It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hello. Thank you all for the card comment cheer in the last post. My husband went to lunch with his former boss who loved his card! ೕ(˃̵ᴗ˂̵ ๑) Yay! E took a picture of him holding his card at the restaurant and sent it to me on Hangouts.

Wow. Another Monday, second to last of July. Where did July go?

How is your Monday going? Ours is less hectic since summer math is over ☜(˚▽˚)☞ – hoorah! The tween had her ortho appointment today. The 10-year-old was wanting udon last week but I had to pacify her last Friday at Whole Foods with their freshly made sushi rolls and pastries so I could rest. So today is the day I had promised her udon which gave the three of us another opportunity to try another local place – the theme of our summer (If you want to see click here.). However I hope you’ve eaten because here’s today’s lunch: (top to bottom) Nabeyaki Udon, a Bento Box of salmon teriyaki + tuna sashimi + tempura, Gangsta Roll, and Shrimp Tempura roll.

Alrighty then, I’m linkin’ up with Kathryn as usual for the Monday book post.

Taken from her weekly, Monday post:

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels, anything in the world of kidlit – join them!

 

I finished listening to Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.

Imagine combining books with a magical power and what does it bring you? Why sinister characters, double agents, and danger! Meggie is a 12-year-old girl who has a love for books like her father, the bookbinder. Then she finds out their simple life is almost like a mirage as the appearance of an old friend of her father’s changes everything.

It has been a while since I’ve read a middle grade book. I believe this is a very popular series. I had thought at first it was about dragons but I got that totally wrong, LOL. As a lover of books I was intrigued about what this story centers around. And to imagine being surrounded and working with tons of books where text is surrounded by its original cover of leather perhaps transports me to another time. Listening to this fantasy of mystery and intrigue was a nice change from adult fantasy. Why? I appreciated the clean storyline because the plot is then able to focus on content and movement of the storyline. Three stars.

Well, I’m off to tackle laundry. Mad Eye Moody would be extremely disappointed with me in that department as I haven’t been practicing, “Constant vigilance!” Have a good Monday and TTYL.

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I love to hear what bloggers think about books. Always. I never know where I’ll pick up an idea for a gift for a tween or teen. I’m out of that loop but I have grand nieces and nephews who need thoughtful book gifts ! Thanks Stef

    Like

  2. I love that you guys are trying out all these new to you local spots. And that food looks delish!

    The Cornelia Funke books were so popular when I worked in the school library, pre-Wyatt. I never read them but they were enjoyed by many students. It’s been a bit since I have read a middle grade – probably since I left my job. I should rectify that!

    Like

  3. Yummy food and I can’t remember if I read Inkheart! That makes me sad…we are having salad for dinner but now I want Udon! Give me oodles of noodles!

    Like

  4. I’m reading the sequel “the rosie effect” and so far I’m waiting to be wowed. Still reading a victorian manner book and mostly knitting my days away. I read inkheart when it came out and I remember liking it.

    Like

  5. Gosh I wish I had local eateries as yummy as yours. The island is full of seafood and crab houses but lacking in ethnic cuisine 😦 Inkheart looks like a fun read. I’ve been re-reading the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series. It’s one of my favorite series and always makes me think of the close friendships that have blessed my life through the years.

    Like

  6. Oh MAN! You always have the nicest food pics. I should remember to make myself coffee and a snack before I start browsing your site. 🙂

    Inkheart is on my TBR actually and it looks like it’s a good one. I like to keep up with the MG reads and keep in mind books to buy my cousins/nephews etc… Also my small one is 3 but won’t stay that way forever! So a decent MG collection is going to be a must! 😉

    Love the Harry Potter reference! 🙂 I did SO MUCH LAUNDRY last week. I had EIGHT people staying with me so I had a lot of sheets, towels, covers and cases and various sundries to wash. Not to mention our own laundry. My poor washing machine didn’t know what hit it! Thankfully I’m all caught up again.

    Hope you have been having a lovely week!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

