It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

*cups hands around mouth* Hello! Anyone out there? If you’re reading this Sunday-prepped post right when it’s published, you must be on another continent as it’s in the wee hours of the morn. When I drag myself out from my cozy, flannel sheets later on this Monday, I’m probably going to be running around a bit. Although we’re not getting together with immediate family for Thanksgiving, I still wanted to get a turkey and maybe make stuffing during the week for our crew. Trader Joe’s will be my go-to for ingredients. I hope to also get in a power walk before the afternoon.

cormorant

It’s a quick post today as I’ve only finished this Overdrive Listen book recently. Robert Galbraith, as you know, is an alias for J.K. Rowling. Her first adult book after finishing the Harry Potter series, Casual Vacancy, was met with very mixed reactions. I didn’t read it as what I had read from book bloggers I trust, wasn’t favorable. However this new mystery series of Cormorant Strike is popular so I decided to give it a go and I needed a new audiobook to keep me company while I knitted.

Cormorant Strike is hired to reinvestigate a murder that was ruled as suicide. I felt like I was on that journey with him bit by bit as he had to track down ppl who knew the famous model and find out everything he could about what happened before, during, and after. This private detective is thorough and smart. The man is flawed and is having a hell of a time in his personal life. The characters he encounters are real. There is a lot of profanity in this book. I usually listened to it when my daughters were in their rooms. To me, it seemed there was a long list of possible suspects. I pegged a few as the possible murderers but in the end, I was totally wrong! I felt I had a Homer Simpson moment – doh! And let me tell you, everything is not brought to conclusion quick style. It is step by step by step by step. I stayed up last night listening to the last two chapters and epilogue.

Three stars. I will read the second installment of the series in the future. Rowling did a good job with this Cormorant Strike character besides on her latest movie, “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”. Good job, J.K.! Loved the movie and want to buy the DVD to add to our HP collection.

The fourth grader is reading Ellie McDoodle: Most Valuable Player by Ruth McNally Barshaw. This is a new series we found at our library; its format is similar to The Dork Diaries series, one that she loves besides The Wimpy Kid one. The moody tween is reading My Basmati Bat Mitzvah by Paula J. Freedman along with about four other books. She may be conked out right now as I’m typing. The husband is reading Sony by John Nathan after finishing up Boomerang: Travels in the New Third World by Michael Lewis.

Currently…

  1. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
  2. A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes #1) by Brittany Cavallaro
  3. To Sir Phillip with Love (Bridgertons #5) by Julia Quinn

On the Nightstand

  1. Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #1) by Jessica Spotswood – I have a soft spot for witches.

I hope you’re making time for the written word in any format. A quick thank you to my fellow crafters in the last post who think the second tonal skein of Grapefruit is fine where it is in my jumper. You’ve fanned down my irritation. Have a good Monday.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Hello back! By now you are probably thoroughly engaged in your errands, and I hope everything goes smoothly.

    Those flannel sheets sound good, which reminds me: I don’t have any! Time to shop. Although I also need to shop for some clothes this week, too.

    Enjoy your books…The Cuckoo’s Calling does sound good. Thanks for sharing!

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to start the Cormorant Strike series but I’ve been holding off for fear she’ll end it and we’ll have to wait years for her to publish something new. Silly right? I hope your next read is better than this. I see you have Born Wicked (Heard its amazing) on your list. Let me know what you think of it when your done?
    Happy reading Stephanie!
    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

    Like

  3. I so want to read the Cuckoo’s Calling, I’ve heard good things and we actually own them- my husband really likes the series. I enjoyed you review if it!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

