It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Annyeong haseyo. How was your Easter weekend? Did the lil’ Easter /(=∵=)\ bunny hook you up with some chocolates? No chocolates here but he did add to Cupcake and Jellybean’s Tsum Tsum and Littlest Pet Shop collections.

The three of us also went to Lovejoy Tea Room Saturday to catch up with former, PTA Board members and their daughters from our old school. My dames and I shared Queen’s Tea with extra scones and hot cocoa. This was the very first time my daughters have experienced tea; honestly, they weren’t overly impressed at this age at the dainty and ladylike portions. Perhaps when they’re more mature. Oh, and I know I look shorter in this photo (I was sitting on the shorter chair that day.), but I’ve got a good inch still over that tween.

And how was your reading this week? I wanted to point out a video my county library had made about the book mobile. Click here to watch it; it’s short and I thought totally related to this wonderful meme for book lovers. I’ve seen the book mobile once or twice and have always wondered about it. What great, community service it does.

The written word and I had some good QT these past two weeks. I’ve finished my tenth and eleventh Kindle books.

This Fever series is known to have abrupt endings which irks me some because each time it felt like a huge manuscript was cut up into pieces.

When I first started reading this last installment I had doubts. I felt there were rambling parts of the storyline that I knew were needed but I felt it was killing time. My reaction: After all freakin’ that, that happened and now it’s like this? Just when I was feeling disappointment, the pace picked up and the ride was on. Then the book threw a curve ball at me that got my attention! The plot got into it’s groove and my eyes were zooming through the print. However, the overall stretch to the finish line was okay for me. Three stars.

There is another series linked to this one right after Shadowfever but I won’t be reading it.

After the above book was finished, I felt I needed a break from the fantasy genre. I wanted something realistic. I was in the mood for a food memoir. So after picking through my TBR, I chose The Coincidence of Coconut Cake. When I started reading it, I realized it wasn’t nonfiction, but a modern-day romance.

For fans of that genre, this is for you. It’s a simple love story that builds from scratch. Each character has his/her own hang ups and baggage. And oh boy the food parts do not skimp on details. I loved this book. One day I was home and decided to read some in my browser. I just kept going and going until I was two chapters from the end. Have you ever come to a book like that where you want to know what happens because you’re enjoying it so much? Why did I stop? I had to pick up my kids but had my Kindle in the car and finished it there. Four stars.

 

Thirteenth audiobook completed, folks. I cannot say enough how relaxing it is to have an audiobook on and just be able to knit away while it plays.

Through the Grinder is the second book in the Coffeehouse Mystery series. It’s a good one. The plot flows, the characters’ demeanors and language are realistic, and oh boy there are some surprises. The topic of coffee is never exhausted in this installment. I feel these books are a step above safe cozies but not as bloody or gruesome as a traditional mystery. Cleo Coyle will stay at the top of my cozy mysteries list. Four stars.

And lastly, number fourteen for the 2017 Audiobook Challenge. I decided to give Marica Muller a go when it was shown as a recommendation on my GR sidebar.

I can tell you I was really iffy about it in the beginning. I didn’t mind the swearing but there’s definitely no sense of PC in this book. I decided to look at its information page and saw that Edwin of the Iron Shoes was first published in 1977. Aw, lightbulb.

So I got pass what bugged me about these characters’ dialogues and became intrigued about who was the murderer and why. I liked Sharon, the strong protagonist, and her journey as a legal investigator. I don’t know much about the world of lawyers so learning about this part of the legal team was interesting. And of course, I loved how this story is set in San Francisco, my hometown. Hearing references to Civic Center, the Sunset District, and the area around Cliff House made me smile. Three stars.

Currently Reading/Listening to

  1. Sullivan’s Island (Lowcountry Tales #1) by Dorothea Benton Frank
  2. The Christie Curse (Book Collector Mystery #1) by Victoria Abbott

What the Ga-jok’s Reading

  1. The tween’s reading Dear Pen Pal (The Mother-Daughter Book Club #3) by Heather Vogel Frederick.
  2. The nine-year-old’s reading When Mischief Came to Town by Katerina Nannestad.

Well, that’s about it. I feel so much better when this post is prepped earlier. I’m starting to salivate as the smell of slow and low, dry rub baby back ribs fill the air. We eatin’ good tonight; fo’sure. TTYL.

17 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. This post is totally entertaining and funny! I loved it when you said you were “eating good” tonight! You have made me realize that I should try audio books again but while I am doing something else…listening to one by itself just made me fall asleep! Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Fantastic photo of you and your gorgeous girls. WOW. I love your hair!
    Read 2 books in the last 40 days. One on Lent….I wouldnt recommend it. It was too theological for me. One that a neighbor wrote. IT is the story of her journey with her son who is on the autism spectrum. It is self published. It was awkward reading about someone in such a personal way. I wouldnt recommend that one either. But I have been readinG

    Like

    • Kudos to you for reading those books. What a brave woman your neighbor is to have published her journey as parent of an autistic child. Have you read A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley? It’s historical fiction running parallel with modern day. The modern day protagonist is a woman with Asperger’s who can decipher codes. I got a glimpse of her struggles with that syndrome and what her coping mechanisms are. It was interesting and intriguing storylines.
      Thank you about our pic and my hair. Since moving to the burbs I run around with no make up and was feeling naked since I usually look tired with my undereye circles so I wanted a pageboy bob with micro bangs that the hair stylist made wispy. I love it. I’m actually patient now and growing out my hair to either the bottom of my neck or to my shoulders.

      Like

  3. Glad you had a nice Easter, and that teatime looks nice. And yeah I like it when a book is set somewhere I know very well- it’s always nice to recognize landmarks or places you know!

    I haven’t read the Moning books but I always like the covers. 🙂

    Mmm, ribs. You ARE eating good tonight lol.

    Like

  4. Yummy yummy, that tea party looks so delicious. Makes me want to go out and enjoy something like that too. Love the photo. You’ve had some great reading and you are really into the audiobooks now, I agree crafting and listening go well together. I enjoyed the Reichert book too but not to the extent you have I believe!

    Like

  5. What a sweet picture of you and the girls. The tea fixings look drool-worthy to me 🙂 I’ve been on the lookout for a vintage 3-tiered tea display. Hope that you all had a fun Easter!

    Like

  6. That is a lovely picture.. beautiful.
    I have the Coconut Cake book on my TBR.. good to hear it’s so delectable.
    I read two books while in the car for our road trip.. which is such a rare joy. 🙂

    Like

  7. The tea looks amazing! And don’t we all maybe inwardly hope for a giant chunk of cake with tea, and are a little sad at having to eat a dainty portion? LOL. It could just be me. I am glad you had a fun Easter. 🙂

    I love the Lowcountry series! I have a real thing for that part of the United States, and read practically every book set there that I can. I hope you enjoy it as well! My favorite is Shem’s Creek. 🙂

    Like

  8. My boy won’t tea w/me, so at least your girls gave it a go. The high tea at the Fairmont is supposed to be pretty fancy. But honestly I’m happy doing my own w/my friends. I have a coffee house mystery on the phone for audiobook purposes!

    Like

  9. We had a serious chocolate overload at our house and ended up in chocolate comas on Easter weekend. We gave away a LOT of chocolate and now have a very reasonable amount remaining which the small person hasn’t been very much interested in for a while!!! I don’t know WHAT the Easter bunny was thinking. 😉

    You definitely got through so many books lately! I hope that this week was as good for you!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

