A Year of Projects, Week 21

yop_yr_6_banner_futuristic

Hello. How’re you this Sunday?

Life is good right now. Our Thanksgiving break (Cupcake and Jellybean have all of next week off and their dad took the week off as well.) is off to a lovely start! Last night the four of us watched “Kubo and the Two Strings” which was good and different in an interesting way. Today, late morning, we hit the matinée showing of (ヾ(◍’౪`◍)ノ゙♡ Loved it!) “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.” After filling up on Korean food, I buzzed my man’s hair and gave him a medium fade. This is why I’m posting late for YOP1617.

Not much progress has been made this week because I’ve been concentrating on finishing the last Christmas sock:

img_5921

You can tel that I’ve knitted more stockinette rounds for the body before waist shaping. After hearing the two cents of a few knitters, I’ve decided I was going to knit six inches instead of seven first and then start waist shaping. I found this blog post during Googling.

However, I just noticed something. Do you see it? I didn’t notice it while I was knitting the additional body rounds, but after taking that photo above just minutes ago, I realized the second skein is showing up different in shade and these skeins are from the same dye lot (◎ ◎)ゞ- ack! From the underarms down is about five inches. There would be another 2.75″ of this skein before colorwork starts. Do I rip some back to incorporate the second skein or should I leave it? ٩(๑`ȏ´๑)۶ Bloody hell, I am not happy about this potential setback.

On a positive note, at least I’m not stressed out right now for Thanksgiving. It’s such a nice change. We are not having the traditional dinner with the Ng’s this year as my parents won’t be back yet. The four of us are having dinner out with the girls’ Ninoong and Ganma, my godsons, and family of the ganma on the peninsula. So next week, I don’t know if I’ll be around. I’d like to take the week off from blogging but may schedule a few posts to bring everything up to date.

Okay; I need my green tea while I ponder in the back of my mind what the heck am I gonna do about Plastic Flamingo on the Lawn. If I don’t pop my head in, to my American readers. Happy Thanksgiving. *gobble gobble* May only laughter and happiness fill this holiday for you and your loved ones and may your belly bulge from oinkin’ out. I’m truly thankful for you all, old and new followers, as it means a lot to me that you take time out of your busy lives to kick it with me here. o(*’▽’*)/☆゚’ Bye!

16 thoughts on “A Year of Projects, Week 21

  1. Have fun with the knitting and the eating out. I am having dinner at my daughter’s in-laws’ home on Thanksgiving…and meeting family at a restaurant on Saturday. I love eating out instead of having to clean up. Enjoy!

    Like

    • Thank you Laurel. I ordered my favorite, Korean dish – haemul pajeon with seafood in it. They got a super nice crisp on it; the plated, fried pancake looked so pretty and my girls chowed down on their dumplings and ramen.

      Like

  2. How frustrating to have two skeins of yarn that are supposed to be the same dye lot, but looks so different. I hope you find a solution that satisfies – and I hope you have a terrific holiday!

    Like

  3. Sounds like you are in for a great week next week. Lovely to have everyone home for the week to share in each others company. That’s quality family time, yes.

    Like

  4. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours:) It sounds like yours will be lovely. I envy your girls and husband having the whole week off.
    We are planning to see Fantastical Beasts as soon as we have a free day to go. I’m glad to hear you loved it.
    Your sweater looks great. I don’t know what to say about the yarn. How do the other skeins look? Will you end up with a dark section around your middle? Maybe you could put the darker one towards the bottom? I know the recommended way to deal with this is to alternate skeins every row or two but that would require ripping back to the beginning. You’ll have to decide what you can live with I guess. Either way the colors are gorgeous:)

    Like

  5. I like the darker color; it looks like a gradient. Although if it’s not what you’re expecting, that could be disconcerting. I do like it, though!

    Like

  6. I just did the same thing with a previous sweater. Sine it bothers you now I recommend ripping back and striping that skein in with another skein. At least you realized it early! I finished knitting the dark skein and was joining the next color when I noticed! I had been knitting the stockinette body while watching movies and finally saw it in direct light!

    Like

  7. I’m sorry to say that opi did notice the colour shift straight away. I guess you need to decide now whether to embrace it or rip. I don’t dislike how it looks, but if the next skein is lighter shade instead of darker then I don’t think I’d like the stripe. Your call.

    I wish my family was open to celebrating holidays with dinner out – so much less stressful and less work. My sister traditionally throws a big family Christmas Supper. She’s having abdominal surgery a week and a half before and is already stressing out.

    Like

  8. OH Stef, I too have had that shading issue. ugh. The only suggestion I have is to go with it and do 20 rows of the darker skein, then do the lighter for 20 rows. IT will end up in bands of shaded color, though so if you don’t want that look, this may not be your answer. HAPPY THANKSGIVING. IM thankful for you!!!!

    Like

  9. Pingback: A Year of Projects, Week 28 | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

