It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hello. How’d you start off April? I’m curious. Are you a prankster? Did you play jokes last Saturday?

No joking around on my end. Our crew had a relaxing Saturday in the 70’s: The dames went out to play with the neighbor, after a leisurely lie in I worked on creating two birthday cards, and the husband chillaxed since he had an early 5K Sunday. This sums up our Sunday:

  1. I have wanted to try to make kimchi for ages. This one, cucumber kimchi, is a bit simpler. I found the recipe on Pinterest. So it’s currently fermenting in our frig after sitting on the counter for a couple of hours.

The man of our house put together our new Sauder coffee table. It’s rustic and solid wood, going with the Hawaiian theme of our dining area and living room.
How was your reading this week? Mine progressed well. I have been reading in the car before I walk Jellybean to campus. My hands and wrists aren’t warmed up in the early morning so I stopped knitting then to prevent the pain I got last month.

Janet Evanovich’s Three to Get Deadly is my ninth Kindle book read. I had enjoyed the second installment so much I immediately check out book three.

However, this one wasn’t much of a winner for me. While I did get a couple of chuckles throughout the book, I actually gave it two stars for an “It’s okay” rating on Goodreads. I felt the plot was all over place while Stephanie tried to find a beloved citizen who was like a needle in a haystack. The community didn’t like her going after Mo of course. And then you have the issue of vigilante(s) because drug dealers are disappearing; there’s divided opinion between those who serve and those who are civilians. I’m giving nothing away as you can see from the GR book summary linked above.

I will still continue reading the series but am going to take a break from it now since I have such a long list of books I’d like to read this 2017.

I decided to try out a new cozy mystery series on Overdrive Listen. On What Grounds is written by a wife and husband duo, a tidbit I found interesting. The book opens up with the killer’s point of view as he thoroughly expresses his feelings for the intended victim. I found this set up to be different from the past cozies I’ve read since usually I’m introduced to the protagonist who goes about daily life until she stumbles upon the dead body.

Are you a hardcore coffee drinker? Then this series is for you. Sprinkled throughout this audiobook are detailed facts about coffee, from how a certain one should be brewed to where it comes from, etc. Who knew coffee could be so intricate?

Another plus for me is the array of characters in this first installment. You have people of color who have gay or straight sexual orientations. There are different occupations mentioned and contact with different social circles and with different parts of the city. In addition, I totally didn’t guess the murderer right at all. Four stars.

Currently Reading &/or Listening to

  1. Shadowfever (Fever #5) by Karen Marie Moning
  2. The Chemist by Stephenie Myer
  3. Through the Grinder (Coffeehouse Mystery #2) by Cleo Coyle

What the Crew’s Reading

  1. Husband: Do I even need to say?
  2. Jellybean: She just finished the two books (Dolphin Dreams by Catherine Hapka and Bailey’s Story by W. Bruce Cameron) she had bought at Book Fair.
  3. Tween: She’s reading, a Book Fair find,ย The Harlem Charadeย by Natasha Anastasia Tarpley. Doesn’t this author have such an interesting name? I’m intrigued by the book title itself.

I hope your Monday has started off well in your part of the world or you may snoring away like me here in California. Have a good week everyone. Happy reading!

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. mmm, kimchee! I haven’t tasted that yet but I have a feeling that I would like it. Unrelated – We ate at a korean restaurant the last time we visited our son and I loved everything ๐Ÿ™‚ I finished still life book and loved it and I am trying to finish chestnut street which is a collection of short stories. I hope to finish this soon!

    Like

  2. April Fool’s Day passed by without joke or mishap this year. What have I been reading? Well, I just had a very quick read – Jonathan Livingston Seagull by RIchard Bach. Years ago my sister was left a copy of this as an anonymous gift. Having discovered it’s one of those books listed to give inspiration to some I decided to get my own copy and see what it is all about. On the fence a little, one quote earmarked, will read it again in case I missed something

    Like

  3. This is a reasonably good Monday…I will hit the treadmill soon…Den only had yard work on his mind. It’s in the 60’s here today. So sorry about your hands…turmeric tea is supposed to help joint pain…have you tried it? That new cozy mystery series sounds really interesting!

    Like

  4. Kimchi seems similar to what we eat ‘achar’
    No jokes here.. I thought to do something cute for the boys.. but to lazy.. lol
    I haven’t picked up a book in a week.. the last one I was reading was so bad I quit it mid way and just ddin’t feel like picking up something new.

    Like

    • Thank you, Kathy. It helps to “kill two birds with one stone” when listening to an audiobook while knitting. We love our new coffee table too. We have matching end tables that’ll be put together another day. The husband was pooped out after putting together the table which has many parts since there are sections below and the pull out top.

      Like

  5. What a creative family your are, coffee table is beautiful. I thought about reading the Janet E series but never got to it and now the urge has passed!!

    Like

  6. Ok so, I definitely need to make that kimchi. My husband has been talking and talking about wanting it for almost a year now! Lol. I might be able to handle this one.

    That coffeehouse series sounds perfect for me! I am a huge coffeeholic, and the diversity, plus the fact that you didn’t figure it out immediately all are big sellers. The husband and I actually have a coffee date tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Love your coffee table! Is that all storage under that top? Great place for storing yarn! The cozy coffee mysteries sound great and I love coffee! I am a big joke player but my kids are grown and gone and the people I know here don’t have much of a sense of humor….I hope I don’t get that way as I age…..I’m old but I really dislike grumpy, self-serving old people! LOL! So, no jokes and I need more roof repairs so that wasn’t funny. Actually it is….I’m always laughing. Have a great day!

    Like

  8. Beautiful coffee table. Love the color of the wood and cool pull-up top design.
    Speaking of April Fool’s Day, I almost fell for the hilarious natural yarn prank on the Mason-Dixon website.

    Like

  9. Whoops – I’m a bit late seeing as there’s another IMWAYR due tomorrow! Oh dear.

    How was the kimchi?? It looked fantastic!

    On What Grounds sounds like an interesting read! I AM a hardcore coffee drinker. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad to hear you had a good week again and I’ll catch up with you tomorrow!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

