It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Aloha on what’s supposed to be the last wet day in the Bay Area for a while. My weather app has a little cloud with a lightning bolt on it; I have yet to hear thunder. It had only occurred once last week and boy was it like a sonic boom! One of the trees at Jellybean’s school had gotten hit and became slanted.

So how was your weekend? Low key here as usual since I accomplished a good amount of crafting – cards and knitting – this week. Our ohana did manage to venture out during the rainy weather to BJ’s Brewhouse Saturday for a late lunch/early dinner. Jellybean had received two weeks ago a Certificate of Appreciation from the PE teacher; he liked how she listened to and how she followed instructions immediately. The teacher would tell her class if they wanted to know what to do, to look at what she was doing. So the nine-year old got a complimentary kid’s meal of chicken tenders. Our server took the paper to get it signed off by her manager. He sweetly came over, congratulated Jellybean, and told our baby to keep up the good work. My daughter also received a matching pin! She was quite pleased.

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

beekeeper

Well, I’ve finally managed to finish some reading this week like this Kindle book, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes #1) by Laurie R. King. In it, a teenaged girl named Mary Russell meets in the country the famous and retired Sherlock Holmes. She becomes his protégée as she grows up into young adulthood.

What an interesting take on incorporating Sherlock Holmes and keeping his spirit alive in book form by a female author. You know I love a strong-minded female protagonist. I thoroughly enjoyed his tutelage and the development of Mary. Their adventures together were entertaining and engrossing. I’m glad I finally read this mystery. It’s a series I plan to continue! Four stars.

 

While waiting for another audiobook to come into my turn, I checked out Jane Austen’s Persuasion. It was okay. I felt compared to Pride and Prejudice – my favorite work of Jane – things got rushed toward the end followed by a whole slew of explaining. So I gave this classic two stars on Goodreads.

Currently Reading

  1. A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker’s Chronicles #1) by Amanda Bouchet

Currently Listening To

  1. Into the Gauntlet (The 39 Clues #10) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

I’m going to take a break from this post right now (1:07 p.m.) as I’m going to wait for the dames to be home to ask them what are they reading now. In the meantime, I’m off to listen to my latest audiobook and to work on my Wuv, Tru, Wuv: The Second Annual Valentine’s Day Mini Swap partner’s gift that Knit Equals Joy is hosting right now.

Alrighty, I’m back (3.22 p.m.). 

What the Crew’s Reading

  1. The husband is reading Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School by John Medina.
  2. Tween keiki has no book to read and needs to raid the library.
  3. 4th grader keiki has been rereading all of her favorite series – Junie B. Jones, Dork Diaries, Dumb Diaries, Ever After High, and The Wimpy Kid – since winter break. Now she’s digging into the Cupcake Diaries series, currently on the third installment, Emma on Thin Icing by Coco Simon.

Well, all that I wanted is covered in this book post. I hope your Monday is going well and that the rest of your week will too. Happy Reading.

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    • You may like the Mary Russell one. I’m glad to have gotten three of Jane Austen’s works under my reading belt. I liked Sense and Sensibility besides loving Pride and Prejudice. Later on in the future will be Emma; I have seen though the Gwenyth Paltrow movie version which I enjoyed.

      Like

  1. Oh lots of craft is great. You are so clever at the knitting, I always have a peek at what you have been doing when you share it. Will be interested to see what you think of A Promise of Fire when you have finished.

    Like

  2. I think I have fallen behind on the Mary Russell series, and may have missed the one or two most recent ones. I’ve listened to them all on audio, and loved them. Am not much of a mystery reader or historical fiction reader, so I think it’s the characters that I like so much!

    Like

  3. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice is on my to read list. I have read a couple of other books that incorporate Sherlock Holmes and I really like them, so I hope this is a good one too 🙂

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

