It’s Monday! What are you reading?

*sips (^-^)_日 tea* Ah. Chores are done. My wonderful husband took care of our bellies with some Mountain Mike’s pizza. Now I can sit and relax, sippin’ my Chocolate Macaroon. A couple of weeks ago, I took a ride out to David’s Tea on University Avenue. I purposely went when they opened because I remembered from driving past back in February there was a lot of traffic. However, I did see lots of neighborhood parking on my way home. Anywho, I treated myself to three, loose leaf teas (Birthday Cake and organic Cream of Earl Grey besides the one mentioned above) and a box of green tea sachets. How fine David’s Tea is. I love it!

cress

I’ve been zoomin’ along reading The Lunar Chronicles. I didn’t want to forget what happened with the previous books so I’ve been reading them one after the other.

Right before Thanksgiving I finished book three, Cress. With this fractured version of Rapunzel, I meet Cress – the technological hacker for the Lunar queen who’s spent years on a satellite all by herself. Her path eventually crosses with Cinder and the other characters. I like how the rebellious group wasn’t always together which kept the plot interesting and moving. The action (hand-to-hand combat, blood, and Lunar mind tricks) continued on in this third installment. I thought this was the last book but when I hit that final paragraph, I was like what?! I then realized there’s a fourth and final book, LOL!

Four stars from me for this one. I can’t wait to find out what happens in the end of this series.

charlotte

I’ve been in the mood for a mystery as Katherine reads a lot of Agatha Christie. I faintly recalled how someone wrote a book about some famous character’s niece. I thought maybe there was one about a relation of Agatha’s but then Patty showed what she finished recently in this post and the light bulb went on! Thanks, Patty, for helping me satisfy my wondering inquiry.

A Study in Charlotte has the teenage members of Watson and Holmes (the two families had grown apart) meet up for the first time in a Connecticut boarding school. Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson bond as they become targets of a vengeful killer who wants them framed.

I found it a bit awkward on how these two teenagers were brought together but this is a YA book after all. Once that hump was gotten over I started to enjoy where the story was going. Charlotte is the complicated one with vices Jamie tries to understand. I liked this representation of the Holmes side as it could be easily assumed an author would automatically make the Holmes character male. I look forward to reading the next installment as I feel this first one is a warm up to a great pairing. Three stars.

What the Ohana’s Reading

  1. Jellybean tried out a new series – Clueless Magee – that was supposed to be like The Wimpy Kid books, but it was a DNF. At the dinner table she reads Frank Einstein and the evoblaster belt by John Scieszka and in her room, she’s starting Dog eat dog (Just Jake #2) by Jake Marcionette. Can you tell my baby is a fan of books that have hand-drawn illustrations in them? They usually have a certain type of spine that I look for in the aisles when we look for books.
  2. Cupcake reads at dinner, Paris for Two by Phoebe Stone, and while in her room, The Education of Ivy Blake by Eileen Airgood. This tween is a fan of realistic fiction.
  3. The husband treated himself to a Kindle Paperwhite as he’d rather lug that around than a paperback. He loaded up on Kindle books on Overdrive. My man finished that nonfiction about Sony and is now reading How Google Works by Eric Schmidt and Jonathan Rosenberg.

Currently Reading

  1. Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #1) by Jessica Spotswood
  2. Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer
  3. [on the backburner for now] To Sir Phillip, with Love (The Bridgertons #5) by Julia Quinn

On the Nightstand

[from a recent library haul]

  1. Holly Cove by Holly Robinson
  2. Family Tree by Susan Wiggs
  3. First Star I See Tonight by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
  4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Before I sign off just wanted to say thank you for the tips that are trickling in on where to stick the thermometer in the turkey, as mentioned in What’s cookin’ good looking? Today I found this Pinterest link of The Kitchn which clearly shows one way to do it. I’m thinkin’ it’d be good to also do that with a 5 lb chicken.

Okie doke. Have a good Monday. I hope it’s a quiet and mellow one as we’re all going to be zombies after Thanksgiving break. Bye and TTYL.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Birthday Cake tea? How awesome is that! I need to refill my tea coffers, we are running low. I have a hard time breaking from my mint tea – I love it.

    I loved the Cahill sisters books!

    A Study in Charlotte sounds good! I just added it to my library holds!! Have a great week. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh I just have to get on to those Marissa Meyer books, so long since they have been on my radar, but never gotten there. Four stars from you is very significant!! It is good to read them close together isn’t it so that can keep up with characters etc.

    Like

  3. I don’t know anything about Mountain Mike’s Pizza but with a name like that, it sounds good! Ha ha and I’m totally a zombie after Thanksgiving breal! Ate too much!

    Have a super week. 🙂

    Like

  4. Reading is FUN and MENTAL, ha, see what I did there? I am reading The Teenage Brain and Harry Potter. I think they manage to balance each other out.

    The Kid is reading The Symphony for the City of the Dead, He’s going to try Agatha Christie next, Murder in the Caribbean.

    The husband is reading financial aid papers, ha!

    Like

  5. I love that reading is a family past time for you all! My two guys are more into computer games and movies. Right now, I’m rereading Persuasion by Jane Austin. Just saw the wonderful BBC version of it.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

