The Other Craft, XVI

Hello readers. Hip hip hooray for Hump Day! What’d you do today?

We are enjoying cooler weather, about no more than 80°. I can hang with ‘dat as there is also a good breeze to keep us from baking in the sun. My babies are happy as I took them to the park after their bellies were fed their favorite, shrimp tempura sushi from TJ’s. We checked out a playground in the town in front of ours. It was spacious and clean.

I made a group of thank you cards (for Jellybean’s birthday gifts) last week during the holiday. I had made some origami-folded ones but I felt they weren’t up to par with what I usually make so they got trashed. I wanted to play with my new, Tim Holtz stencils and watched one of Jennifer McGuire’s tutorials.

My neighbor received one of the cards, the teal one, and she thought I had bought the stenciled paper already like that ^__^.

The Deets

Technique

  1. Layered Stenciling  by Jennifer McGuire

Paper

  1. Recollections 8.5 x 11 Cardstock – Black, Blue Ombre, Citrus, Pink Buttons, Shades of Red, White

Stencils

  1. Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous – Arrow & Retro Pattern

Ink

  1. Hampton Art Pigment Ink – white
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Aged Mahogany, Broken China, Fired Brick, Pickled Raspberry, Pine Needles, Seedless Preserves, Spiced Marmalade, Spun Sugar, Tangelo Twist, Victorian Velvet

Punch

  1. Recollections Lever Punch, star – 1 & 3/8″

Embellishment

  1. Ranger Embossing Powder – white

Adhesives

  1. Scrapbook Adhesives – little, foam squares
  2. Scotch – mounting foam squares
  3. Tombow Permanent Adhesive Dots

I am very happy with how these thank you cards turned out. Well, we’re having Buddha Bowls tonight for dinner; the cook has been a bit negligent on making sure veggies are included in the daily dinners. Have a good Wednesday and TTYL.

 

8 thoughts on “The Other Craft, XVI

  1. I love your cards. I have tried some simple cards and learned, they are not easy to turn out . Buddha bowls sound really good right now. I did make a cucumber salad this week and we gobbled it up. I like the tiny fat cukes that are available by me. As for us, the rains fell hard last night and more expected tonight. We are high on a hill, however, so it is all good . I am worried for others though.

    Like

    • I think you can do this one, Kathy. Full card size: 4.5 x 5.5. White cardstock 4.25 x 5.25. You do one stencil, light circular motions in a light color with a sponge dabber or use a cut piece of make up sponge. Then you place a second stencil on top of the first one, rubbing a darker color into it. Stamp a greeting in white ink onto a black strip. Punch out a shape and use a mounting square. Then use a smaller mounting adhesive; you can cut up a Scotch mounting square if you don’t have the little ones and place the greeting on top of the punched shape.

      Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

