While I’ve been gone…Part One

ヾ(๑╹ꇴ◠๑)ノ” Annyeong haseyo. How’re you today? Me? I’m having a quiet day after having to hoof it 2.51 miles after my bike chain decided to break.

After seven weeks and no blogging, I’ve decided to come back before September is over. During those 49 days I’ve been keepin’ quite busy. I originally was going to whip out one long post but I’m going to spare you and break it all down, one post per day.

I. Cards

The birthdays kept coming (To enlarge, click on the pictures.):

These four are my favorites and some of my best work:

I am obsessed with the ways Tim Holtz distresses his tags and gets that vintage look in the end. I’m slowly adding to my supply of distress products every chance I get.

This was the funnest card to make:

This is the wiper card. The recipient pulls the edges outward and the inner surprise pops up.

Now I have to be honest here…I wasn’t completely offline. Whenever I got restless or felt artistically challenged, I went on Pinterest. Case in point: Cupcake’s birthday invites.

I’ve been chewing the fat with the tween on how to celebrate her 13th birthday in October. Her February birthday girlfriends had last-minute dinners somewhere and then played elsewhere. I didn’t want to have a party at the trampoline gym because I didn’t want to have to deal with having to buy all of this food and having to lug it somewhere, etc. So originally we thought to eat at Bonchon and then get dessert crepes. The only problem is not knowing how crowded they’d get on a Saturday. So after consulting the CFO, he approved of the idea to have a dinner at a restaurant where I could make reservations in advance for a large party and then we’ll have cake at our house.

Well of course I had to design her birthday invites right? Six designs over two to three days and lots of poring in Pinterest led me to finally choose this one:

I made wiper card invites. I figured, why do I have to make use a new design card format every time I make a card? Once I got the design down for each part, it was assembly line time of cutting, stamping, embossing, distress inking, and gluing. The back has the 411 parents needed to know which was typed up printed out for that side. It took me two days to finish eight invites.

Well, that’s it for now. I hope your Tuesday is going well and you have some yummy dinner recipes lined up for this evening. We will be having bone-in pork chops with mashed potatoes and Caesar salad. TTYL. Annyeong kaseyo.

31 thoughts on “While I’ve been gone…Part One

  1. Welcome back!
    Your cards are beautiful. I love your daughters invitation. It’s just perfect for a teen!
    Your dinner sounds yummy. We had pork tenderloin with mashed sweet potato and spinach.

    Like

    • ⑅✩♡ᵗʱᵃᵑᵏઽ*♡♬*° Karen. Every time I cranked out a possible design, I went to her for approval. She had liked them all but this one was the best as the others were more a distressed/vintage aesthetic that is more my style than hers. We are going to have that dinner menu today. Yesterday, I had to vacuum the whole house as a precaution and was done near when I had to take the tween to tennis. So there wasn’t any time to prep.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad that you are back! I really did miss you! The cards are beautiful! Mine will forever stay on my desk bulletin board. Dinner sounds amazing…we are having sautéed soft shell crab sandwiches…on brioche buns with seaweed salad on the side! Yum!

    Like

  3. I’ve missed you. I’m thrilled you are back. I love your pop up card invites! 13 can be a great age . I liked to parent my teens. I found them endlessly interesting. I admit I was afraid of college days ahead, but I really enjoyed the family closeness during those years!! We want all the party details

    Like

    • Awww… (*´ω`*)…(๑ˊ͈ ॢꇴ ˋ͈)ᵃʳⁱᵍᵃᵗᵒ〜♡॰ॱ for your sweetness. I find that interesting and unique how you had fun parenting teens. I will try to remember that when Cupcake’s in high school. Her dad and I have been watching old videos of her of when she was in kindergarten. She was such a trip. Now I try to have a conversation with her and it can be like pulling teeth. But I guess that’s a bit like payback b/c I was a teen w/major attitude and I probably gave one-word answers at the dinner table.

      Like

  4. Lol so ambitious to make Eight different invites! I do love designing my boys’ stuff as well. My oldest is 18 next month and I don’t think he wants invites 😦 love those cards! I keep thinking of making a stash but never get around. Hope you enjoyed your break!

    Like

  5. Welcome back Stef! Love your cards, they’re so special 🙂 I also really like the birthday party idea. My daughter is turning 13 in December and wants to have a sleepover party

    Like

    • ☜(˚▽˚)☞ Thank you, Casey. Oh yay that our daughters were born in the same year. Do your schools have a birthday cut off date? Here in California, it’s September 1st or 2nd. So later babies have to wait another year. Some parents may try to get their kids into private school then. You are brave to try a sleepover. Our house is small and I can’t imagine trying to have five other girls sleeping in the tween’s room on the floor.

      Like

      • Cut off for us was always January here, so my girls have always been the younger ones in their grades. I’m not too worried this year about the sleepover, we had one for her when she was 9, I think they’ll be easier now! And we live in a much bigger place this time 🙂

        Like

  6. So glad you’re back! I get so much inspiration from all your projects! Your cards are beautiful and ‘on eof these days’…like I need a new hobby! LOL! But your cards are really inspiring me and I too love the Tim Holtz vintage and distressed look. Your girls are so blessed to have you as a Mom! Happy 13th you your ‘teenager’ now. I hope she has a wonderful party!

    Like

  7. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  8. Okay, I’m just letting you know that I have stopped by on my phone….. But! This small screen doesn’t do your photos any justice so! I’m coming back again on my computer so I can see all your beautiful cards and crafts and stuff!

    I’ve missed you and while I’m soooooooo behind on my blog right now I’m so glad you’re back and I can’t wait to catch up!

    Like

  9. Ahhhhh – soooooooooo much better on a big screen! I LOVE those cards with the vintage look distressed tags!

    I LOVE the thought of wiper cards! And I love that you managed to turn that into a birthday invite too. They look so amazing! Looking forward to hearing how she enjoys her birthday party – it’s always tougher in those tween years!

    Off to catch up on everything else I’ve missed since you’ve been back! xx

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

