It’s Monday! What are you reading?

\_(ω・`*)ゞ prepped hours before

Progress is the theme of this wave of posts. I have a new pair of socks added to my drawer of fiber-crafted items, I’m finally knitting colorwork after constantly drooling over fellow IG Knitters’ colorful projects, and I’ve been knockin’ out books for my Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge goal.

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

I. DNF

I had tried in the past to designate books as DNF but would get frustrated because I would still have to mark them as Read and that would affect my GR reading challenge total. I then would have to use the year before, etc to avoid that. After a recent Google search, I was able to find this helpful article on how to create the DNF shelf on Goodreads. (•́⌄•́๑)૭✧ Yay, on that!

How handy that find was because I sent The Trouble with Dukes (Windham Brides #1) by Grace Burrowes to that shelf. It was a Kindle book that had been on hold for a while. I really tried to get into it but was not impressed with the interactions of the main couple, Megan and Hamish. They were boring. The Windham family is supposed to be a big one. Compared to Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons, they were dull. When I read their scenes of dialogue I was not entertained like how I was with the Bridgertons. After about 25%, DNF.

I’ve been enjoying utilizing Overdrive Listen on my laptop. I have many cozy mysteries on my wishlist. One is The Cracked Spine (Scottish Bookshop Mystery #1) by Paige Shelton that I thought would be fun to listen to because I do like books. However, the narrator’s voice and style just didn’t do it for me. I wasn’t entertained at all. *yawns* ヽ( ´O`)ゞ So DNF.

II. Audiobooks

Brownies and Broomsticks (Magical Bakery Mystery #1) by Bailey Cates is a cozy mystery. Although it was a simple one, I was satisfied with the baking content in the plot. I liked the spunky streak of Katie. She was direct and had passionate loyalty to her aunt and uncle. I was definitely entertained. Three stars.

Last Wool and Testament (A Haunted Yarn Shop Mystery #1) by Molly Macrae is actually a reread for me. You know Goodreads now keeps track of your rereads? I read this in paperback form almost four years ago. I had actually started to listen to book two on Overdrive Listen but it kept bugging me that I didn’t recall who was who. So finding book one in audio form I went back to Last Wool and Testament. Would you believe I enjoyed it more the second time around? Oh man I was laughing at Kath’s snarkiness. There isn’t as much knitting content as I would have liked but I enjoyed this first installment. Four stars.

chiefinspector

III. Kindle Book

A fellow knitting friend of mine is a devoted reader of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series. It’s because of her I decided to continue it this 2017.

A Fatal Grace: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #1) by Louise Penny was a lovely visit. The author’s writing immerses you into the Quebec village of Three Pines. You get this picturesque vision like a Currier & Ives print.  I loved the insertions of French sayings and names. I wished while reading I could learn how to properly pronounce them.

I had forgotten how different Louise Penny’s mystery writing is. When I think of mysteries in general I think of violence and bloodshed. You get glimpses into the killer’s mind or may be right there at the sidelines of the murder in action. With Chief Inspector Gamache, there is none of that. It’s left to your imagination but you don’t jump in surprise. It’s a great change from the norm. It’s all about gathering every detail possible and deep contemplation of what’s happened and the suspects. Three stars. I will definitely continue this series.

IV. Paperback Books

While picking up the tween’s library requests, I strolled by New Fiction and spotted these two books. I finished A Muddied Murder (A Greenhouse Mystery #1) by Wendy Tyson first. It’s considered a cozy. There is plenty of gardening and produce content in it. The protagonist, Megan, is tough and a go-getter. She doesn’t mince words and always has a plan of action. The plot flows along smoothly. I read this book in about a day! Four stars.

A Study in Scarlet Women (Lady Sherlock #1) by Sherry Thomas was a delightful find as I have found I’m into what I guess you can say fractured tales of Sherlock Holmes. With this book, imagine if Sherlock was born a girl. This author has written historical romances besides a few other genres so there is the element of the gossipy and snotty ton society but with a mystery element. And with similar characteristics to Sherlock Holmes you know Charlotte Holmes doesn’t go half measure. Whenever I picked up this book to read, my eyes were flyin’ down the pages. I finished it Saturday night before midnight. Four stars.

Currently Listening To

  1. Dyeing Wishes (A Haunted Yarn Shop Mystery #2) by Molly Macrae

Currently on the Kindle

  1. Introducing Agatha Raisin: The Quiche of Death/The Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin Mystery) by M.C. Beaton
  2. Breath of Fire (The Kingmaker Chronicles #2) by Amanda Bouchet

What the Crew’s Reading

  1. Husband is halfway done with Seven Eves by Neal Stephenson.
  2. The tween is reading Much Ado About Anne (The Mother-Daughter Book Club #2) by Heather Vogel Frederick
  3. The 4th grader is reading Katie Sprinkles and Surprises (Cupcake Diaries #17) by Coco Simon.

ᕙ(⇀‸↼‶)ᕗ *stretches* Well, I believe that’s enough progress for the day. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and hope Monday starts off your week well. TTYL.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I am honestly so excited that Goodreads is starting to keep track of rereads, as I reread my favorites often! It sounds like you had a fun reading week – congrats on your shiny, new DNF shelf! 🙂 It’s the little things….

    Like

  2. Louise Penny is on my to read kindle list…I have one of her books but cannot remember the title. There is so much to read and so little time! I am currently reading My name is lucy barton at night and it’s good. and during the day I am reading The Sellout which is okay.

    Like

  3. Thank you for your Monday Good Wishes…thanks for the Goodreads tip…I have been clicking on finished and then removing it…if I can’t finish a book. I love that you know what every family member is reading! Have a great week!

    Like

  4. I had the same feelings about the lack of a DNF shelf on Goodreads. I eventually had to change those books I didn’t finish to “want to read,” but it didn’t feel right.

    I’ll have to check out that link!

    I also love the Louise Penny series, although I’ve only read Still Life and A Fatal Grace so far.

    Thanks for sharing…and enjoy your week. Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  5. You have been very busy! I am drawn to the Sherry Thomas book and will look out for it. Yes the Bridgerton books were great and hard for others to come up to that standard. Grace Burrowes has been a hit or miss read with me.

    Like

  6. I didn’t know you could do a DNF shelf on Goodreads, so that’s good to know! And the Gamache novel sounds good, I like the sound of the Quebec setting. I may have to look into those.

    Like

  7. I am such a fan of cozies! The ones you mention all look good, especially the yarn shop ones. I also love M.C. Beaton, although I have only read the Hamish Macbeth series. Thanks for the information about the DNF shelf too; I have always wondered how to do that!

    Like

  8. Oooh – thanks for the handy DNF guide. That’s good to know! I’ve only had one so far in that category, but I hated filing it as ‘read’ since that was a lie although I did spend a while slogging over it. 😉

    I want to try A Study In Scarlet Women and I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed it. I really hope you’re enjoying Breath of Fire!! Can’t wait to see/hear your thoughts.

    Like

  9. Thank you for so much info and good book reviews! Love the re-read feature as I have several series I want to re-read such as Jan Karon’s Mitford series and Little House on the Prairie. I just finished Still Life which is the Louise Penny book you referred to and is book #1. I think Fatal Grace is book #2 which I want to read next. We’ll be reading them together! Great cozy mysteries I put on my ‘want to read’ list.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

