It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Aloha. Did you sleep in this morning or are you already off to another holiday celebration with other ohana? Our ohana got in late from the Kalikimaka get together up in the city. What a joyous time all of us had. My mum, ever so thoughtful of others, invited a few others whom we don’t see very often. One was my younger cousin who usually kicks it in Southern Cal. I really missed him. I’ll do a Christmas post later as I’m waiting for my brother and SIL to have time to take photos of their handknitted presents.

With this being the last official week of December, I wanted to use it to wrap up whatever I have left of this year, one being the weekly book post. So, linkin’ up with Kathryn

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

There has been light reading since finishing that labyrinth of a tale, Winter. I needed a change of pace especially with the stress of Christmas prep,

follycove

Folly Cove is to me chick lit. I don’t know why someone categorized it as young adult as the trio of sisters in this book are over 30. I spotted this book in the New Fiction section at a library haul.

You have Laura, Anne, and Elly who grew up with a unaffectionate mother who was warmer towards her inn guests at Folly Cove than them. Each daughter has her own baggage, as her personal life is full of issues, some with a sibling. While planning their mum’s upcoming birthday the locked away problems spill out from the closet causing dust to fly and are then dealt with.

I enjoyed this read. No ohana is perfect and I liked how each woman had her own personality and lifestyle. It was interesting to learn a bit about their different professions. The plot was realistic and traveled a steady pace. The characters were always intertwined. Four stars.

familytree

I wanted to read more of Susan Wiggs’s work so I grabbed this book at the library. Family Tree is a thick book. It has you start out in the present and time to time a chapter will take you to the past like a flashback. Each is clearly labeled so there’s no confusion.

I went for a nice, reading ride with this one, Each chapter flowed and nothing was left out. I got a glimpse into the LA whirlwind of daytime shows and into the fascinating process of how we get our maple syrup. I even got to step into the world of rehab. It felt like I was walking a mile in Annie Harlow’s shoes.

However, while I had wanted to give this book a minimum of four stars, it soon felt like a roller coaster plunging down to its end. I like the conclusion of the storyline but the mad dash to the finish line irked me. I was like with all of this steady pacing of Annie’s life why was it suddenly rushed to finish the book? So three stars for this read.

After the Wiggs book, I tried reading Uprooted by Naomi Novik. It was interesting as it had an Old World feel to it which was kind of interesting but in the end, I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t have the patience to plow more into the book to give it a further chance. It made me think of Rasputin and Anastasia besides Gargamel of The Smurfs. With the holiday looming ahead, I wasn’t in the mood for this book and didn’t want to waste my time. Therefore it went on my DNF shelf.

duke

I am always game to try a new-to-me historical romance author. Lorraine Heath didn’t disappoint. The series, The Hellions of Havisham, may have been mentioned on one of your blogs; I’m sorry, I can’t remember. But I was happy to find the first book, Falling into Bed with a Duke, in my library’s database.

The intentions of this plot was different and a pleasant change for me. Miss Minerva Dodger has no need to seek a rich husband of the ton. Her father has provided her with a large dowry. However, this young lady’s independent ways of speaking her mind and of keeping abreast of intellectual topics of the world puts off suitors. Her status is “on the shelf” as they said in that time. Miss Dodger doesn’t care. No one has caught her interest after six seasons and so she decides to take certain matters into her own hands.

I appreciated the spirit of this young woman who was thoroughly supported by her own parents who were different from the norm in this type of society. I liked her bluntness as I’m like that. I liked how the Duke of Ashebury saw the sliver lining in her that others couldn’t. The plot did get a little sticky at one point which I felt was a bit flimsy but everything concluded up very well. I was pleased with how it all worked out. Three stars.

 What the Ohana’s Reading

  1. Big Kahuna is reading The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell & Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder by Nassim Nicholas Taleb.
  2. Tween keiki is reading Can’t Look Away by Donna Cooner.
  3. Boo Boo keiki is reading Fairy’s Got Talent (Ever After High: A School Story #4) by Suzanne Selfors.

On the Nightstand

  1. Born of Night (The League #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon
  2. The Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown

Well, with The Piano Bar playlist on and my Chocolate Macaroon tea, I’m off to add my link to Kathryn’s page and then work on more posts for the rest of 2016. Have a good 26th and happy reading.

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Wonderful book review! Is that Susan Albert Wiggs? I love her Beatrix Potter mysteries and I have a China Bayles mystery I want to read. I’ve never seen that one but it sounds really good. I have so many books on my nightstand it might be a while before I get to it. I’m writing them down on my Never-ending book list! LOL! I have learned that ohana is family but I thought Christmas was Kalikalikimaka? I’m going by one of my favorite Christmas songs about “the land where palm trees sway”! LOL!

    Like

  2. I love a good Lorraine Heath romance. Must read a bit more from her. I think your statements about Family Affair very valid.
    Love that you are knitting possum, it is very warm and light. I know an elderly lady from Australia who buys possum cardigans when she comes over here. In Australia the possum is protected. Here it is a complete nuisance and we rue the day someone imported them from our neighbours across the Tasman. They destroy our trees and bird life. They adapted to life here far too well. They run rampant. However their fur is cosy!

    Like

  3. Hope you had wonderful holidays and a good reading week ahead. A piano bar playlist sounds pretty good… I tried Uprooted also and couldn’t get very far, it just didn’t appeal at all.

    Have a great week!

    Like

  4. Looks like you got some great holiday reading in! I was bummed to discover that I had left the book I was reading at my parent’s house after Christmas, but I got some new books for Christmas, so hopefully they will be great reads!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

