The Other Craft, XVII

´͈ ᵕ `͈ ♡°◌̊ *thinks to herself, what a lucky gal I am to have so many pop in’s lately*

Hello. The sun has made itself comfortable in the east bay as our weekend as been all 90’s. Thankfully at least yesterday our crew was able to escape up to the city to celebrate early my dad’s 69th. It was highly successful as my mum iMessaged me today, texting he was very happy. My rascal, going-on-three nephew is starting to open up and pay us some attention; he cutely shared fruit with my dad at the dinner table; my dad, a.k.a. Big Pop, was tickled pink.

I don’t have a YOP1718 post today because I’ve been “or-ja-nizing” as my husband calls it. I have all of these leftover yarn balls that are either falling apart or whose ends are tangled up with other colors. So I dug out that shameful bag and started putting my nostepinne to work. I even played yarn detective (Each yarn apple is wrapped with twine and a tag to let me know what company and what yarn line it is.) and identified all but three yarn apples.

So today, I’ve been working on cards. E asked me to make a simple, birthday card for his former boss whose birthday he and another co-worker are celebrating tomorrow when they meet up for lunch.

Simple, huh? Do I know simple?

Inspiration

  1. I used this pin I had found on Pinterest.

Dimensions

  1. White Card: 4.5″ x 11″
  2. Black: 4.25″ x 5.25″
  3. Large Banner Pieces: 3″ x 1″
  4. Small Banner Pieces: 2″ x 0.5″

Banner Pieces, How to

  1. I made them on my own since I don’t have a banner punch. Each piece is folded in half after the piece is scored in the middle. I then used my template to cover one side and snipped out the triangle part.
  2. The bigger banner is glued directly onto the black cardstock.
  3. The smaller one is mounted in-between each big banner as a 3-D piece.

Stencil Background, How to

  1. I taped down the black cardstock with washi tape and then I did the same for the stencil. I used the VersaMark pad to smear into the stencil spaces. The embossing powder was sprinkled over the rectangle and then heat set.

Paper

  1. Recollections 8.5 x 11 Cardstock – black, Fun Fundamentals, & white

Ink

  1. VersaMark

Stamp

  1. Inkadinkado, Happy Everything set Stampin Up – Party with Cake
  2. unidentified alphabet set

Stencil

  1. Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous – Arrow Pattern

Embellishments

  1. Ranger Embossing Powder, super fine matte – white
  2. Darice Baker’s Twine – black & white

Adhesives

  1. Scotch – mounting foam squares
  2. Tombow Permanent Adhesive Dots
  3. Zots Glue Dots, medium

So my pen pal in England wrote me back in late April/early May. I finally made her a card to respond back.

I designed this card on my own. I laid clear stamps on the white cardstock and the stencil. The ticket and the clock are mounted for a 3-D effect.

Paper

  1. Recollections 8.5 x 11 Cardstock – Citrus, Cream, Purple Passion, & White

Dimensions

  1. Yellow Card: 4.5″ x 11″
  2. Purple: 4.25″ x 5.25″
  3. White (all distressed on): 4″ x 5″
  4. Ticket: 3″ x 1.25″
  5. Clock: 1.5″ diameter

Stamps

  1. Tim Holtz Stamps & Stencil Set, Retro Pattern
  2. Tim Holtz Visual Artistry Collection Stampers Anonymous Clear Stamps – The Journey
  3. Tim Holtz Visual Artistry Collection Stampers Anonymous Clear Stamps – Lost & Found

Ink

  1. Stampin Up Classic Stampin Spot – Tangelo Twist
  2. Tim Holtz Mini Distress Ink Pads – Gathered Twig, Fired Brick, Scattered Straw, & Seedless Preserves
  3. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  4. VersaMark Watermark Stamp Pad

Stencil

  1. Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous – Clockwork Pattern

Punch

  1. Martha Stewart All-Over-the-Page Punch: 1.5″ Circle

Embellishments

  1. Casa Collection Ribbon – organdy
  2. Recollections Brads

Adhesives

  1. Scotch – mounting foam squares
  2. Scotch – mounting tape
  3. Tombow Permanent Adhesive Dots

I believe I have covered everything with these two cards. GTG and clean up my mess. I hope you’re keepin’ cool and are having a good Sunday. TTYL.

8 thoughts on “The Other Craft, XVII

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  2. Happy birthday to your dad! The cards are great! It’s interesting to learn how each layer is created and how the elements tie in so well with each other. Love the quote that you used for your pen pal’s card.

    Like

  3. Belated happy Birthday to your dad 🙂 And your nephew sounds so sweet! And your cards are fabulous!! Especially the one you made your pen pal! it has a very whimsical look and for some reason reminds me of Alice in Wonderland! 😀

    Like

  4. Well done on getting all organised like that! That’s awesome.

    SImple?? Ha ha ha. Homemade is never simple, is it?

    I love the card you came up with and the colourful banner works well with the black and white stencil!

    And the card for your penpal? Awesome. Hope the mess wasn’t too crazy to clean! 😉

    Also belated birthday wishes to your dad. Glad you all had such a nice time and your nephew is so sweet.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Week 4: A Year of Projects – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

