It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Aloha. I’m finding it helps me to prep a post in advance during the weekend for Year of Projects and for It’s Monday! What are you reading? I don’t feel rushed to type it off and I can give each my full attention. Speaking of which, mahalo nui loa for visiting yesterday and for the scarf and beanie love. Accessories, especially handcrafted ones, are what I tend to utilize a lot when it’s cold, scarves or cowls more as my neck can easily catch a chill. Do you prep posts in advance?

I realize I had forgotten to slip in this year’s Halloween:

Man, do you know how much costumes run nowadays? The girls and I had our first jaunt to the Spirit store and costumes were at least $39.99. The tween picked out her Robin Hood costume and afterwards, I thought of Amazon Prime. Thank goodness we found it for a little over half of what Spirit charged. Jellybean got hers from Target. I told them next year, Amazon is where we’ll look. I took them out on Halloween to trick-or-treat. To make my babies happy we hit every block in our neighborhood niche. I turned on my Map My Run app and it said we walked 2.76 miles that night in 1:35:49. Earlier that day I had power walked for about 3 mi. Oh boy were my calves jelly. But the girls were happy and look at how much candy they got!

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Print

cinder

I finished up Cinder by Marissa Meyer about a week ago, using Overdrive’s Listen feature. I love it since I’m always on the laptop catching up on your blogs and knitting while either watching podcasts or listening to an audiobook.

I am so glad I finally “read” this book. I think I had put it off because I didn’t know how I’d take to cyborgs. Anyways, Cinder is a unique read I enjoyed immensely. It’s so different with the droids and technology in that world. Meyer’s take on the classic Cinderella tale is definitely a fractured version with its twists. I wanted more by the time I reached the end. I’m on the waiting list for book two which will be the Kindle version. Four stars.

ebook16

tea

Do you have any particular books slated for this year to read? I do and even had created a shelf on Goodreads but I keep forgetting to pull from that. Every time I read about the books you’re reading, I get curious and check it out. If I like the summary and ratings I’ll look for it on my library’s database.

My original intention was to read a hardcore mystery. However, I got sidetracked by this series: A Tea Shop Mystery. Every time I was checking out the New Fiction section, the latest in that series was on the shelf. I don’t know about you, but I do not like to read a series out-of-order. So I borrowed this Kindle version of book one, Death by Darjeeling.

If you’ve been to tea you know there’s a certain ambiance in a tea room. This book has that feel of proper etiquette and civilized indulgence in baked goods and tea. You know how some of the themes of cozy mysteries are superficial and just in the background? Not in Death by Darjeeling. I really loved learning about tea throughout this read especially since I’m a tea drinker. I didn’t know a blend could be so intricate. I even got it wrong on who the murderer was! The author brought in a good mix of possible suspects and I didn’t expect who it actually was. Three stars and a series I’ll definitely continue.

crows

YA Fantasy is always a welcomed genre. I am constantly drawn to that type of book. Six of Crows was an impulse pick after one of you talked about it.

What a book. I was taken to the past to a different world full of unusual magic. It took me a while to adjust to what was talked about. I think reading beforehand Leigh Bardugo’s other series, The Grisha, might have helped with clarification, but that’s all minor. I enjoyed the multicultural cast of characters and learning about their strengths and weaknesses. Each of them was like a puzzle piece who would only fit with the others into a complete unit. This read certainly has hard edges. Nothing was pretty nor safe. Four stars. Looking forward to the second installment.

Reading Challenges (so far):

I. Foodies Read

Status: 1 – ╭( ・ㅂ・)و fulfills Short Order Cook [1-3 books]

II. Audiobook Challenge

Status: 6 ✧*。٩(ˊᗜˋ*)و✧*。 – Weekend Warrior [5-10 books] reached!

III. Ebook Reading Challenge

Status: 20 – short 30 for Gigabytes [50 ebooks]

Well, I gots me some knittin’ to do. Been tryin’ to make a dent in my NaKniSweMo project as I’m dyin’ ta get to ‘da colorwork section. TTYL. Aloha.

Currently Reading

  1. Prudence (The Custard Protocol #1) by Gail Carriger
  2. (listening to) The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) by Robert Galbraith
20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Man, could I relate to this post. I usually do my YoP update Saturday evening and then just go and post it when I get up Sunday morning. So much easier. I too keep looking at all the books my blogging friends put on their blog. Rightnow i am reading A Man Named Ove. It was on several blog sites. I am also reading Everyday is a Holiday. One is paper and the other is Kindle. Just now starting to listen to podcasts during knitting time. Have a great day, Stephanie.

    Like

  2. Your girls look so cute! I don’t even bother looking at those pop up Halloween stores because they’re always so high! We typically get costumes from Amazon too because the price is so much better. And that is a lot of candy! I see some peanut butter M&Ms that I would have had to take as part of the candy tax! So glad you enjoyed Cinder! I listened to it as well after stalling and really enjoyed it. I liked Scarlet too and I went the print version for that one. Now I just need to get to Cress. Laura Childs is a fun author! It’s been years since I read that series but you have me wanting to get back to it!

    Like

  3. Wow that is some candy haul. I shopped around for the boys costumes.. I found a great deal on amazon for H’s and got lucky on ebay for D’s. While I did not love the final look for D, H’s costume was great..
    I have been a little lazy starting my next book.. it’s probably because the book isn’t sounding as appealing as I thought.. should probably try to pick another.

    Like

  4. I am discovering that Amazon is my go-to spot for all kinds of things, even Coach handbags! And furniture.

    Clicking away brings the best things to my home, although I do have to drive to the mailbox to pick them up. Much better than crowded stores, though.

    Enjoy your reading. I am curious about The Cuckoo’s Calling. Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  5. Oh wow that sure is a Halloween haul and a half! Both girls looking very sweet too. I have had Cinder on my TBR for so long now, I just must get to it. So good to hear you enjoyed it.

    Like

  6. buying Halloween costumes is terrible! I had all my kids talked into handmade this year but as soon as my son saw The Hulk costume, he had to have it. My oldest is the only one I managed to do all handmade this year. Maybe next year!

    I just started reading Bridget Jones’s Baby 🙂

    Like

  7. Costumes are crazy now! I remember when i was a kid it wasn’t that big a deal, but now you can drop $70 + easy if you have a couple to get! Nice candy haul! And yeah Halloween can be good exercise lol.

    Glad the Tea Shop mysteries are good. I like to read series in order too. And Six of Crows seems to be getting lots of love- must be a good one!

    http://gregsbookhaven.blogspot.com/

    Like

  8. I have had Six Of Crows and keep saving it…I am not sure why. Everyone who reads It loves it…I need to get to it soon!

    Like

    • It certainly is different. I love how it took me to another type of society and world. And no worries about the knitting. Your sister picked out wonderful patterns. I can’t wait to see them. But if you ever feel like you want that Kit Kat hat, I will knit you one. I want one now but maybe will infuse some colorwork into it. XO

      Like

  9. Admittedly, aside from reading last Monday while Little Man was in surgery, I’ve not done any (other than reading his books to him). I’m in the middle of Amy Schumer’s book, The Girl With the Lower Back Tattoo. I’m also in the middle of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Again. Woo.

    Like

  10. Cute halloween costumes!! And good advice about Amazon, they always have a huge range, and it’s harder for them to get picked over like they do in stores. I bought Lila her Little Red Riding Hood costume at thee end of September, and of course 2 days before halloween, she said she didn’t want to be little red riding hood, she wanted to be a leopard. Kids. But of course I couldn’t get a leopard costume in that timeframe so we went with LRRH. Lessons learned about changing your mind!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

