The Other Craft, IX

Can I tell you it’s nice to not hear howling winds right now. A few nights ago was so crazy, like a vortex had opened and the hounds of hell wreaked havoc on the Bay Area. I’m grateful our neighborhood isn’t dealing with blocked roads and no power. I just had to pick up fallen palm tree branches from our driveway and the neighbor’s.

I want to wave ƪ(˘⌣˘)┐ out an Aloha to those of you who are new. Mahalo nui loa for kickin’ it with me and this little blog. And those of you who keep hangin’ ten with me, mahalo plenty.

I got my Spotify Jams playlist playin. Were you ever a fan of Miami Vice? I remember we gave my brother the LP for his la hanau or somethin’. You know how Phil Collins sang “In the Air Tonight”? It’s just him and the digital synthesizers and beat. And then at three minutes and 41 seconds, them drums come in. Good drama. My favorite part.

So I’ve been bustin’ out some cards the past two and a half months. All were for la hanau’s. This’ll be a long one so grab your cuppa &/or your grub and let’s get started.

Note:

  1. I seriously need to make a spreadsheet of my supplies because every time I type of these posts, I’m always diggin’ around for what I had used.
  2. All of my cards are generally 4 ½” x 5 ½”. Each smaller layer on those dimensions are about ¼” shorter than the base card.
  3. All card sketches are found on Pinterest. I have a board of examples of most of them; I Google the sketch numbers and pin the cards I like.

FEBRUARY

This was for one of my L92 peeps.

Card Sketch

  1. DS #158

Paper

  1. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  2. Recollections 8 ½ x 11 Cardstock, Cream

Stamps

  1. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set – Birthday
  2. Stampin Up Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  2. Craftsmart Pigment Ink Pad, Fuchsia

Embellishments

  1. Darice Baker’s Twine
  2. DAISO JAPAN Print Buttons

Punch

  1. We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch – rounded the corners

The tween had friends born in February also. I was able to take a picture of one of the cards I had made.

Card Sketch

  1. SC#143

Paper

  1. American Crafts Crate Paper – Maggie Holmes Paper Pad, Emily Jane
  2. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  3. Recollections 8 ½ x 11 Cardstock, Cream
  4. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty

Stamp

  1. Inkadinkado, Happy Everything set

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette

Punches

  1. Martha Stewart All Over the Page Punch, 1 ½” circle
  2. Recollections Daisy Lever Punch, 1″
  3. Recollections Daisy Lever Punch, 5/8″
  4. Recollections Circle Lever Punch, 1″
  5. Recollections Star Lever Punch, 1 3/8″

Embellishments

  1. Stampin’ Up Brights Enamel Shapes

This card was for my maternal grandfather.

Card Sketch

  1. Here at the end of the blog post and one I have wanted to use for quite some time.

Paper

  1. By the Shore Designer Series Paper
  2. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty
  3. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  4. American Crafts Crate Paper – Maggie

Stamps

  1. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set – Birthday
  2. Stampin Up Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Colorbox Archival Dye, Moody Blue
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette

Embellishments

  1. Celebrate It Ribbon
  2. Darice Baker’s Twine
  3. Embossing Arts Co. Embossing Powder, Iridescent Peacock

We celebrated my brother’s 40th a little late this year, but it gave me time to make him a cool card.

Card Sketch

1. DS #115

Paper

  1. Recollections Architecture Cardstock Paper
  2. Kid Made Modern Print Palooza
  3. Neenah Bright White

Stamp

  1. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set – Birthday

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Mowed Lawn & Scattered Straw

APRIL

My Moi Moi is currently trying to qualify for the SF Police Academy. Her physical test is coming up next month. Please send strength and mental endurance toward her way.

Her la hanau recently passed. I’ve been a bit worried about her as I know she’s stressed out. For her birthday card, I thought of spring, how green is making its presence known around our neighborhoods and how the season is one of resilience after winter and one of hope.

Card Sketch

  1. DS #104

Paper

  1. Recollections Feathered Greens Cardstock Paper
  2. Neenah Bright White
  3. American Crafts Crate Paper – Maggie
  4. Wilton Heart Doilies

Stamp

  1. Stampin Up Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Colorbox Pigment Archival, Green
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Picked Raspberry

Punches

  1. Recollections Heart Lever Punch, 5/8″
  2. We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch – rounded the corners

This one was for my homeboy who has worked in a few different professions, like doing photography on the side.

Card Inspiration

  1. This one.

Paper

  1. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty
  2. Recollections 8 ½ x 11 Cardstock, Cream

Stamps

  1. Inkadinkado Cameras Clear Stamp Set
  2. Stampin Up Party with Cake
  3. Inkadinkado, Happy Everything set

Stencil

  1. Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous, Rays

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Fired Brick, Spiced Marmalade, & Scattered Straw
  3. Hampton Art Pigment Ink, white

Embellishment

  1. Assorted Cup Sequins, JoAnn
  2. Ranger Embossing Powder, super fine white

This last card was for my cousin. His la hanau is the same day as the one above. I felt this one has a vintage safari feel, yeah?

Card Sketch

  1. DS #119

Paper

  1. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  2. Recollections 8 ½ x 11 Cardstock, Cream

Stamp

  1. Inkadinkado, Happy Everything set

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Gathered Twigs

Stencil

  1. Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous, Woodgrain

Punch

  1. Recollections Circle Lever Punch, 1 ½”

Embellishment

  1. Embossing Arts Co. Embossing Powder, Iridescent Peacock

I think I’ve covered everything. It’s been a productive Saturday. Mahalo for hangin’ ten with me today. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. TTYL!

14 thoughts on “The Other Craft, IX

  1. Gorgeous cards!!! Really stunning and I’m sure the recipients feel extra special to be getting something so lovingly made! You are so arty/crafty!

    Hope you are having a great weekend and I too am glad you aren’t dealing with blocked roads and no power!!!

    Like

  2. All just beautiful cards, I just love your creativity I have all this card stuff for making cards but once I became obsessed with quilting I just haven’t given them any time. Just love yours.

    Like

  3. I keep thinking that someday I’ll learn scrapbooking/cardmaking (not that they’re the same but many of the same materials)…..and then I laugh and laugh. With that said, about inventory, seriously, take the time to do it. You will be much happier when you’ve finished. It’s not like it even has to be totally organized. I took care of my yarn/fiber stash in January (sans a few things that I missed in large bags but that’s okay) and it’s not organized but I took every bin out, made sure everything was entered into Ravelry and photographed, and I made sure to put the bin # in the “location” section on the stash page. You could do something similar with your cardmaking stash. Just make sure all the bins are numbered and make a spreadsheet that has something like categories for….I don’t know…ink, stamps, paper (by size or content) and then you can put down something like:

    Ink:
    1. Tim Holtz Distress Mixed Media Palette (bin #1)
    2. Hampton Art Pigment Ink, white (bin #4)

    Stencils:
    1. .a.a.dalfkj (bin #2)
    2. asd;kfadsf (bin #4)

    and so on.

    You could be totally fancy and organize it with all your ink in a few bins, all your stamps in another, etc….but, really, as long as you know where it is, it doesn’t matter 🙂

    Like

  4. I do like when you share your card making, I am fascinated by your talent and how you think of different themes for everyone you love. I bet the appreciate the love you pour into those cards!!

    Like

  5. They all look good Stef! I think my favorite is your brother’s 40th 🙂

    As for spreadsheeting your supplies, I should really do that as well. You’d think w/Ravelry etc and my love of knitting it would be easy, ha! But what it comes down to (I think) is IF we have the time to craft, why would be organizing if we could just be … crafting!

    Like

  6. Wow your cards are amazing!! My goal for the week was to make something, anything. I made muffins, and I have a few other things planned if my son allows me. Lol.

    I’m glad your crazy winds have died down! We had wind like that a few weeks back, it was crazy! Glad you are safe. 🙂

    Funny story about that Phil Collins song – not sure if this a regional urban legend, but somehow there is an urban legend that says Phil Collins wrote it after watching a camp counselor allow a fellow camper drown! Not true, but weird how rumors start!

    Like

    • Hiya! I use Tombow Dots Adhesive; I get them 3 in a pack from Michael’s and use a 40% off coupon. For little items like sequins, I use glue dots; there are different sizes. For making things 3-D since my cards have layers, I use Scotch Permanent Mounting Squares.

      Like

  7. These are all so wonderful and unique! I bet they make the recipients feel extra special too. I used to love watching Miami Vice…..now I’ve got Phil Collins stuck in my head 🙂

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

