While I’ve been gone…Part Two

Aloha. It’s time for Part Two: Knitting.

My knitting has been productive during the weeks. In August I sent off a baby gift of hats to my realtor who was having a girl that month:

And of course there was a card for the mama-to-be and project tags for the hats:

You have seen these knitting patterns before. My logic for knitting the beanies smaller (My friend’s son wore his pumpkin hat for at least 10 months.) was not the best way to go. Her baby was 8 lbs so she didn’t fit ๑•́ㅿ•̀๑) ᔆᵒʳʳᵞ the cashmerino hats. I told her to keep them as keepsakes. Oh well, that’ll teach me not to assume all Asian babies have small heads like mine did.

I had fun making the card and these tags. I bought vellum to showcase the white emboss-resist of the card and the distress ink blending I had done to try to get the different hues of the color coral. I really want to practice my vintage card aesthetic by working on small tags time to time. I like the smaller space because whenever I have a bigger area to decorate, I feel I have to fill it up with everything. I get a little overwhelmed with trying to figure out what to layer, etc.

Guess what?! I have FO’s!

However they need to be blocked so you’re only seeing sneaky peeks of them. I hope to get to wet-blocking them this week.

I have a new WIP:

Kathy (Compassion Knit), I’m finally working on my twiddle muff! I’ve named this project, “In Memory of Auntie Gamma.” She was my great aunt who had lived in the same apartment building as us in SF and oh boy did she tell it like it is!  Auntie Gamma was generous to our girls, always giving them Cheerios and snacks. She would buy me henlaw, a Chinese snails dish like this one, whenever it was in season. My great aunt used to also help me watch the tween when she was a baby so I could shower or go to the gym. In addition, Auntie Gamma is the reason why I listen to the Giants games via a pocket radio. I used to hear her walk down the steps to gather the mail in her housecoat and the baseball game blasting away in its pocket. When it was figured out she had dementia, unfortunately, she deteriorated fast. I miss her.

In case you’ve forgotten what a fiddle mitt/twiddle muff is, they are like large cuffs that are knitted or crocheted and anchored items are sewn firmly down onto them. These are given to patients who have dementia as they are a form of stimulation.

The tween lost interest in knitting long ago and gave me her bin of Michael’s yarn. I frogged the scarf WIP that this yarn was used for and rewound it with my nostepinne. I started last week knitting the stockinette stitch. It is not going as fast as I would like because chunky yarn is knitted at a slower pace since there is more to handle. I’m using a Chiagoo size 10 (6.0 mm) circular so I’m getting a tighter gauge.

That’s it for this fiber edition. May your Hump Day fly by today. TTYL. Aloha.

22 thoughts on “While I’ve been gone…Part Two

    • I’m ೭੧(❛▿❛✿)੭೨ glad I’m not the only one who’s had knitting snafus like that. I told her when it was colder, I’d knit her something new. Love ya too!

      Like

  1. Hi Stefanie, oh my gosh great minds think alike lol…I am very tempted to knit myself a pumpkin hat, just for fun. I found a pattern about 2 weeks ago and ordered some orange yarn…but my gosh it’s nuclear…way too neon…maybe, we’ll see lol…awww…no fair on the sneeky peaks I want to see them!! 🙂 That’s a nice memory about Aunti Gamma. This might be tmi, but my grandfather had one of those radio/toilet paper dispensers in his bathroom and he’d listen to the hockey games while on the throne lol…

    Like

  2. Stefanie all your cards and knitting are so beautiful and creative and gorgeous. Thank you for sharing them with us, I love your distressed Tim Holz cards. Go you!

    Like

  3. Look at you go girl! I think I spy my favorite sweater in there! The hats are precious and too bad it didn’t fit but it is the thought that counts. The tags are awesome and I’m thinking that might be a good way for me to ‘wade in gently’ to card making. Plus, I could make gift tags for Christmas presents….you always inspire me! Beautiful knitting as usual!

    Like

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  5. The hats are adorable, especially the bear ears one! I remember having to buy my son a 12 month size hat when he was a newborn. But I am sure your hats will be treasured. I still have the tiny little handknitted hats that I made my little guy (they adorn his teddy bears now). Can’t wait to see your finished knits….I spy a pretty shawl!
    I dug through my FO bins and found something that might work as a twiddle muff? I’ll email you a pic of it to get your opinion 🙂

    Like

  6. Okay, I got totally sidetracked but I’m back!

    Oh my gosh – those beanies are GORGEOUS! I’m so sad that they didn’t fit! The tags are beautiful too. I love that look.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week! Hopefully I’ll have time to finish catching up on your blog today!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Week 15: A Year of Projects – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  8. Pingback: Week 22: A Year of Projects – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

