It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Sunday here as I prep this post. It’s the last of our spring holiday; the dames and I are sad it’s ending. We loaded up on popcorn and smiled throughout Beauty and the Beast.  The three of us had tea with lovely company. Toy collections got fatter. Our neighbor hooked us up with some Japanese curry and I got to try coconut curry kobacha while I made sure they had some fresh, spiced oatmeal cookies from the oven and a taste of dry rub, baby back ribs so tender either the meat or the bone fell off while I cut the slab apart. Oh, and the freedom of all day outdoor play was priceless. Tomorrow we will be zombies; Mondays are hard, yeah?

I’ve gotten in some good reading this week. Audiobooks accompanied my new knitting projects (Hermione’s Everyday Socks and Pioneer Girl shawl) and my Kindle Paperwhite enabled late night reading snuggled up in flannel sheets. How about you?

 

 

I finished my 2017 Audiobook Challenge! The fifteenth and sixteenth audiobooks were completed.

The Christie Curse (A Book Collector Mystery #1) by Victoria Abbott kept catching my eye whenever I poked around Overdrive. I know some of you are big Agatha Christie fans so you were an influence also.

While in the first quarter of the read, I had some serious doubts about it. I wasn’t sure I liked the narrator. The storyline so far was okay. This first installment is like goin’ salmon fishing. You travel along in the ocean and cast out, trying to get a bite, but it takes a long time to catch anything. Things were kind of happening but nothing was answered nor found out. However, this cozy grew on me. I finally realized while the narrator sounded like a young adult, the main character is actually a college graduate. So the voice does fit the protagonist. And I began to like more and more her uncles with their questionable pasts and questionable connections. I wish they were bigger participants in the plot. I liked how they taught their niece to take care of herself, like how to act around the police, defend herself in a physical situation, or use her special picks when needed. I was surprised at who the murderer was and what that entailed. I will continue on with the series. Three stars.

Now I’m sure you’ve noticed the second audiobook I finished. After listening to a cozy inspired by Agatha Christie, I wanted to listen to a real Christie novel. The Mysterious Affair at Styles is my first, ever Agatha Christie read! Hugh Fraser, the narrator, does an excellent job. I liked his voice and how he portrayed characters. I was really into this first, Hercule Poirot mystery. I thought I had guessed who dunnit but man, sometimes I felt like a dog chasing its tail! My opinions were led all over the place and when it was finally revealed who the murderer was, I was surprised. I’m happy my library carries many of the series’s audiobooks. Four stars.

I stayed up until quarter to one a.m. finishing this thirteenth, Kindle book. I love storylines that take place in the south. I love the culture and their sayings which are witty. I enjoyed Sullivan’s Island (Lowcountry Tales #1) by Dorothea Benton Frank because no one was perfect. The characters were human with flaws and secrets. The flashbacks to how Susan’s childhood was fascinating to me because she grew up during the Civil Rights Movement. I liked how her journey with her unfaithful husband wasn’t black and white. It had entertaining moments of course but also those of unstable ground and even surprisingly compassionate ones. I felt her story mirrored real life. We as human beings can judge and give opinions easily, but when you’re in the thick of it, the view isn’t so easy to see. I’ll definitely read more of this series. Four stars.

Currently Reading/Listening to

  1. Always a Cowboy (The Carsons of Mustang Creek #2) by Linda Lael Miller
  2. Buried in a Bog (County Cork #1) by Sheila Connolly

What the Dames are Reading

  1. Boo Boo’s just finished Boomer (Puppy Place #37) by Ellen Miles; she’s not sure what she’s going to read next.
  2. The tween is reading Dear Pen Pal (The Mother-Daughter Book Club #3) by Heather Vogel Frederick + Tricked by Jen Calonita. Every time she reads the former series I want to read it too.
19 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I had to look up the pioneer girl shawl-LOVE!
    It says it is suitable for a new knitter, do you think that is accurate? I can do the stitches she talks about. It is so pretty, it would be a fun project!

    Like

    • OMGosh, yes! You would so be able to knit Pioneer Girl. I haven’t had the chance to try out the lace edging. In the first project that had gotten frogged, I was done with the garter stitch section I think only. Even though I’ve been knitting for about nine years now, I still make silly mistakes and make sure I pay attention and count my stitches. Those are key.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your thoughts about what you read…they are refreshing and I get new new insights about books I might pass by.

    Like

  3. I love the audio books narrated by Hugh Fraser! I have two: “The ABC Murders” and “Peril at End House.” Did you know that he played Hastings on TV series? He was the perfect person to narrate.

    Like

  4. Oh, and I’m listening to “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” and a Sherlock Holmes collection (something like 45 hours!), both narrated by Stephen Fry. He is another excellent narrator.

    Like

  5. The curry sounds wonderful! I am a fan of coconut.

    I love Dorothea Benton Frank’s books, and haven’t read Sullivan’s Island, so I’ll be checking it out.

    I am a fan of the County Cork series and have read the first two books. Eager to read more!

    Enjoy your week, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  6. I ordered a charger cord for the NOOK al gave me at Christmas. It was her old one. She has the Art of Fielding on it so I started that……Then I switched to the magazines already on the device. Glad you had a happy weekend and the ribs sound fantastic. I cant have ribs b/c they are 7 points A PIECE on weight watchers. I miss them!

    Like

    • :O( about the WW ribs points. I haven’t tried reading a magazine or a sewing book for example on my Kindle. For those I’d kind of rather have the hard copy but I see the eco friendliness of that kind of option and in thinking about it now, having a knitting book or pattern on a Kindle/Nook would make it easier for me to look at perhaps. I usually have the PDF of knitting patterns uploaded to Drive which I can access it from my phone. Your book sounds interesting. Does Al have another Nook and then does it allow you guys to share libraries like Amazon and Kindle? I’ve linked Eric’s and mine accounts so whatever eBooks he’s bought I can access.

      Like

  7. Well you know I’m excited about your first Agatha Christie read! Hugh Fraser actually plays Hastings in the BBC Poirot series with David Suchet so I’m not sure there’s a better narrator out there. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I can’t wait to see where you go next with her books. I have The Christie Curse on my TBR but haven’t read it yet but I’ll lower my expectations a bit. Sounds like you’re eating well and now I want oatmeal cookies! Have a great week!

    Like

  8. It sounds like you and your girls had a blast together over break. So much fun and family time, the best! 🙂

    I am so glad you enjoyed Sullivan’s Island! I feel the same about southern books – I am such a fangirl of southern settings.:) I think Frank does a great job with the genre.

    The cozy series looks fun as well, and I am glad you liked your first Christie read! I have only read one book by her so far, but I loved it – And Then There Were None. I keep meaning to read more. Maybe this fall!

    Like

  9. Ah sounds like the audiobooks are winning! Many happy hours ahead with Agatha Christie?! I like Southern fiction too and must read more of Dorothea Benton Frank’s books. Sunday sounds perfect.

    Like

  10. Yay for ribs and oatmeal cookies (and curry). You always seem tohave good food in your posts. 🙂 And nice that you had a good reading week as well.

    Glad the Christie book worked for you! I love a whodunit!!

    Like

  11. Ooo. Hugh Fraser sounds like a fantastic narrator. I have not been audiobooking very much right now. This week has been back to podcast though I should go back to the audiobooks before my library check-outs expire.

    Like

  12. Erm… How did I think I’d read and commented on your post this week??? I’m so out of it. 😦

    Beauty and the Beast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Awesome! I totally want to go and rewatch that.

    Ooh – that food sounds mouthwatering – totally something I would love.

    Now I’m heading back in posts to see what else I have missed lately! I hope you’re having a lovely week.

    Like

  13. So glad you enjoyed Agatha Christie…I can never out guess her! I wish I had a decent library so I could use Overdrive but I have plenty of books….who am I kidding? LOL! Your time with your girls sounded like loads of fun and good food as always! I have only read one book by Dorthea Benton and I don’t know why because it was excellent….The Hurricane Sisters…..you would enjoy for sure, I think. I am very interested in that Pioneer Shawl too. I must investigate!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

