The Other Craft, XIV

Good evening. This is probably the latest post I’ve ever typed up. My gosh I live for Saturdays. I love being able to sleep in and not have to work out. I like spending the day through what I’m in the mood for.

Today was busy but in a good and productive way. Earlier, I spent at least two hours helping our tween clean out her room. She halved her book collection, having outgrown several series (I told her dad he needs to take her and her sister to the used bookstore so they can get some money for those books or at least store credit.). The two of us moved things around so I we could go through what was on the ヘ(。□°)ヘ floor. Pencils, necklaces, markers, playing cards, dust, glitter, broken toys, etc!  I swept up places while my kid tore up old work into pieces for recycling. I swear at least two, large garbage bags were filled and several paper bags. While I cleaned out our kitchen junk box, the husband ordered Mountain Mike’s Family Deal (Buffalo wings, cheese sticks, and two, large, two-toppings pizzas along with a gallon of soda.).

However, most of my Saturday was spent making a special, birthday card for my younger cousin. I found out from his mum that he’s turning 30 this year! Man, I was like what?! I used to babysit him a lot back in the day and even spend had spent the night at their house. I’d be set up to sleep on the rugged floor and watching a movie in his room. He and I used to watch (He’d sit on my lap.) The Little Mermaid and ET.

So my birthday stamps collection is a little limited. I swung by Michael’s today to pick up the essentials, like adhesive and brads, etc. I totally forgot to take pictures of his card! But, I have this short video of it that I had posted on IG earlier today. Ya ready?

The Deets

Technique

I used Dreaming about Rubber Stamps Tutorial.

Dimensions – My dimensions are slightly bigger.

  • Main Card (navy cardstock): 4.5″ across x 5.5″ vertically
  • Cream Layer of Main Card: 5.25″ x 4.25″
  • Patterned Cardstock of Main Card: 5″ x 4″
  • Long Pulling Tab (navy): 9″ long x 2″ wide
  • Scoring of Long Tab: 2″, 2.75″, 3.5″, 4.25″
  • Holding Band (navy): 4.5″ long x 0.75″ wide
  • Small Squares (navy): 2″ x 2″
  • Cream Squares: 1.75″ x 1.75″

Paper

  • DCVW Cartographer Paper Stack
  • Recollections 8.5 x 11 Cardstock, navy, black, & cream

Stamps & Stencils

  • Stampin Up Party with Cake
  • Tim Holtz Stamps & Stencil Set, Retro Pattern
  • Tim Holtz Visual Artistry Collection Stampers Anonymous Clear Stamps – The Journey
  • Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Layered Stencil
  • Authentic Models A B Seas Alphabet Stamps

Ink

  • Tim Holtz Mini Distress Ink Pads – Picked Raspberry, Salty Ocean, Mowed Lawn, Gathered Twig, Scattered Straw, Victorian Velvet, & Broken China
  • Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  • VersaMark Watermark Stamp Pad

Punch

  • Mini balloon

Embellishments

  • Embossing Arts Co. Embossing Powder – Iridescent Peacock
  • Ranger Embossing Power, white
  • Offray Ribbon
  • Recollections Brads

Adhesive

  • Tombow Mono Adhesive Dots Dispenser

Okay; it’s late and I need to go to sleep. I hope you had a good Saturday. Thanks for hangin’ out and TTYL.

8 thoughts on “The Other Craft, XIV

  1. I hope my other comment showed up on You tube??? Not sure Stef. I LOVE this card and I LOve the video post. Wowza. I am sending Deb from Araignee over to see your card!

    Like

  2. Good for you on getting the tween’s bedroom cleaned out! I was always bad about losing patience 2/3 of the way through and there always seems to be an endless pile of bits of things that drove me crazy. I LOVE that card! It’s crazy how old those around us get! I don’t feel like I’m that old but people who were definitely children when I thought I was adult all of a sudden seem to be adults too. Not sure how that happened!

    Like

  3. I was going to have so many comments but now… Your beautiful card has left me speechless! Well, that and I’m blog visiting off my phone right now so it’s definitely not as easy as a desktop….

    But wow, I adore that card. I love the effect and I hope you are super chuffed with it – you should be!

    Yay for cleaning out stuff… I need to do that myself and I’m trying to teach the three year old that it’s a good thing to give away things that she doesn’t use or play with anymore… She’s still not so convinced but hopefully one day it will sink in. 🙂

    I’ve had a pretty manic week but glad I’ve found a little time to be able to stop by! Hope you’ve had a good one!

    Like

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

