It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Good morning; I’m linkin’ up with Kathryn for today’s book post. What did you do last week? Anything for Mother’s Day or just for yourself?

I always like my Mama’s Day weekend to be relaxed. Friday I had a doorstep surprise of delivered, fresh tulips. Saturday was cherry picking and finishing off my husband’s, Star Wars U-Wing fighter, Christmas stocking. Sunday was puttering about and eating haemul pajeon, udon, and bulgogi at our favorite, Korean restaurant.

So let’s get down to reading, yeah? How was your reading week? I added another DNF to my shelf, Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor which stands next to My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante (one DNF [The clinginess of the narrator got on my nerves.] I haven’t mentioned in the past). My usual reason for having a DNF is that I just didn’t get into the book because it didn’t appeal to my tastes. The former was weird for me and I was unmotivated to pick it up off of my nightstand to read.

On a happier note, I did have some reading success after that book. I have waited months for my turn at A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn. It was worth it!

This quote sums up Veronica Speedwell’s blunt and determined character:

(Her last aunt passed away and the self-righteous vicaress suggests a farmer with six little ones for her to marry now that she is on her own.)

Mrs. Clutterthorpe, I can hardly think of any fate worse than becoming the mother of six. Unless perhaps it were plague, and even then I am persuaded a few disfiguring buboes and possible death would be preferable to motherhood.

After reading that, I knew I was going to like Miss Speedwell. Her adventure was immediately launched and how interesting it was. I loved her occupation and her knowledge. Her antagonist was the perfect match for her and his interests were right up my alley. I read this Kindle book whenever I could. Four stars! I’m looking forward to continuing the series.

So I ran into this fun find on Overdrive while searching for what they had of Pride and Prejudice. I have read and listened to Pride and Prejudice as well as seen the Colin Firth series but love the Keira Knightley movie more. I have viewed Gwenyth Paltrow’s version of Emma, which I enjoyed and I have listened to Sense and Sensibility + Persuasion. So I thought it would be neat to listen to radio dramatizations of six of Jane Austen’s books, three of which were still unknown to me.

  1. Mansfield Park: I enjoyed the voices and the young, conversational banter. I liked Fanny’s strong constitution and firm beliefs. I liked how she wasn’t frivolous and how she was observant. Marrying one’s own first cousin was something new to me, spurring me to Google that. Three stars.
  2. Northanger Abbey: Thorpes got on my nerves so many times! The person who voiced him sounded way older than an Oxford student; he sounded like a gnarly, old drunk. Katherine was very young and naive. Her voice was very sweet. Two stars; it was okay.
  3. Sense and Sensibility: I liked the voice portrayals. Because I had listened to it last year, I didn’t pay close attention to this dramatization. I knew parts were cut out and I actually enjoyed the LibriVox version more. Two stars.
  4. Pride and Prejudice: Four stars; need I say why?
  5. Emma: Two and a half stars. It was pretty good.
  6. Persuasion: I had listened to this this year and thought it was okay then and still do now. Two stars.

But overall I would give this BBC dramatization three stars because I think a collaboration of actors and actresses is an interesting and fun way to present a book.

Currently Reading/Listening to

  1. And I Darken (The Conqueror’s Saga #1) by Kiersten White
  2. The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next #1) by Jasper Fforde

Languishing On & Offs

  1. Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett
  2. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling
  3. On the Way to the Wedding (Bridgertons #8) by Julia Quinn

I hope you’re having a good Monday. I have errands to take care of today. Thanks for dropping by. TTYL.

    8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    1. I adore Deanna Raybourn! There was an interview with her on Smart Books Trashy Podcast that was so good. She’s as interesting as her books! I had a DNF this week too. It was readable but when it came down to it I just didn’t care so I decided to put it down for books I’d enjoy more. Sounds like a great weekend and tulips are my favorite! I saw the stocking on Instagram and it looks amazing! Great job!

      Like

    2. I’ve seen a few readers say how much they enjoyed A Curious Beginning and the part you shared made me like Veronica too! Sometimes DNF’s happen so …. we move on!!

      Like

    3. I’m back! I’m back! (did you realise I was gone??? 😂) and I’m working my way backwards through your blog at the moment. I think yours was actually one of the last that I tried to read and catch up on before my computer died so I probably had a bunch of tabs of your posts open on my old browser!

      Mother’s day! Mine was great – I left the small person with Daddy and I went off to fetch a new horse. 🙂 So a break from mom duties AND a new baby. 🙂

      I’m so sorry you DNFed Strange the Dreamer. 😦 No motivation to read it is not good! It was a little strange and I think a little slow in the beginning, but I found it so worth it after the first 100 pages.

      A Curious Beginning has a gorgeous cover by the way!

      Ohhh – P&P! I love the Colin Firth mini series – I found it so true to the book. Maybe I need to try the Keira Knightly movie again but I remember being underwhelmed. 😦

      Keen to see what you make of And I Darken. I think I need to reread that one as it was also underwhelming for me but I really, really want to love it.

      Okay – let me sign off here so I still have some time with which to browse your other posts!!!

      Like

    4. I read: Blue Iris a poetry book by Mary Oliver, fast and short! I’m still reading The Handmaid’s Tale and am enjoying it immensely! I might read more of that author (margaret atwood).

      Like

    5. Mansfield Park sounds like a fun listen. I love P&P and and Sense and Sensibility, especially the Colin Firth movie. 🙂

      I tried to make cherry nut bread today – it was a disaster! Lol. Oh well. 🙂 I read your other posts – that bag you made for jellybean is gorgeous, and so are those cards!

      Like

    What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

    