It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Alrighty then, I’m linkin’ up with Kathryn as usual for the Monday book post.

Taken from her weekly, Monday post:

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever-growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels, anything in the world of kidlit – join them!

I was eager to flash a pic of our Sunday BBQ here but unfortunately, we ran into some kinks and the meat didn’t cook as well as the first two times:

  1. The quick fire briquettes are too fiery and gave us a super hot grill.
  2. Also, I think I should take out the meat at least an hour beforehand to try to let the meat come to room temperature.
  3. The thighs and breasts had been marinated this time around which attracts heat more on the outside than when they were just being seasoned with salt and pepper.

Any tips you can give us newbies? Our crew is hosting a big ohana BBQ this month so our game needs to be better.

Today’s post is a long one, folks because this week I was knockin’ off books left and right. While I do think of the five W’s from my teaching days, I’m actually going to start using the summaries from Goodreads. When I was in the classroom, an old motto we, teachers, used to believe in was, Why reinvent the wheel?

(Goodreads)

An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling. 
Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.
Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office. 
As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

I admit, the majority of my reading back in the day was romances – from historical to modern day to erotica. I guess the binging made that genre less of a favorite as I probably read more fantasy now. However, I don’t mind a good romance now and then and this one…well…it ended up as a DNF as of last night. What I read so far was mostly lust and the first sexual encounter between the two characters didn’t seem realistic to me. I tried to read further but I’m just not into the plot and don’t want to waste my time because life is too short.

Moving on…

Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren’t for magic…
One moment magic dominates, and cars stall and guns fail. The next, technology takes over and the defensive spells no longer protect your house from monsters. Here skyscrapers topple under onslaught of magic; werebears and werehyenas prowl through the ruined streets; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.
In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, she must choose to do nothing and remain safe or to pursue his preternatural killer. Hiding is easy, but the right choice is rarely easy…

One thing I love about fantasy is the variety of characters and plot premises. Anything goes in fantasy. Reading the Kate Daniels series for the first time allowed me to step into a world affected differently by magic where a wave of it cancels out all technology and brings famed architecture to its knees and where it only works in certain ways and circumstances. It took me a bit to get it but oh boy did it click. And to have a badass chick with a mighty sword as a protagonist? Hell yeah! I also liked the inclusion of other were-animals where it wasn’t just about wolves but also lynxes, rats, bears, etc. In addition, the use of magic to control vampires like puppets was like whoa. I enjoyed this first installment and am already reading book two! I want to learn more about the People of the Order and how are these waves of magic happening. Three stars.

(Goodreads)

Few can compete with Natasha Smith when it comes to entertaining, but her childhood rival, Sophie Winston, certainly tries. Natasha may have stolen the spotlight—and Sophie’s husband—but Sophie is determined to rob her of the prize for the Stupendous Stuffing Shakedown. She just needs the right ingredient.
But Sophie’s search for the perfect turkey takes a basting when she stumbles across a corpse. And when the police find her name and photo inside the victim’s car, Sophie will have to set her trussing aside to solve the murder—or she’ll be serving up prison grub.

I like to multitask reading and knitting together as you know. So after catching up with podcasts, I needed a new audiobook to listen to. I found this one available on Overdrive and decided to try it out.

I have to admit, at first, I didn’t know if I was going to like this cozy mystery series. Many of the women in Sophie’s life bagged on her. It was like there was one main, antagonist and two minor ones. That grated on my nerves in the beginning. Despite the mentioned, I did like how each chapter started off with a domestic tip. The plot moved well and there was some good sleuthing throughout. I will definitely try out book two of this series. Three stars.

(Goodreads)

Sometimes you find love in the most unexpected of places…
This is not one of those times.
Everyone expects Billie Bridgerton to marry one of the Rokesby brothers. The two families have been neighbors for centuries, and as a child the tomboyish Billie ran wild with Edward and Andrew. Either one would make a perfect husband… someday.
Sometimes you fall in love with exactly the person you think you should…
Or not.
There is only one Rokesby Billie absolutely cannot tolerate, and that is George. He may be the eldest and heir to the earldom, but he’s arrogant, annoying, and she’s absolutely certain he detests her. Which is perfectly convenient, as she can’t stand the sight of him, either.
But sometimes fate has a wicked sense of humor…
Because when Billie and George are quite literally thrown together, a whole new sort of sparks begins to fly. And when these lifelong adversaries finally kiss, they just might discover that the one person they can’t abide is the one person they can’t live without…

So you know I loved the majority of the Bridgerton books. The banter between siblings and their antics were total entertainment. I was thus excited to read this offshoot series. At first I wondered who are Billie’s parents because they were mentioned formally. After looking online I realized she was a sister of Edmund, the papa bear of the original Bridgerton clan. Oh…*lightbulb goes on.*

Well, I’m sorry to say I wasn’t impressed with this book. I had high expectations because it was Julia Quinn’s work and she wrote an extensive Bridgerton series. There were glimpses of that fun banter between characters but the whole plot for getting them together was too ordinary for me. I will give book two a try but if it doesn’t pick up for my tastes, I won’t continue it. Two stars.

One of you mentioned this author in a post and I’m always up for finding new, historical romance authors to read.

(Goodreads)

A rescued rogue . . .

Scandal has rocked the city of London. Colin Eversea, a handsome, reckless unapologetic rogue is sentenced to hang for murder and, inconveniently for him, the only witness to the crime disappears. Then again, throughout history, the Everseas have always managed to cheat fate in style: Colin is snatched from the gallows by a beautiful, clever mercenary.

A captivating captor. . .

Cool-headed, daring Madeleine Greenway is immune to Colin’s vaunted charm. Her mission is not to rescue Colin but to kidnap him, and to be paid handsomely for it. But when it becomes clear that whoever wants Colin alive wants Madeline dead, the two become uneasy allies in a deadly race for truth. Together, they’ll face great danger—and a passion neither can resist.

I gave this book three stars because *shrugs* I liked it. Was it perfect? No, but I liked how her profession was unusual and how brave Madeline was. I enjoyed her and Colin’s adventure in finding out the truth. The cast of characters was solid, some different with quirks I didn’t expect. I will definitely read the next installment.

Okay; my brainpower is spent from putting this post together. I’m gonna log off. Thanks for droppin’ by today. Have a good Monday and happy reading this week.

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I love the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews but also their newest Hidden Legacy series. I read a bunch of the Bridgerton books too but haven’t read any lately. Come see my week here. Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Beautiful Bastard and Runs out of Thyme both sound good. Thanks for sharing…and sorry about your BBQ issues. I know nothing about BBQ…it was always the guys’ task.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  3. Wow Stefanie, you read a LOT!! I’m not too quick at anything! Well, maybe eating and drinking hee hee…I am NOT a barbecuer…I wish I could give you some advice, but the last time I used a charcoal grill I nearly set the yard on fire, no joke. Mind you, it was a crappy bbq and it started to burn through the sides as the paint melted…scared me enough to stay away though! But when I was learning, I found these tutorials to be useful:

    https://www.kingsford.com/how-to/direct-heat-grilling/#rY9GiC7g3QJYzuyj.97
    https://www.kingsford.com/how-to/two-zone-fire/#IbaXK0mC2jMqJ9H4.97

    They discuss direct heating grilling and making a “two zone” heat area so that you can cook at different temperatures…I never got to try it out though lol…I think I’ll be a gas grill gal in the future!!

    Like

    • Glad you are enjoying your book. I just happened to get a lot of reading done this past week, a nice change. I can speed read though, a leftover skill I had learned before I had started college.

      Like

  4. Fantasy is a genre I enjoy too but I found Magic Bites a little too gory for me!! Maybe some time I’ll give it another try. The original Bridgerton series was so good, sometimes authors are best to leave them while they are ahead!

    Like

  5. We always marinate a day or two in advance and make a few deep cuts in the chicken.. especially in the legs and thighs so that the heat can get in. Good luck with your bbq!

    Like

  6. Get yourself a bbq chimney to heat up the coals. When the paper is out and the coals are glowing you can dump them into the BBQ. Give yourself time to BBQ so that things can cook evenly without burning.

    The old place is nearly ready. Meanwhile, we’re happily settled in our temporary apartment. Come see what I’m reading

    Like

  7. I’ve found the more recent Julia Quinns kind of hit or miss. I mean none are bad but they just don’t wow me like some of her other books. Ilona Andrews is one of those authors that I don’t think I’ve ever heard a bad thing about. I really need to try her! Good luck with the grilling! I know absolutely nothing about it other than how to eat it!

    Like

  8. Ahhh – Room temperature meat is definitely important – I always struggle when I have to take meat straight out of the fridge!

    I really want to pick up the Kate Daniels series soon but I’ve also just got the first of Andrews’ Hidden Legacy series which is more of a romance I believe but also PNR/UF so I can’t wait to get into that one at some stage soon! It’s only three books at this stage which also seems a bit easier than diving into this series first! 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great week and thanks for linking up on GR!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

