The Other Craft, VIII

(._.) ( l: ) ( .-. ) ( :l ) (._.) Hi there. I feel like I just got off a Tilt-a-Whirl. After a leisurely morning, I dove into scrubbing down the bathrooms. Chinese New Year starts next Saturday so I’m taking it slow and making it a point to do some cleaning every day.

My how the week flies by fast. I meant to post during the week but then I’d forget as it’d end up being nighttime so, I’d tell myself to do it the next day. January has keeping me busy. Three bins of cardmaking supplies along with two bags have been sitting behind me all month.

christmas-2016-thank-you-cards

I. Christmas Thank You Cards

Remember when I created this card with those wonderful vintage cameras? Along with this set, I had bought this doily one because Michael’s was having a terrific sale of 50% off of all stamps.

I also haven’t used my ombre of green ink pads very often nor the matching paper so when I was designing the thank you card for the girls’ Christmas gifts, these particular supplies came to mind.

Prior to the start of these cards, I practiced my embossing which I haven’t done in a very long while. My colored powders didn’t come out well so I did the following: stamp the sentiment in Black Soot, cleaned off the stamp, inked it in embossing ink, sprinkled the embossing powder, tapped it off, and heated it up to melt the powder and give the sentiment an iridescent shine. Nine of these cards were made.

Paper

  1. Recollections Cardstock Paper – Feathered Greens & White

Stamps

  1. Inkadinkado – Decorative Doilies
  2. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Stamps and Adhesive Stencil – Occasions

Ink

  1. Colorbox Pigment – Green, Fresh Green, Moss Green, & Iris
  2. Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette
  3. Recollections – Embossing Pad & Refill

Embellishment

  1. Embossing Arts Co. Embossing Powder – Iridescent Peacock

uncle-j-bday

II. Uncle J’s Birthday Card

Last year I just made birthday cards for my L92 peeps and PTA homegirl. This year I am determined to add ohana.

My Uncle J is the first birthday that comes up on the calendar. Here I tried the concept of motion by stamping those rabbit brothers in different colors – Vintage Photo, Hickory Smoke, & Black Soot – to mimic motion.

Paper

  1. Recollections Cardstock Paper – Cream
  2. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty
  3. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections

Stamps

  1. Inkadinkado – (rabbit brothers) & Happy Everything

Ink

  1. Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette

twins-bday-cards

III. The Twins’ Birthday Cards

You know two my of L92 Peeps are fraternal twins, yeah? I apologize for this okay photo. I had taken this with my phone and because I had finished these cards at night, I immediately sealed them up in their envelopes, forgetting to take a picture with the Canon.

Paper

  1. Recollections Cardstock Paper- Cream & Purple Passion

Stamps

  1. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set – Birthday
  2. Inkadinkado – Express Yourself

Ink

  1. Colorbox Archival Dye – Deep Grape

Embellishments

  1. Darice Baker’s Twine
  2. DAISO JAPAN Print Buttons

Technique Used

  1. Layered Panels

english-pen-pal-2

IV. Pen Pal Card

Occasionally a book blogger whom I’m unfamiliar with will check out my Monday book post. Colletta happened to stop by one day and while curiously checking out her blog, I discovered she was organizing a Pen Pal Sign Up for 2017. I thought since cardmaking was now added to my list, it’d be fun to have a pen pal!

So I recently sent this card off to Barbara in North Wales. I do hope it arrives safely!

Paper

  1. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty
  2. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  3. Recollections Cardstock Paper- Cream
  4. American Crafts Crate Paper – Maggie Holmes Paper Pad, Emily Jane

Embellishments

  1. Darice Baker’s Twine
  2. Recollections Wooden Buttons
  3. DAISO JAPAN Lace Tape

Technique Used

  1. File Folder
  2. Paper flower petals made via Recollections 2.5″ Circle Punch

aunty-e-bday

And last but not least…

V. Aunty E’s Birthday Card

Paper

  1. core’dinations Premium Cardstock – Krafty
  2. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  3. Recollections Cardstock Paper- White & Cape Cod

Stamps

  1. Inkadinkado – (birthday balloons)
  2. Hampton Art Vintologie Clear Acrylic Stamp Stencil Set – Birthday
  3. Stampin’ Up – Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Hampton Art Pigment Ink – white
  2. Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette

Embellishments

  1. Celebrate It Ribbon

I get great joy out of creating cards. I really love getting feedback. My mum ꒰˘̩̩̩⌣˘̩̩̩๑꒱ is always the first one to let me know she’s received one; most of these recipients have let me known also. My Aunty E recently expressed how much it means to her to get a thank you card and how she loves each one’s presentation. Well, I believe I covered all of January’s cards. I hope I inspire you in some way to send a card to someone for any reason. The thought gesture goes a long way. Enjoy the rest of your Saturday.

 

10 thoughts on “The Other Craft, VIII

    • Hi Kathy. You can buy sets of blank cards and envelopes. If you’re going to do some cardstock layering then you would need some kind of paper trimmer. The one I use has a little blade that slides. My neighbor gave it to me but you can use a Michael’s or JoAnn’s coupon to get a really good deal on a Fiskars one.

      Like

  1. Those are amazing cards and thank you for listing all the ‘ingredients’….lol! I want to do this but I just can’t ri ght now with trying to get the house on the market come Spring. You do such a beautiful job and all the different styles and techniques show how talented you are!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Year of Projects, Week 30 | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  4. Pingback: Post VIII: What’s cookin’ good looking? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

