While I’ve been gone…Part Four

Greetings to you. Today is Part Four: Books

While I was gone I read 23 books!

Highlights

  1. I won Silver Blood on Uma’s blog, Books.Bags.Burgers. The protagonist has unusual powers.
  2. I am zooming through the Kate Daniels series. I lurve it! BTW, I don’t read those shorter, in-between books that are published after all the installments are out. I can’t believe sometimes how I’m reading a fantasy that can brutal and bloody. I love the sarcasm and laugh every time I read an installment. I’m currently on book eight; I have two more to go.
  3. Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1) is the only series I like of Gail Carriger. I wasn’t fond of two of her other ones as the characters were younger. I’m glad gave her a third chance. This first installment was fun with the frivolous Victorian manners and fashion.
  4. I am getting into the Mercy Thompson series. It isn’t as bloody as Kate Daniels so I’m adjusting a bit to it but I really like the werewolf pack and Mercy’s strong backbone and snarkiness.
  5. The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire #1) was a good read. It’s one of the few steampunk books that had a sizable chunk of steampunk technology in it.

I’m also happy I completed my 2017 Goodreads Challenge! My goal was 71 books. I’m up to 81 right now and it’s only September. I guess I’ll have to challenge myself even more next year.

It’s Fri-yay, y’all! Woo hoo! Wha’ cha got planned for this weekend? May your plans be relaxation and fun. TTYL.

18 thoughts on “While I’ve been gone…Part Four

  1. I saw on my Kindle where you were reading like an Olympic champion! I am behind this year…I think my goal was 75 and look at you at 81!!!! Maybe I need to take some blog time off? But alas, I am still cleaning the garage and I have painting but I need to gt going also. You are one amazing woman!

    Like

  2. What an awesome book list! I have only read the first book in The Parasol Protectorate series; however I definitely need to read the others in the series. I also love the Mercy Thompson series. I think I’m all caught up on those.

    I haven’t had a ton of time lately for reading; however I have been listening to audio books for free on the Hoopla app. I’m really into a witch series by Juliet Blackwell called Witchcraft Mystery Series. I love the voice of the actress reading the book. I’ve read some reviews that don’t like the books, saying they’re so bad they’re good (or like a train wreck); however I think they are perfect chick lit for walking my dog 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  4. Oh yay!!!!!!! You read Silver Blood! That’s awesome! I have the second in that series to read soon. I enjoyed the first and have high hopes for the rest of the series.

    I am definitely reading Kate Daniels soon! And Mercy Thompson… Soon!

    Well done for reading so much! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    My goal this year was to hit 100 books…. But it’s been my busiest year in work and life in a while so I was so far behind I put it down to 80 and I’m still behind in books read so far this year… Yikes.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

