It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Aloha! ヾ(๑╹ꇴ◠๑)ノ” I realize it’s been three weeks since my last book post. It’s trippy how time flies especially when I’m card crafting. Jellybean and I mailed off the most recent cards Friday. I didn’t make the pick up time but I’m sure they’re safely on their way to Madison.

2016-12-10-11-26-06

So how was your weekend? Our ohana had a lovely time up in Novato. The kids got to play with one another. My Kahuna got to relax, eat, and nap. BTW, I’m so glad he came along with us and that we have our little CR-V. It was raining in our part of the east bay so highway conditions were a bit scary as visibility was like that. Mahalo, honey, for keeping us safe. I love you.

My peeps and I of course gabbed all day long, catching up on the last 15 months since our last get-together. One of them left by the evening and the other three stayed until 10. All throughout Sunday morning, E and I fell in love with our hosts’ German Shepherd (E’s favorite breed). I was worried about how Finny would react when we let ourselves into the house for breakfast as she is a professionally trained canine by a retired policeman who breeds and sells them. But there were no worries as she is such a good dog. Finny sniffed us many times and kept looking for any of her pack. She knows her house boundaries. I was amazed at her sleek frame and muscular legs. Finny is 65 lbs; I can’t imagine an 85 lb male. The husband knew just where to scratch her which she loved. When we got home yesterday, we missed her.

Linkin’ up with Kathryn

 

So how’s the reading going? I’ve finished three books since we last met up on Monday. Ready for the line up?

cahill

One of you was reading this series. After reading its synopsis on Goodreads, I added it to my TBR. I have a soft spot for witches. I think it stems back to the days of reading Anne Rice’s The Witching Hour. Plus, I’ve always been intrigued about the Salem witch trials although it’s hard for me to read the hardcore nonfiction data on it.

When I started Born Wicked, I was dreading the characters would be too young in behavior for me. However, my inner apprehension was for naught. I was sucked into the story which takes place after the witch trials. I thought about how would it feel to be around 16 years old and having to live in a strict, hierarchical society where being smart and independent is frowned upon and where you’re expected to look pretty, follow society’s social decorum, and be obedient to a brotherhood of hypocritical, religious men. Oh boy did I feel sorry for Cate who didn’t fit neatly into the mold of what was expected at that time. The author wrote well of her struggles of being a witch, of wanting to live life as she wanted but being forced to conform in order to not have suspicion knocking on her door, and of the ups and downs from trying to conceal her and her sisters’ magical abilities. I was riveted til the end. There are two more books. Four stars.

sirphillip

I thought I would take a long time to finish To Sir Phillip, with Love, simply because I had started it as an in-between one when my stack of library books was depleted. However, it was a nice change to read time to time.

Internally, I wasn’t sure how this plot was going to measure up to its predecessors. I got a glimpse into the momentous occasion of this fifth child of the Bridgertons in book four. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised! The yin and yang of the couple was an entertaining mix. Their backwards courtship is interesting and like a child learning how to ride a bike. Throw on top of that the antics of the mischievous, fraternal twins of Sir Phillip. I do love it when children are included in the storyline. Julia Quinn portrays them realistically and boy they are a lot of fun. Four stars.

winter

By the time I got to Winter, the last installment in The Lunar Chronicles, my reading slowed down. When I saw online how I had 11 days to finish it, I picked up speed.

I’m really glad I had the Kindle version of this book because oh boy it was like the Energizer bunny going through a bloody labyrinth. This would have been a thick hard copy to tote around. The author didn’t make it easy for the heroines and heroes in this series to go from Point A to Point B. There were so many twists and turns! Just when I thought a problem would lead to something victorious, another danger would pop up and the path would go in a different direction, something I wouldn’t expect. Also, the violence and bloodshed in Winter is beyond what I’ve experienced before in a fantasy series. This series is definitely worth reading. Three stars.

What the Ohana’s Reading

  1. The nine-year old is reading Winter Wonders (Cupcake Cousins #3) by Kate Hannigan & illustrated by Brooke Boynton Hughes + Mr. Tony is Full of Baloney (My Weird School Daze #1) by Dan Gutman.
  2. The tween is reading Every Day After by Laura Golden + Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff
  3. The husband is reading Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell.

Currently Reading

  1. Folly Cove by Holly Robinson

On the Nightstand

  1. The Great Christmas Knit-Off by Alexandra Brown
  2. Falling into Bed with a Duke by Lorraine Heath
  3. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  4. Born of Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon
  5. First Star I See Tonight by Susan Phillips
  6. Family Tree by Susan Wiggs

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. We have a german shep in the family. My sister the veterinarian’s QUetzl (rhymes with pretzel) She is the dearest sweetest girl who is always on alert! WE just love her. Im to get her in the unlikely and unfortunate event that something happens to my sis. Im so honored. I love a well trained dog!

    Like

  2. You finally enticed me into getting my read on for Cinder when I saw you powering through the series, though not sure now that I want to get to Cinder! You have some fab books on your nightstand.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a wonderful dog, and nice that he is so trained as to be watchful but not too aggressive. Glad you had a good visit and a nice few weeks. 🙂 We’re in the deep freeze up here in the north, hope your weather is better (I suspect it is!).

    Like

  4. my reading has taken a back seat compared to all the knitting I’ve been doing around here. I want to read more but I have deadlines to adhere to! Still reading commonwealth and Alexander Hamilton.

    Like

  5. Finny sounds like a great dog! There’s a german sheperd at our local dog park and she’s just massive 85 pounds…she tops out at being larger than the males that go to the park and she keeps them in line. I love shepherds, and we were thinking of one when we were looking for a new dog. We wanted a bigger breed as we had a big female golden retriever (80lbs) but didn’t want another golden…instead we got our pint sized (50lb) siberian husky/border collie cross. Its still so weird to have such a “small” dog. lol. Glad you enjoyed Born Wicked!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

