The Other Craft, XIII

Hello. I’d like to first thank you for all of your concern and well wishes. I’m feelin’ good. I decided to take the week off because it was uncomfortable in the beginning after my surgery. My wonderful parents drove all the way last down two Fridays ago to pick up the girls, following my highlighted Google maps and written instructions. The husband took good care of me, making sure I was on top of my pain meds and taking that antibiotic. I spent most of the time just slouched on the couch, binging on the last season of The Good Wife and the original Gillmore Girls while occasionally icing my face and drinking Ensure. I started feeling normal again around Wednesday. I drove up to the city Friday to check in with my perio; I’m healing well but still have the sutures in so I’m still on soft foods and no exercise. Wanna hear a funny, little tidbit? I can’t bend over (Don’t want a lot of blood flow to those areas since I had atypical bleeding in the past.) so I’ve been squatting – not even sore – whenever I need to pick something up or load the front-loading machines. I told E that all that previous working out even enabled me to walk up the hill by Imagiknit without huffing and puffing.

So I’m mailing this birthday card out to my youngest aunt tomorrow after drop off. I used The Craft Meow’s March Sketch Challenge as my guide. I had tried a card technique yesterday to make her card but it came out too dark in its monochromatic color scheme. Therefore it got put away for another time to use.

Dimensions

  1. (main card) 5.5″ x 5″
  2. (pink layer) 5 & 3/8″ x 4 & 7/8″
  3. (floral layer) 5.25″ x 4.75″
  4. (circle) 2.5″
  5. (frame banner) 1.75″ x 6″
  6. (envelope – Sometimes I have to make a bigger one when the front of the card is loaded with embellishments.) 5″ x 6.5″

Paper

  1. Recollections 8 ½ x 11 Cardstock, Cream & Pink Buttons
  2. American Crafts Crate Paper – Maggie Holmes Paper Pad, Emily Jane
  3. Daiso Designed Kraft Chiyogami

Stamps

  1. Birthday Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set
  2. Stampin Up Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Colorbox Pigment Ink – Orchid
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette

Punch

  1. Recollections Circle Lever Punch, 2.5″

Embellishments

  1. Darice Baker’s Twine
  2. Embossing Arts Co. Embossing Powder, Iridescent Peacock
  3. DAISO JAPAN Print Buttons
  4. DAISO Lace Tape

Adhesives

  1. Tomboy Permanent Adhesive Dots
  2. Scotch Foam Mounting Squares

I can’t remember, but I did ever tell you I weigh each card in its envelope? I use my yarn scale; this card is 1.09 oz so I put two stamps on the front. Okay; I’m off to clean up the mess and I guess I’ll be working on a book post for tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by today. TTYL.

21 thoughts on “The Other Craft, XIII

  1. Oh my goodness, I am sorry to hear you went through a procedure! I am glad that you are feeling better though, and resting some. Although laundry is not very restful! 🙂 And I totally love The Good Witch and Gilmore Girls. 🙂 Keep healing!

    Like

  2. So glad that you are feeling better! I hope that you get to start eating solid food soon. The card is just lovely, especially with the cute buttons and lace details.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Yarning Along & Gift Knitting VIII | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  4. Pingback: Yarning Along & Gift Knitting VIII | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  5. I hope you recover quickly and glad you have good caretakers! Lovely card! I had the same orders to not bend over after my eye surgeries….same reason. Take care!

    Like

  6. I didn’t know you weren’t feeling well!! But I’m glad to hear you’re doing better 🙂 Sending love and prayers your way ❤ After the doctors fixed my deviated septum (only from the inside as one of my nostrils was completely blocked by the bone) I was asked to not bend too as they said the surgery points might open…It was hard actually to have to rely on others every time I had to pick up something!

    That card is so gorgeous!!! <33 Your aunt is so lucky 😀

    Like

  7. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  8. Oh good! I’m so glad to hear that you are okay and that you were so well looked after.

    I hope the recovery continues to go well!

    That birthday card is gorgeous as usual. I love the floral bring and the whole vintage vibe. Beautiful work!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

