It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s that time again, eh? So how was your week?

The theme of our summer so far as been the following:

  • power walk
  • summer class drop off
  • errand/appointment
  • pick up
  • patronize a local eatery
  • etc. (the mundane)

This past weekend I made my husband BBQ again; his first time July 4th was solid good. Here’s the proof:

 

I put together some chicken breast skewers Saturday. Some were all chicken, some were meat and veggies, and others just green bell pepper. I seasoned them with salt and pepper. Next time I’ll marinate the cut up breasts. Sunday there were leftover sausages so I had him grill those – easy peasy since the sausages were precooked.

Have you been BBQing? If so, what’s your favorite equipment? And what do you like to BBQ? I’m starting to look around Pinterest for more kebab ideas. I read one article about if you wanted your kebabs to grill evenly, you can skewer the same ingredients on each skewer. I may try that next time. I’ve also been poking around Amazon also for a grilling basket for fish, etc.

Okay, linking up with Kathryn

I was able to finish a Kindle book recently: Angel’s Blood (Guild Hunter #1) by Nalini Singh.

The world reveres and fears archangels who wield mysterious power and who usually show no mercy. Vampires are their servants and one toe out of line results in brutal punishment. Elena is a guild hunter, a group of people who hunt down vampires who go rogue on their masters. She’s hired by Raphael himself, archangel of North America and who is based in New York. The job he hires her for is no ordinary one and it will be the most dangerous one she’s ever done.

So I was on the hold list for 20 days which shows how popular this author is considering this book was published in 2009. There seems to be hype about Nalini Singh so I was excited to finally read her. I haven’t read many books with angels in it so I found the storyline of angels, vampires, and hunters different. I was glad the sexual activity of the characters was kept to a minimum.

However, while I’m all for strong male characters, the in-your-face machismo and the use of sexuality as a power of control made me roll by eyes. Yeah, yeah, hello, we know it’s going to be a given that the male antagonist is going to look super hot and have a slammin’ body. And these cocky vampires who had to flaunt their little power and brag about what they can do? Oh brother. I had questions while reading because not a lot of details are revealed to you on how and why the angel society works for a chunk of the book. When there was finally more information given (like a leaky faucet), honestly, I wasn’t impressed with the answers. I gave this book two stars. I won’t continue the series, but I will try another series of Singh’s.

Currently Reading

  1. Dangerous Games by Danielle Steel

Currently Listening To

  1. Inkheart (Inkworld #1) by Cornelia Funke

What the Dames Are Reading

  1. Tween: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton + The Pants Project by Cat Clarke
  2. 10-year-old: Class is Not Dismissed! (School of Fear #2) by Gitty Daneshvari

How’s your current read going? Yay, nay, or iffy? Well, I hope your Monday is going well. Have a good day and TTYL.

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Hmm Nalini Singh maybe not for you! Although do read at least one psy/changeling one although you might feel the same way. The theme of summer sounds excellent.

    Like

  2. Mmmmm bbq. I do like the skewers having all of the same thing on them. We do that, then slide them all off and surround it by rice. I absolutely love grilled pineapple slices. I buy regular canned slices and we grill them. THe sugars align and darken the pineapple and they are so so sweet and good. Reading, the Year of Living Biblically. Laughing often

    Like

  3. Hmmm…we have grilled pizzas and veggies but I don’t think we have ever kabobbed anything. We grill tons of fish and now we are using those copper grill mats so we don’t injest too much charcoal. We have even grilled soft shell crab and lobstah!

    Like

  4. Hopefully I will get back to my ‘normally scheduled programming’ next week. I’ve not gotten much reading done and haven’t moved beyond the books I was reading last week unless you count the books I’ve read with the grands….actually one was really good…..Creepy Carrots! LOL!
    I used to grill kabobs with chicken, potatoes, peppers and mushrooms and marinate with 7 Seven’s Seas Italian dressing which was always a winner. Yours sounds and looks delicious….very good for his first time! Do you precook your chicken? I have to as it seemed the BBQ sauce would burn before the chicken would be cooked.

    Like

  5. Mmm kebabs! Everything looks yummy! My stepmom used to do all the same food on one – then she would shuck it all of on a platter and we would get what we wanted from there.

    Your summer theme sounds like a keeper. I especially like the eating at a local eatery. 🙂

    I’ve only ever read one Danielle Steele novel but I liked it – The Ghost. It’s a good Christmas/winter read.

    Like

  6. slice zucchini long ways in four pieces and quarter cut a red pepper- toss them in olive oil and grill. MMMMM. it’s like candy 🙂 I’m reading The rosie project, a victorian manner book (cannot remember the name) and read two pages of a Louise penny novel – Fatal Grace.

    Like

  7. I learnt that too.. the grill the same ingredient thing. But the mixed sticks look so much better.
    We have done chicken with bone twice, once we did burgers.. I am currently doing my veggies in a basket..

    I have finally gotten the chance to pick up a book again.. phew! I am reading Beauty of the Fall and while I haven’t read enough to form an opinion I am liking it so far.

    Like

  8. We don’t have anywhere we can BBQ due to fire safety rules of the condo we’re moving out of and the apartment we’re moving into. Maybe next year.

    We’re in the last few days in our current place. It seems like the work to move will never end. Come see what I’m reading when I’m not packing.

    Like

  9. That’s too bad about the Singh book. She’s an author I’ve been wanting to try as well though I think I’ll give another series a try. I’m curious to hear your thoughts on Inkheart. I think I have a copy somewhere around here that one of my girls read years ago but I’ve never read it. It looks like a good read. Your BBQ looks amazing (though here in the South that’s a cookout – BBQ is a type of food!). I’m a big fan of kabobs of all kinds but I frequently forget about them.

    Like

  10. Okay, those food pics are looking too delicious! We havne’t done too much BBQ lately because it’s winter on our half of the planet ! Although I do admit our winter’s are amazing and generally so mild. The sun is out and it’s warm enough to be outside without being too rugged up. Also the small enjoys swimming in her pool (heated).

    Like

  11. yum BBQ, we’ve been eating it a little but not as much as we’d like, we still only have a small BBQ, we need to upgrade soon! I’m reading Moloka’i by Alan Brennert right now, I’m enjoying it a lot but reading it slowly, so slow I had to renew it! I’ve never had to do that with a book before

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

