The Other Craft VII + Gift Knitting II

Brrr! Past knitted projects have been handy as it’s hella cold for us Bay Area natives, especially those of us in the east bay. I’m so lazy with my hair that I just wear yarny headbands. Boy do I need to make more. My one favorite – All about Ami’s Knotted Headband – is gettin’ raggedy. This Christmas I’ll be dressin’ a bit boho rebel so a new one would be perfecto for my little melon noggin’.

Two more days. Two more days! The girls and I are so ready for winter break. Jellybean is itchin’ to sleep in like a hibernatin’ bear cub with these 30° mornings. Thank goodness Wednesday and Thursday will be early dismissals.

So, ya ready for a two-fer? These recently gifted items went out Saturday and yesterday.

As you had read in the last post, our crew drove up to my brother’s house to celebrate my niece’s and nephew’s December birthdays. M turned four. Man, I remember this girl coming over hours after being released from the hospital on Christmas Eve four years ago. She was a happy girl having her cousins to play with, especially Jellybean. We oinked out on good ol’ Chinese chow – fried drummettes, chow mein, chow fun, chow fan, har gao, shumai, & dan tat! I got to pack leftovers for the next day; what a treat!

img_5955

For the birthday girl’s card, I purposely used colors from the Disney show, Doc Mcstuffins and Sofia the First. Previously, my niece loved the first show; she has the doctor kit and white lab coat. Then like most girls, M got into princesses.

Paper

  1. Recollections Cardstock Paper from the packs of Pink Buttons, Soda Pop, & Cream
  2. It’s hard to see but I stamped confetti onto the main card (light blue) in white.

Stamps

  1. Stampin Up Party with Cake

Ink

  1. Colorbox Pigment Ink – Orchid & Lavender
  2. craft smart Ink Pad – LIght Blue

Embellishment

  1. Offray Ribbon

Technique Used

  1. Masking for the cake and candle

For my little nephew I wanted to make a masculine card that was still childlike. I saw this card on Pinterest and thought about what I had and went from there:

img_5954

Paper

  1. True Story 6″ x 6″ Paper Pad by Recollections
  2. core’dinations Premium Cardstock in Krafty
  3. Recollections Cardstock Paper – Cool Water

Stamps

  1. Inkadinkado (rabbits)
  2. A B Seas Alphabet Stamps by Authentic Models

Ink

  1. Colorbox Archival Dye, Full Size – Moody Blue
  2. Hampton Art Pigment Ink Pad – White

Punch

  1. a mini balloon punch passed along to me by my neighbor

And now we get to Jellybean’s fourth grade teacher.

 

img_5961

She loves the outdoors so I thought a pair of fingerless mitts would be perfect for her. Now I usually knit or crochet for a teacher near the end of the year, but since it’s cold now, I thought she’d get some good use out of such a gift.

Pattern

  1. Make-us-in-One-evening-With-a-great-movie-Mitts by The French Touch

Project Name

  1. For Her Hikes

Yarn

  1. Malabrigo Yarn Rios
  2. Blue Sky Fibers Worsted Cotton

Colorways

  1. Purple Mystery
  2. Aloe

There is a transition of color from purple to aloe. When I looked at this pattern’s past projects, I noticed many had a jog. You know I like to eliminate a color jog when something is crafted in the round (a spiral). So I used Needle Noodles’s tutorial.

img_5963

I think the technique worked well, don’t you?

The only modification I did was crochet the aloe section a bit longer so it covered up the bottom third of my fingers.

And with a gift, of course there was a card:

I wanted to use my new #TAJHonolulu stamp that traveled over from Oahu this past summer. Mahalo Mum! I’m sure glad I had bought this themed paper at the Carrie’s workshop to go with my collection.

Card Sketch

  1. SC259

Paper

  1. By the Shore Designer Series Paper
  2. Recollections Cardstock Paper – Cream

Stamps

  1. TAJ Honolulu
  2. A B Seas Alphabet Stamps by Authentic Models

Ink

  1. Colorbox Archival Dye, Full Size – Moody Blue

Color Pencils

  1. PrismaColor Scholar

Punch

  1. Martha Stewart Double Punch Sand Dollar

Thank you for kickin’ it with me today. I hope you enjoyed today’s cards. I’m glad you had fun seeing baby K in his beanies in the last post. Some of you expressed how good it feels when a recipient sends pictures of the item(s) being worn; I totally concur. Well, tomorrow’s my last volunteer day of 2016. I need to take off and bake some cookies for Jellybean’s school librarian.

ヾ(๑╹ヮ╹๑)ノ” TTYL!

8 thoughts on “The Other Craft VII + Gift Knitting II

  1. There is so much awesome in this post. The cards are beautiful – the orchid and blue inks are so lovely – and the fingerless mitts are looking so cheerful and warm. I will have to try crochet one day. So many loving details here.

    Like

  2. Gorgeous cards, they look so detailed, so much more impressive than anything you can buy in a store! And I love those crocheted mitts.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

