I liked this second installment but I have to admit that I did get tired sometimes of the vampires. However, like I responded back to Erin, Blood Bound revealed some Easter eggs about the hierarchy and the ways of the vampires in Mercy’s world. She is loyal to her friends, who are of other species. Danger doesn’t deter her determination to help those she cares about. Three ☆゚.*・。゚. I’m currently listening to book three on OverDrive Listen.

I’m happy to report I joined a local book club! I Google’d around and learned about the app, Meetup. I downloaded Meetup and found the book club. October’s meeting will cover News of the World by Paulette Jiles. When I had posted it on IG, a couple of friends expressed how much they had loved this book. I was glad. One of the main reasons why I wanted to join a book club was to challenge my reading.

You’ve got the wild west in this story. Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd is a former Confederate soldier who travels around the country reading the latest news to each town, tailoring which articles he reads. In one spot, he is paid to deliver a 10-year-old, blonde girl back to her German relatives in San Antonio, Texas. The child previously had been adopted by the Kiowa tribe after they had killed her parents. And so begins the adventure of survival, emotional growth, getting to know one another, and picking at the crossroads.

My interest was hooked. I found it interesting how the conversations didn’t use quotations marks, etc. Because the author didn’t, I felt my reading flowed like an uninterrupted body of water. I found this question asked and answered on Goodreads:

Sophie (a GR user had answered): In an interview with the Sacramento Bee, the author was asked about the lack of quotation marks. Her response was, “Using quote marks is like surrounding human speech with barbed wire. I figured if I was careful enough about how I placed sentences, readers would be able to do without quote marks and I would be freed up. It’s an aesthetic thing, I guess, but I like the effect.”

It’s a personal preference of the reader if he/she liked reading conversations in this way. I admit I had to get used to it before I was able to read those sections naturally.

That’s all I got for this post. I have pick up soon. I leave you, with some fun Youtube videos to watch. We knitters love watching knitting podcasts. One that I follow is by a San Francisco Opera singer who lives in the Bay Area. Not only does she sing, knit, and sew, Joanna of Stitching the High Notes is into cosplay and a nerd of several, science fiction series.

In this video, Joanna interviews her bestie who is hardcore cosplay and who makes a super awesome, Edward Scissorhands costume:

In this video, the two of them have a blast at San Diego’s Comic Con:

Have fun watching and happy reading to you this week. Bye!

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. You sure are rocking the books. Katherine got me interested to in the Heather Graham books although have not got near any yet as have too many others to read, but will be keeping an eye out for them.

    Like

  2. That is awesome about the book club! I have not read any of the books you have profiled but I can be keenly interested in the Ilona Andrews book. Your birthday cake looks beautiful!

    Like

  3. Great birthday photo, and I love the look of that cake.

    Enjoy your books…as for the absence of quotation marks in books, I find it often difficult to follow the conversations. Some authors do it better than others, of course.

    Thanks for sharing, and have a great week. Here are
    MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday (belated) and I love your hair! You look so cute in that style! And o, of course, your darling family….great photo of all of you! We do not have the same taste in books but your reviews are excellent! Your book club book sounded good and although I am not a book club member I do like to look at the lists of books that the library chooses for theirs. They’re usually pretty good. So sorry you guys have been sick….no fun! I hope you get better soon!

    Like

  5. Happy belated birthday! The cake is so fun! Your book club book sounds really good. Also will be checking out the podcast. I recently got hooked on knitting podcasts and am always looking to add new ones to my playlist.

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday! That family photo is so sweet and the cake looks wonderful! I hope you get well soon.
    Joining a book club sounds adventurous and interesting.
    Unlike Canada and the US, here on the Balkans we are freezing – we had to cut short our vacation in Greece, as it got rainy and cold! Enjoy your warm weather!

    Like

  7. Happy birthday! Your cake is gorgeous! Your SIL is talented! I don’t have a book club yet but there’s one at my library that is tempting me. They’re always reading books I either really liked or want to read so I figure that’s a good sign. Yay for the Krewe of Hunters! I haven’t read the early ones though I have dreams of going back and catching up. It’s such a huge series! Right now my 2 favorites are The Betrayed and The Hexed but I’ve enjoyed most of them. Sorry to hear you’re feeling bad. Those bugs that spread from family member to family member is the worst because you can see it coming!

    Like

    • Thank you for your well wishes. I still took this week off from exercise b/c I was still coughing at night but now I don’t although I’m still blowing my nose and well, sometimes it’s not pleasant at what is expelled,LOL.

      Like

  8. Happy Birthday! Your cake turned out magnificent. I think it’s great you took a little reset. I’m impressed with all the reading you did, but you’ve always been a book lover. 🙂 I hope you and the family are all quickly restored to full and good health.

    Like

  9. Ahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! Happy belated birthday and I loooooooooove your cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s just AWESOME!

    Sorry you were so sick though… 😦

    I’m not sure how I would go reading without “”…. I would have to try it. And I think I would have to get used to it! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

