It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Good morning. These past couple of weeks have been busy in my world. The kids get out of school Thursday (It’s been crazy with so many early dismissals last week which will continue into this week as well.) and Friday I’ll finally get my sutures out. Man, I’m eagerly waiting for the day I can bite into a juicy burger and even be able to sleep on my left side. Despite these restrictions, I’ve been able to craft as end-of-the-year teacher gifts needed to get done. Plus, the fourth grader is now 10 years old!

How was your reading this week? Mine has slowed down because I’ve picked back up my needles and am knitting again.

  1. I’ve had another DNF. This time it was an audiobook, Jasper Fforde’s The Eyre Affair. I thought it was unique in the beginning but later on I felt it was stiff-upper-lip for me. The tone was serious like the military and somber like that of the opening ceremony of the Olympics when it was hosted in England. I wasn’t motivated at all to listen further after some point.

However, despite the above, I did finish two, Kindle books during the time I’ve been gone.

  • And I Darken by Kiersten White

Lada Dragwlya is not your average princess. She was not born beautiful and she has a thirst to wield any kind of weapon she can.

Quote Preparation: Her ruthless and selfish father has become Prince of Wallachia after the fate of his brother. He entertains officials in his home where young Lada interrupts, holding a knife and yelling at the strangers. Her dad tests her physically and mentally about what would she do with that knife. He takes it away which angers her. Her young mother who has given up on life and just wants to go home is kicked out of their home by Lada’s father who makes her crawl out of the room like a beggar.

“I am your father. But that woman is not your mother. Your mother is Wallachia. Your mother is the very earth we go to now, the land I am prince of. Do you understand?”

Lada looked up into her father’s eyes, deep-set and etched with years of cunning and cruelty. She nodded, then held out her hand. “The daughter Wallachia wants her knife back.”

Vlad smiled and give it to her. (Pgs. 11-12, 4%)

This book is a chessboard of machinations in the court of the Ottoman Empire. There is always a shadow of darkness in the background, love of all kinds, and secrets from the beginning to the end of this first installment. The plot is like a labyrinth where every twist and turn are not safe as some kind of enemy lurks, hungry for blood and power. Four stars.

 

I have heard of Pinkertons but I guess I didn’t fully realize who they were and what they did. Greer Macallister’s Girl in Disguise is historical fiction that took me into the world of the Pinkerton agency whose employees went into disguise since the mid-1800’s. I didn’t know FBI-like, secret agents existed this early in history. The author focuses on the sparsely known legacy of Kate Warne, the first, female Pinkerton agent. She showed the men how a woman was an asset in such a profession as she could infiltrate the social circles of society women, getting needed information from the gossip. I enjoyed reading Macallister’s take on Warne’s life and even Googled the historical figure, learning interesting tidbits about her life. Three stars.

Currently Reading/Listening To

  1. The Newcomer (Thunder Point #2) by Robyn Carr
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by J.K. Rowling
  3. Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett
  4. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

What the Dames Are Reading

  • The girls are rereading old favorites they own. Our last library trip we returned books and they weren’t motivated to look around at that time.

That’s it for today. I look forward to reading what you’re reading now in the comments. I hope your Monday is going well. TTYL.

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I think the Girl In Disguise sounds good. I am so overly picky about what I read. sigh. I think i’ve told you I love Non fiction. So happy you are crafting. Happy soon to be done with restrictions!

    Like

  2. Enjoy being able to bite into food and sleep any way you want!

    I enjoy Robyn Carr’s books…I’ve only read a few so far, but have more on my Kindle.

    Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog. Have a great week!

    Like

  3. Happy birthday to your little (well not so little) one! 10 is such a big milestone! I’ve heard mixed reviews on The Eyre Affair. It’s too bad that it didn’t work for you but it sounds like you’ve found plenty of others that do! Girl in Disguise is on my TBR and I’m curious to see what you think of Norse Mythology. I have it on my audio list. Yay for getting your sutures out! I’m sure that cheeseburger will be delicious and it’s amazing what being able to sleep on whatever side you want does for your rest!

    Like

  4. Sounds like the girls have a bit of end of school year fatigue. I can imagine just how much you look forward to getting your sutures out, isn’t it strange how we never appreciate how how body works until part of it has to go on rest for awhile. Enjoy all your books, wide range there.

    Like

  5. My two are done with school on Wednesday. Of course these last days are all half days. I hope the remainder of your recover is swift. The move is really happening. We have temporary housing squared away and most of our home library in storage now. Come see what I’m reading this week.

    Like

  6. I didn’t know much about the Pinkertons either although I hear about them in shows and or in books quite a bit. Interesting book. And I’m curious about Norse Mythology, wondering what you’ll think of that. I’ve been going back and forth on it.

    Enjoy that cheeseburger when you get a chance! 🙂

    Happy Monday!!

    Like

  7. Reading has definitely slowed down for me this month. Oops. Hopefully I can get back on track soon!

    Sorry about your DNF 😦 Those are no fun.

    I want to retry And I Darken – it had all the right stuff for me but I just didn’t love it? I only gave it 3 stars. Maybe a re-read will find me better suited to really get it this time.

    Hope you are feeling 100% soon!

    Like

    • I’m glad to hear this. I really liked her Snow Flower and the Secret Fan + China Dolls. Normally I had rebelled and never really wanted to read Chinese historical fiction, but I’m slowly branching out to it. The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel was a good one also.

      Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

