Post VIII: What’s cookin’ good looking?

img_2380

Good evening y’all. What’s for dinner? I am so happy tomorrow’s Friday. It’s been busy nonstop:

  1. Extracurricular classes  – The husband came home early to help me out Monday by taking Jellybean to hip hop; thank you, honey.
  2. Valentine’s Day prep – The tween baked cupcakes for her girlfriends. The day after she made a batch of oatmeal raisin cookies for a friend’s birthday. Guess who was on clean up duty armed with disinfectant wipes?
  3. Jellybean’s explorer project – She had started it last weekend; the ships (We bought Starbucks for the three of us just to get those coffee sleeves.) were put together Tuesday and it was turned in yesterday along with the folder report. Whew!

It certainly has been quite a while since I’ve posted last about what’s been cookin’ in our crib. I have a small backlog of food photos. Are you ready to see some grub?

Panettone French Toast

One of our neighbors sweetly gave us a box of panettone during winter break. It was perfect for a French Toast brunch. They received one of those thank you cards and I think it made the lady of the house very happy.

Peach French Toast

I originally had wanted to make a special breakfast for the crew on Christmas Eve since we were going to be home all day, but I was too busy prepping for Christmas. So a few days later the night before, I was able to prep Ellie Krieger’s Peach French Toast Bake. It’s really easy to throw together. You can use any kind of artisan bread for it; I think I used Challah here; I’ve used brioche in the past. I’ve made this recipe many times; it certainly is a winner.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I didn’t get a chance to make special cupcakes for my mum’s NYE birthday because I was sick before the date. The dames had spent the night for a few days during the last of winter break at their Bella and Big Pop’s. When my parents brought them back down I wanted to have cupcakes ready as they were staying for dinner. I was all excited because I bought a two color piping set at Michael’s. I thought it was going to be so cool to pipe black and white buttercream on top of these chocolate cupcakes. But that was a fail because my buttercream was too thick, so I’ll have to try again another day. Anywho, Tastes of Lizzy T’s Chocolate Chip Cupcakes from Scratch is terrific. The husband loved these cupcakes and couldn’t tell me enough how much he loved them.

Quinoa Bowl

I wanted to eat healthier so I dug out the quinoa and cooked it in chicken broth. I diced mushrooms, carrots, celery, zucchini, and butternut squash that were all sautéed in coconut oil. I used Yuri Elkaim’s dressing from this recipe of his. It’s refreshing and satisfying.

img_6025

Sheet Pan Chicken Fajitas

You want an easy recipe? This is the one! Life Made Simple’s Sheet Pan Chicken Fajitas is a big winner in our house. There is just a bit of prep and then your oven does all the work.

Our family likes sour cream and shredded cheese to accompany our fajitas. This photo shows the healthy, whole wheat tortillas I had bought at TJ’s. The next time I made this dish I got the real deal tortillas, the fluffy white ones. Nothing beats those I’m afraid.

img_6050

 

Fried Rice

I am craving fried rice again. My daughters normally don’t like brown rice but when I make this dish, they are shoveling rice into their mouths! I usually forget to cook the rice the night before so it’s made the day of and then I lay it out on a foiled sheet pan and dry out the rice in the oven, say 325° for 20-30 minutes.

I diced up the same veggies, cooked the same way but in a wok, as in the quinoa bowl. I then transferred them to a bowl. I slid the rice from the pan into the hot wok and sautéed it to crisp it up some. The vegetables were added back in and I used the sauce from Damn Delicious’s Shrimp Fried Rice recipe. When you put together the sauce, it doesn’t look like much in volume but believe me, it goes a long way.

Well, it’s gettin’ late. Time to decompress and do a bit of reading before the Sandman comes. Have a good night and TTYL.

9 thoughts on “Post VIII: What’s cookin’ good looking?

  1. Jellybean did a great job with her project! The polka dot flags were a fun touch. I am all over that sheet pan chicken fajitas recipe. Love easy meals like that. I’m thinking that it would be tasty as a burrito bowl meal too. Yum!

    Like

  2. Everything looks so delicious!! I have wanted rice something for days – now I need to have it. Lol. The chocolate chip also make me hungry. Wyatt’s birthday cake was chocolate chip too!

    Great job on the project, it is adorable!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

