It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Second to last Monday of July which means we have 36 more days of summer left. How was your weekend? Mine was full of Japanese curry, sleeping in, hot weather, good knitting and audiobook time, and sushi rolls.

Alrighty then, I’m linkin’ up with Kathryn as usual for the Monday book post.

Taken from her weekly, Monday post:

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever-growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels, anything in the world of kidlit – join them!

Dangerous Games by Danielle Steel is about a reporter named Alix and her retired, Navy SEAL cameraman, Ben, who are highly valued by their boss because they get good media coverage on dangerous news happening around the world. Their boss has them investigate the Vice President of the United States because he has a strong hunch that the man has dirty dealings going on. Alix's digging around of course sets off a chain of events that brings danger upon them.

The romantic suspense books I've read in the past usually have tension throughout the whole book and you know the murderer is lurking there in the background. This one doesn't. The protagonist has a dangerous job and puts herself in highly dangerous situations that are happening in the world today. I found that interesting but not a lot of details actually went into those scenes. The supposed threat was a flop for me. I found out what he did after the fact and from what I had read up to, which was 80% BTW, he didn't do anything sinister until I'm guessing in the last 20% of what I didn't read. I was not impressed with Dangerous Games which is why it went on the DNF shelf.

Do you remember what books you had to read in high school? I only remember Catcher in the Rye, Watership Down, maybe a few Shakespeare plays, and One Thousand and One Nights.

I didn't have to read The Outsiders in high school. My tween had found it at Costco and wanted to read it because she knew it was to be read in eighth grade. My firstborn inspired me to read this book; I was lucky to find an audio version on Overdrive.

You have the greasers who are poor, grease up their hair, and are tough. Then there's the Socs, the rich kids who drive fancy cars and wear expensive clothes. These white-collar teenagers bully the greasers; they have no qualms jumpin' them when they outnumber them. Then one night an incident goes too far and changes the lives of both groups.

Ponyboy is a smart, fourteen year old greaser who is the narrator of The Outsiders. Once he started talking about his world of being a greaser and how he had to deal with Socs, I was hooked! This book was really good. I became immersed in another world and walked a mile in Ponyboy's shoes. Ponyboy's gritty story walks a reader through the tough environment he has had to grow up in and has had to survive in. Even though he doesn't like a few of the older crew members, there is still camaraderie among him, his brothers, and their friends. Obviously, no one is perfect and each has his own baggage, but their bonds are strong as they are family to one another.

The audio narrator, Jim Fyfe, does a good job with Pony Boy's voice and he's not bad on the other characters'. For me, listening to an audio version gave an edgy and raw vibe to the book; I felt the vulnerability Ponyboy had at times. At one point I was worried it was going to be like West Side Story, but the book went in a different direction that kept my attention riveted. When the audiobook finished, I was in awe. I mean these characters were just teenagers and young adults livin' this hard life. And yep, I did think of how situations like this existed today in our world. It has taken me a long time to read The Outsiders, but better late than never, right? I highly recommend it. Five stars.

What I'm Currently Listening To

  1. The Diva Runs Out of Thyme by Krista Davis

What's on My Kindle

  1. Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews
  2. Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard #1) by Christina Lauren
  3. The Perils of Pleasure (Pennyroyal Green #1) by Julie Anne Long

Thanks for stoppin' by. I hope you're having a good Monday. TTYL.

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Japanese Curry! I want the recipe! πŸ™‚

    I remember reading a bit of Shakespeare in school, The Great Gatsby, some Austen but I can’t remember too much else! Oops. I haven’t read the Outsiders either! Glad you loved it.

    Oh – in answer to your question on my blog NO! I haven’t read Kate Daniels yet but I’ve heard amazing things and it’s high on my TBR. You’re inspiring me to pick it up even sooner!

    Have a lovely Monday and a great week!

    Like

    • It’s certainly interesting to experience another type of living through a book. Do you know S.E Hinton was a teenager herself when she had written it? My tween likes it as she’s a big fan of realistic fiction. I hope your great niece likes it.

      Like

    • Hi Lindsey,

      I hope you’re having a good week so far. I love how you have already read The Outsiders and may reread it. Sometimes it’s nice to be reminded how good a book was.

      Like

      • OMGosh, that is comin’ up. When did you end the spring term? How many classes do you teach for your subject? Is your university welcoming to hiring new professors? I met a knitter in the SF knitting group who told me lots of universities are only hiring adjunct professors. Her husband was teaching at two.

        Like

      • Spring ended in early May. I teach 1 class 2 days a week each semester. It’s in at the end of my work day so I skip out on my 9-5 a little early. They like me and I have high ratings but to be full time for the school of business the dean wants a PhD. Oh well!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kudos to you on juggling all of that. Thank you for sharing. Do you have a dog walker who comes and walks your babies while you and the hub are at work?

        Like

      • No, Cher is used to the long day. Jellybean goes on a potty patch we originally bought for Cher. And I think sometimes Cher goes on it too but I can’t tell for sure.

        Like

  2. Japanese curry- I want some!! Ha. I’ve never read The Outsiders but I did see the 80’s movie version- not bad.

    Like

  3. Love the Outsiders. Has been a favorite of mine since I read it in 7th or 8th grade for school. I think one of the most amazing things is that S.E. Hinton was only a teenager herself when she wrote the book.

    Like

  4. I’m dragging through Rosie Effect ( not as good as the Rosie Project) I’m gonna try to finish this book by the end of the week. Then hopefully I’ll be reading something I’m interested in.

    Like

  5. Hi Stefanie πŸ™‚ I saw the Outsiders movie in theaters when I was in high school…the boys in that movie were so dreamy (at the time lol)…but it is a sad story. I haven’t had much time to read this summer, I’m concentrating mostly on researching the cheese making stuff and looking for new recipes! I did start my Groucho Marx biography last week. I need a good hot humid day to lounge on the porch and read that book with a cool glass of somethin’ next to me πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m so glad that you enjoyed The Outsiders. It really resonated with me when I read it as a teen. Unlike the other required reading material in our school at the time. Can’t believe how fast the summer is going by!

    Like

  7. I have never read that book. In high school we read Shakespeare and a lot of Greek tragedies from what I remember. The Outsiders sounds like my day though we called them greasers and collegiates. I was a collegiate but I did not come from wealth. I would like to read that one especially since you gave it 5 stars! It’s been slow in the reading department for me but that’s because I was slogging through All The Things We Cannot See which was over 500 pages and dragged on forever! Now I’m reading Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen whom I thoroughly endjoy.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

