It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Gung Hay Fat Choy, Gong Xi Fa Cai, Xin Nin Kuai Le. Another lunar year has passed and the Rooster crows its turn. Sorry I have no picturesque ambiance for Chinese New Year this time like last year’s. My orchid from El and a different one from E are not flowering right now but their leaves have been a steady green which makes me think they’re doing well.

So, how was your weekend? I embraced the weekend with open arms, chillaxin’ after the cleaning madness of the past six days – Friday was packed to the gills of last-minute chores. Besides lots of productive and happy knitting, the written word and I had some QT.

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

I have finished a third and fourth audiobook for 2017. Into the Gauntlet and Vespers Rising are the last two books of The 39 Clues series. I enjoyed listening to both while my needles created sock and sweater fabrics. The intensity of the race heated up further in book ten with guns and explosions. The last book is more of a prequel that explains past ancestors and then goes back to the sibling duo to open the doors for the first of the spin-off series. By the end of the last chapter of Vespers Rising, I was intrigued about the first spin-off; originally, I was going to stop but with my curiosity now piqued, I’ll revisit Amy and Dan after a break. Four stars for each.

fire

I loved A Promise of Fire. It’s an adult fantasy series that came to my attention because of Kathryn (The Book Date). I am so glad I checked it out on Goodreads. Mahalo, Kathryn.

The entertaining magic was unique for me. As a huge fan of Greek mythology, I loved how the gods were incorporated in a different sort of way. I like being transported to another civilization of where there’s people of color. I usually read on and off – at dinner or for about an hour before I turn out the lights. Every time I picked up my Kindle, I was sucked back into the plot.
I gave this book four stars. I look forward to reading more of the series. I’m on the hold list for book two.

Do you return an ebook right away or wait for the system to quietly grab it back after its digital loan has expired? After Patty (Books, Thoughts, and a Few Adventures) had made a point in this post, I’ve been more courteous by returning my Kindle book immediately after I’ve rated it so the next anxious reader in line can get it, LOL.

What the Crew’s Reading:

  1. The husband is still reading Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School by John Medina.
  2. The tween now has the Kindle app on her iPad, enabling her to go digital; she is reading Tumbled by Caela Carter.
  3. My Boo Boo is still making her way through The Cupcake Diaries by Coco Simon; she is currently on Emma All Stirred Up! (#7).

Currently Reading:

  1. The Trouble with Dukes (Windham Brides #1) by Grace Burrowes
  2. A Fatal Grace: A Chief Inspector Garmache Novel (Chief Inspector Armand Garmache #2) by Louise Penny

Have a good Monday and happy reading to you!

14 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. For me it’s just getting rid of the book, too. I just like clearing a finished book from my shelves. Your week end sounded lovely…we had one like that, too…we cooked a sheetpan supper roast chicken with tiny little mustardy potatoes, read, chatted, and stayed cozy and warm. We even had a little bit of snow! Have a great week!

    Like

  2. I’ve had some trouble getting into books in the last couple weeks, every book I start doesn’t end up interesting me enough to keep going 😦 I made it over half way through Couple Next Door before stopping. But, I am about to start a novella by Kelley Armstrong today, Lost Souls. I think it should be good 🙂
    I’m going to have my daughter check out the Cupcake Diaries, I looked them up and I think they’d be something she’d enjoy, she’s not a big reader so finding things for her can be hard.

    Like

    • My nine year old is really enjoying those Cupcake Diaries. The tween used to but has moved on. What a bummer to keep hitting DNF books. I recently ran into one and am happy to have learned how to create a better DNF shelf.

      Like

      • That’s a good question. I need to pay more attention to the nationality of the authors. I have been reading a lot of books by non-Americans… The fast simple mysteries (cozy novels) tend to be American, and some of my old American novelists are now so violent I’ve given up on them.

        Like

  3. Happy lunar new year! I was looking at my forecast for the year and it was mixed, so that made me nervous lol. I usually return an ebook as soon as it’s done although at first I didn’t know how. Lol don’t laugh! And glad your reads were good!

    Like

    • That sounds like an interesting read. Mahalo for the new year wishes. I wish you and your loved ones a prosperous and happy year of the Rooster that’s full of good health.

      Like

  4. I absolutely love A Promise of Fire and could barely put it down! Breath of Fire was great for me too.

    I have to say I hadn’t really thought about returning digital loans but now you have me thinking that I need to be more aware and make sure I do return them when I’m done with them! Thanks for pointing that out.

    Sorry I’ve taken so long to get back around to everyone this week! But I hope you’re having a good one!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

