It’s Monday! What are you reading?

(source)

Annyeong haseyo. The past two weeks have been filled with chores (Laundry is a constant battle.), cooking (lots of comfort pasta and fried rice), crafting (Knitting is gettin’ done – check out yesterday’s post!) gajok (shhh…my nephews are my favorites), Roku movies (Alice Through the Looking Glass + just watched Moana Saturday <3) roller blading (a bit of but I seriously need to get wrist protectors so I’ve stopped until then), and walks (Listening to a good mix gets me walkin’ like a boss and like Darth Vader to Ludacris’s “Move B*.”).

I am now up to 11 audiobooks! I am well within my picked level of Stenographer (10-15) of the 2017 Audiobook Challenge hosted by Hot Listens and by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Cozy Mysteries have been my main choices, good accompaniments to knitting or cardmaking.

I finished Murder is Binding (Booktown Mystery #1) by Lorna Barrett. Imagine a small town where the streets are lined with bookstores. Each one specializes in a particular genre. Tricia Miles owns Haven’t Got a Clue, a mystery bookstore. When she stumbles upon her next door neighbor’s dead body, she becomes the prime suspect. Using what she has learned about police procedures and murders from mystery books, Tricia takes the initiative to clear her name.

I enjoyed this audiobook. It caught my attention from the beginning. I thought it was neat to have a town that specialized in bookstores and that used this idea to capitalize on tourism. The town is full of characters I liked and disliked. There are some surprises in the plot I didn’t expect; I always consider that signs of a good read. Four stars.

A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley is the sixth Kindle book I’ve read so far this year. It is also the third of her works I have read.

When I first started it, internally I was like, okay…more Jacobites history. But as I read, the development of the diary’s story intrigued me and made me want to learn more about Mary’s journey and what happens to her and the others. I also enjoyed the parallel, modern-day storyline of a protagonist having Asperger’s and who can decode ciphers while navigating life in France; I don’t know much about ciphers so it was an interesting subject to learn about. Sara’s character seemed realistic to me, from how she interpreted body language to how she struggled when things didn’t go expectedly. Four stars!

I recently finished this seventh Kindle book. Bloodfever is the second of the series, Fever, by Karen Marie Moning. I kept seeing the hype of the later installments so I knew I had to catch up this 2017.

Because I had read book one over two years ago, I struggled some when first starting Bloodfever. I only faintly recalled the main characters and what had happened. I actually debated upon whether or not to reread the first book.

In deciding against that, I forged on. Man, I had so many questions running through my mind as I took in the story. Have you ever read a book where it feels like it’s moving but you still are left in the dark about who and why? There are action events in this installment but several characters remain mysterious as I still don’t know much about them. There are signs of things to come and of things to be revealed, but of course I have to wait for further reading of the other books. Three stars.

Currently Listening to

  1. Bookmarked for Death (Booktown Mystery #2) by Lorna Barrett

Currently Reading

  1. Faefever (Fever #3) by Karen Marie Moning
  2. On the Way to the Wedding (Bridgertons #8) by Julia Quinn

What the Crew’s Reading

  1. The fourth grader has finished one library book from a recent haul, Dream on Amber by Emma Shevah and she is now reading Revenge of the Flower Girls by Jennifer Ziegler.
  2. The seventh grader’s reading Project Unpopular by Kristen Tracy and The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand.
  3. The husband’s reading the same books; he says he gets stuck, like eating at a buffet where he samples a bit of this and a bit of that; he will quickly finish reading what he loves first and then work on the others.

I’m pleased that I’m making solid progress on this year’s Goodreads Reading Challenge. Twenty-three books have been read and I’m eight books ahead of schedule! This is so much better than last year. I hope your Monday has started off well and that it’ll be a good one for you. TTYL!

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I’ve enjoyed the Booktown series as well though sometimes Tricia gets on my nerves. I do love the idea of a book related town. The idea of all those book stores in one place just makes me happy. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed the Susanna Kearsley. I’ve been wanting to read her for awhile but just haven’t quite done it.

    Like

  2. I am totally impressed with your audiobooks…I may have to try it again…maybe the key is to listen while doing something else…

    Like

  3. Ugh to laundry. I actually at this very moment should be taking advantage of the boy’s nap time to get a little caught up, but decided to spend time with blogging friends and my coffee instead. Lol. Moana is all the thing around here – we just went to my cousin’s daughter’s Moana themed birthday party. Wyatt loves the music as well.

    That bookshop cozy looks fun!

    Like

  4. You sure are forging ahead with your audiobooks, I am no where near your number. Sigh! That knitting does it I am sure! And you are power walking too I seem to remember although that probably entails music!

    Like

  5. Mmm fried rice. And I haven’t seen Moana yet but it looks fun?

    I love that idea of a bookish town with all different bookstores. How fun! That may be a good series to try.

    Hope you have a fabulous week.

    Like

  6. Great reviews, as always and the Booktown books are something I really have to look into! They sound very good. I looked into Overdrive listen and told all my kids but our library doesn’t have any ebooks but I am spreading the word as I think it’s wonderful! I have those movies on my list to watch also! Have a great week!

    Like

  7. Stef, You and the 7th grader could read Feeling Sorry For Celia together …..AL and I both liked it. It can be a bit much though so best to read it before her or simultaneously.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

