Gift Knitting III

Hidy-ho readers. What’s goin’ on? Chillaxin’ goin’ on up in here. We are getting a day off from rain which is nice although I’m glad when I had to drive up to the city Thursday it wasn’t pouring like the week before and traffic moved. I’m currently armed with my genmaicha after catching up on blogs. My lean, running machine husband is out on his five-mile run; he had run a 10K last weekend in 48 minutes, fifth place in the 40’s group. The tween is reading in bed after a late evening out with her BFF’s for one of their crew’s 13th birthday. My Boo Boo is reading as well, a bit disappointed her big sister doesn’t want to go out (“It’s too cold.”) and play.

img_6073

I keep meaning to post about my latest bout of gift knitting but I keep forgetting. And yes, I still have to stage a photo shoot of the husband’s socks. m(_ _;;m

I’ve been working away on the tween’s jumper. She had expressed before winter break how many junior high schoolers are wearing sweaters. I asked her if she would like me to knit her one; I got the nod. So Christmas one of her gifts was a box of seven skeins of Knit Picks Swish Worsted in (her chosen color) Cobblestone Heather.

This is Flax by Tin Can Knits. I have knitted this pattern twice already, two Christmases ago for my niece and nephew. I’m making the XS for Cupcake. By last night I finally got to a length she was happy with. Yes! (*•̀ᴗ•́*)و ̑̑ I’ve started on the fifth ball and with two more I have plenty for her sleeves as she only wants 3/4 length ones.

I am super happy to be this far along now. The start of this project was a bit rocky as I had to frog a few times because I kept screwing up the raglan increases. By raglan I mean these:

img_6074

You see that slanted line of v’s? This sweater is a top-down construction where I knit the ribbed collar first, start increasing stitches to set up for a sleeve, the back, another sleeve, and the front. Every other round is increased at certain points which goes from the top of the shoulder by the neckline and slanting down to the underarm. Once that was completed, I put the sleeves’ stitches on waste yarn because I’ll knit them last and then focus on knitting the body. I still have the bottom ribbing to knit in a twisted rib. Then I can start on a sleeve. Yippee the homestretch is in sight!

That’s all my news for today. I don’t know if I’ll have a post for YOP1617 tomorrow. It depends upon what I work on today. Have a good Saturday and TTYL!

8 thoughts on “Gift Knitting III

  1. Great minds think alike! I just printed off a bunch of Tin Can Knits patterns and so happy to hear you have made this sweater several times. I have not knitted anything from them yet but thought I would do their Simple Knits in order to learn more techniques. Practice makes perfect or so t hey say! LOL! She is going to love that sweater! Great job!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

