Happy Mama’s Day

Aloha. Happy Mama’s Day no matter when  you celebrate. It is a quiet Sunday for me, just the way I like it. The four of us will be going out for a late lunch/early dinner at our usual, Korean spot. I told the husband earlier in the week I wanted haemul pajeon for Mother’s Day.

Yesterday our ohana had a full, half day. Our crew ventured out early to Nunn Better Farms in Brentwood, a place where we went last year. It is our now, annual tradition and Mother’s Day weekend is the first weekend it opens for cherry picking.

A Comparison

2016

  1. Visited Memorial Day weekend
  2. Lots of cherries had already been picked, but there were still many for us to pick.
  3. The cherries were lighter reds and some pink.
  4. Bigger in size.
  5. The tween climbed the tree.
  6. 25 lbs = $87
  7. Lunch at Pacific Catch in Dublin.

2017

  1. Visited Mother’s Day weekend
  2. You could see the red all over the trees.
  3. The husband thinks the cherries are smaller in size because we went earlier.
  4. We found tons of dark, ripe ones!
  5. 24 lbs = $84
  6. Lunch at Rubios in Livermore downtown

We were seriously done picking in a half an hour! Ppl were impressed with the size of our bucket. E had to carry it with two hands to the checkout. The guy poured it into one of their cardboard boxes and subtracted two pounds from the total.

East Bay Green Corridor is always impressive to drive through. The metal windmills are huge!

That was our ohana’s first time to a Rubio’s; it’s all about fish and shrimp. I had their Classic Trio of tacos; the second one had some kick.

For the rest of the day I sewed which you read about here. Mahalo nui loa for your wonderful support. I’ll be visiting Joann Fabrics tomorrow to get material for my next project! And mahalo plenty for your sweet comments on the pic of the keiki and me + on my shawl. I told a friend on IG I used to be on fleek every day when we lived in the city and now I run around in an oversized tee with leggings + my new, first pair of Birkenstocks! I only put on make up when we have something to do in San Francisco, LOL. I haven’t knitted all week which is why there’s no YOP post today; hopefully I’ll have some mojo this week.

Well, enjoy your Sunday. I hope it’s lovely and full of sunshine. TTYL.

16 thoughts on “Happy Mama’s Day

  1. Happy Mother’s Day! Sounds like a wonderful way to spend the day, and I love the idea of having a tradition for it, like your cherry picking activity. I need to start something like that! Maybe the kiddos need to be a bit bigger…

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  3. Your posts are always fun! We have cherry trees here too in the northern part of the state (and a cherry festival every year), and that’s the area I vacation in, so I can relate to the cherry picking! Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    Like

  4. I haven’t been cherry picking as of yet; however I have been buying them from the roadside stands 🙂 They are sooooo delicious! How in the world do you eat 24 pounds of them before they become too ripe to eat? Or do you pit them and freeze them? Happy belated Mother’s Day to you!

    Like

    • Hi Paula. We oink out on them the first weekend and give some away to the neighbors. I’ve given some also to some of the school staff at Jellybean’s school.

      Like

  5. Mmmm tacos!!! I first had fish tacos in California – no other ones will ever live up to them.

    I love fruit picking – your day sounds so fun. 🙂 I love cherry season in Michigan – we have been making cherry clafoutis!

    Like

    • Mahalo nui loa! I am honored you are here. That was a spur of the moment idea to compare our experiences. I guess I’ll keep it going since this will be an annual tradition. Have a good day. Aloha.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy belated Mother’s Day! It wasn’t Mother’s Day here in the UK (totally different date), but I hope you had a lovely day with your loved ones. 🙂

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

