It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hidy ho readers. Last full week of March. Tell me, where’d the month go? And how was your weekend? What is one, memorable thing you did? The family and I had a midday trip to celebrate our 10 year anniversary; we spent Saturday in Half Moon Bay (go here if you’re curious) for some sight-seeing and for good grub. Sunday it was time to “mow the lawn” (give the husband a 2 cut on top and a 1 fade on the bottom) besides blogging, catching up on blogs, and consuming Mountain Mike’s.

How was your immersion into the written word over the week? I was able to finish two formats of books over the past seven days.

Kindle Book #1

I may have asked this in my last book post: Have you ever gotten addicted to a series where you’re left scattered breadcrumbs in terms of knowing who, what, why, and how but you just don’t care because you just have to read more? This is what’s happening to me for this Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. I’ve read books two and three back to back. That hasn’t happened since the Twilight series had come out.

Faefever is the second installment. It’s full of darkness, dissent among those of the light, and in-house squabbling. There are secret plans and something bad’s going down! Finally, more 411 about one of the main players was dished out; however, the content is more about the history of certain events. Mac’s getting tougher and is getting smarter by learning how to play her cards better all the while being monkey in the middle. I was like a fisherwoman reeling in yards of fishing line to get to the very end.

Four stars. The fourth installment was downloaded to my Kindle immediately after and I’m already over halfway through it.

Kindle Book #2

I can see now why the Stephanie Plum series has such a huge fan following. I love it!  The throwback references – VHS movies, tape decks in the cars, wearing Doc Martens (I used to have the combat boots with Cookie Monster bow biters), and pegged pants (had to teach my older cousin how to do that back in the day) – to trends I grew up with is so fun to come across.

I love Stephanie’s Jersey girl sassiness. Her character is believable and she ain’t perfect. Her family’s a riot, especially her grandmother. I like how Stephanie falls down but brushes herself right off and gets back up for more.

And the main, male characters in her life? Oh boy, that yummy Joe Morelli. His and Stephanie’s conversations are entertaining banter:

I stood there for a moment, visualizing the pine boxes stacked chocablock. Here one day, gone the next. I turned to leave and almost crashed into Morelli.

‘Jesus,” I exclaimed, hand on heart, after squelching a yelp of surprise. ‘I hate when you creep up behind me like that. What are you doing here, anyway?’

‘Following you.”

‘I don’t want to be followed. Isn’t that some sort of an infringement of my rights? Police harassment?’

‘Most women would be happy to have me follow them.’

“I’m not most women.’

‘Tell me about it.’ (Loc 931 @22%)

And that Ranger? “If you gave Ranger fifteen minutes he could assemble a team that would make the invasion of Kuwait look like a kindergarten exercise.” (Loc 1668 @39%)

Even though he’s a bada**, I love how he took Stephanie under his wing in the first book and how he helps her out if she needs it.

The crime in this plot was creative and in how it was carried out. I liked how it brought in characters from book one and brought in more characters of the community. Four stars.

Add another tally mark to that bunch of audiobooks! Because I had enjoyed the first Booktown Mystery and had the characters fresh in my brain, I listened to the second installment, Bookmarked for Death.

Katherine of I Wish I Lived in a Library commented last week, “I’ve enjoyed the Booktown series as well though sometimes Tricia gets on my nerves.”

While listening to this audiobook, I totally got that. I thought I’d get tired of Angelica, Tricia’s older sister, who is such a diva but you know what? She is entertaining and I love how no matter what, by any means necessary she’ll defend her baby sister. If anything, the sheriff is an annoying witch on a power trip; I do wonder though, will there be a book in this series where the sheriff has to wear the shoe on the other foot and be a suspect in a murder? That certainly would be an interesting twist.

Four stars for this installment. The plot was interesting and definitely led me down a road or two I didn’t expect. The violence was taken up a notch also. At one point I was like whoa! And I totally got the killer wrong; the reveal was a total surprise.

What I’m Reading/Listening to Right Now

  1. The Chemist by Stephenie Myer
  2. Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning
  3. Three to Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich
  4. On What Grounds by Cleo Coyle

What the Crew’s Reading

  1. Husband? Same ol.
  2. The tween? She’s reading The Pages Between Us by Lindsey Leavitt and by Robin Mellom.
  3. The baby? She’s reading Dara Palmer’s Major Drama by Emma Shevah.

 

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. What went through my mind is that you are getting a ton of reading done in a variety of different ways! I love that!

    Like

  2. It has been too long since I read one of the Stephanie Plum books….and I didn’t read them in any kind of order. I loved the movie rendition of the first book….and now I visualize Stephanie as the actress who portrayed her (Katherine Heigl).

    Half Moon Bay…memories. In the 60s, we lived in SF…and I have lovely photos of my babies at Half Moon Bay. I haven’t been back there in many years.

    This weekend, I did some Netflix binge-watching of Scandal…I’m halfway through the fifth season. When I catch up, I will join the current season which is now showing on ABC.

    Enjoy your books and your week…and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  3. I read the first book in the Fever series 5 or 6 years ago and didn’t enjoy it, but I’ve actually been thinking of re-reading it since my tastes have changed so much and since so many of my reader friends love the series. I’m glad you’re enjoying the Stephanie Plum series! I’ve read 19 or 20 of them and then gave up a few years ago…they become incredibly repetitive (basically the same jokes, same types of crimes, Stephanie, Grandma, and Lula are always experiencing the same mishaps), but I always figured when Evanovich finally ends the series, I’ll read the last book out of curiosity.

    Happy reading!
    ~Marie @ Ramblings of a Daydreamer
    Here’s my Monday post

    Like

  4. I read quite a bit of the Fever series (last year?), I enjoyed it a lot but did quit after book 5 though. I just finished reading Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, it was so good that I’m having a really tough time finding a new book to read again.

    Like

    • OMGosh, I just finished four! The ending! The way she ends her books is a tad irritating but oh well. I mean Rowling and Meyer always ended each installment satisfyingly yeah? I’m going to check out the last book if there’s no holds list. Thanks for sharing your experience and thoughts.

      Like

  5. Faefever sounds really fun, and so does the Plum book (tape decks in cars- lol). Glad that you guys had a nice anniversary outing. A beautiful setting and good food is always a plus. 🙂

    Glad that Bookmarked for Death worked out good too.

    Like

  6. Angelica can be a bit challenging at times but like you I enjoy the relationship between them. I’m reading The Lake House by Kate Morton which I’m liking but is taking forever and a cozy mystery involving a wedding planner that makes me happy I went the courthouse wedding route! Have a great week!

    Like

  7. I’ve read a few of Evanovich but it was a little out of my comfort zone and I don’t care for stories that take place in cities….I know….I’m strange. I’m your Mother’s generation remember or older! LOL! The Booktown series sounds good and the first book is not a genre that I would be interested in. But great reviews!

    Like

  8. I finished Big Little Lies, I’m trudging through The Devil’s Chessboard, and I’m about to start Crazy Rich Asians. hehe. I am excited for stories again.

    Like

  9. Hey Stef

    Kim at Handeyecraftstwo.blogspot.com is having a great anniversary giveway. You can google for answers. Not enough people enter her very fun contests and she has great prizes. Head over! if you wish!!
    kathy b

    Like

  10. Ah – Stephanie Plum! I’ve been reading that series although I’m still somewhere around the mid teens ( I think I’m to pick up sixteen next?). I took a small break and just haven’t managed to get back to it in more than a year! Oops! I do love them though and they are always light and fluffy FUN.

    Sounds like you’ve been having a lovely week and can’t wait for your next update!

    Like

  11. I love the Janet Evanovich series, although I listen to them (find them much more enjoyable). The woman who reads them, Lorelai King, is AWESOME!
    Love seeing you book updates!

    Like

    • I wouldn’t mind listening to it on audio either but my library doesn’t carry the Plum series, only a few of the way later installments. I will remember your rec. My mum loves her other murder-solving couple series. I have one of them on my TBR.

      Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

