A Year of Projects – Week 19

*bows* Annyeong haseyo. Yay ೕ(•̀ᴗ•́) on the end of Daylight Savings. That extra hour is precious!

I haven’t had much to blog about since the knitting lately has been for me, but kamsa hamnida for your strong presence on the preemie hat post! I feel blessed to be able to craft with fiber and I’m honored to have contributed to Greg’s charity drive. I’m serious about stocking up on Berroco Comfort before next year. I love that yarn.

As you may have noticed, I skipped last week because our Saturday was so busy and Sunday I was exhausted. Yesterday, I made sure to make it a priority to enlist Jellybean’s photography help. Guess what?! I have a new FO! Wool & Company is now a new addition to my closet:

These are the three ways I would wear it. The last way is my favorite because it’s so long. My scarf is 92″ long and unblocked. After getting the purple tip finished, I figured I wouldn’t need to block it until after its first Eucalan washing.

The Deets

Pattern: Color Tipped Scarf by Purl Soho

Yarn Used: 1. Spud & Chloe Sweater in Moonlight, 2. Cascade Heritage in Honey, and 3. Plymouth Yarns Worsted Merino Superwash in purple

And since we were taking pictures…

I wanted to give my Ravellenic beanie a proper photo shoot in 360°!

The Deets

Pattern: The Wayfarer Hat by Carol E. Herman

Yarn Used: Malabrigo Arroyo in borrajas

Now for the new WIP’s!

On IG I am learning about new indie dyers out there. Some I’ve heard of before but am now able to put the name to a face. Christina, a.k.a. The Cozy Knitter, has been talked about a lot as she is half of the Dye Another Day Podcast and is famous for her Gingerbread self-striping yarn. I caught her Halloween update last month, snapping up Frankenfeet. After finishing the husband’s socks, I cast on my first Frankie:

img_5916

The self-striping skein comes with a mini skein of the green. I’ve always wanted to try knitting a pair of socks with contrast cuffs, heels, and toes. Oh boy the ends to weave in! I will have ten after this first sock is done. I almost ripped back to the leg to knit an afterthought heel but I would only have two less ends to weave in and since I had come that far, I soldiered on. Frankie #1 is my car-waiting knitting and I love it. The vanilla knitting is soothing to my soul. I love the colors which always make me smile.

Now that it’s November, it’s NaKniSweMo! National Knit a Sweater Month was created to model after NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month that encourages writers to write a 50K worded novel in one month. I don’t know if my sweater will be 50,000 stitches but I don’t care because I just want to finish it on time this year. Unfortunately, I have had a slow start to my NaKniSweMo project:

img_5913

The pattern I’m using is From Another Place Crop Top by Leah Coccari-Swift. I’ve started my top-down, cropped sweater in Sweet Georgia’s Trinity Worsted (70% merino, 20% cashmere goat, 10% silk) in Grapefruit from Green Planet Yarn. You also see there one of my new, Halloween stitch markers I had bought from the Etsy shop (Outside the Bin) of Renee – Confessions of a Yarn Addict.

Before I sign off I need your help! I need you to help me figure out a project name for this November sweater. For now, all I can think of is “Plastic Flamingo on the Lawn.” If you have one, please leave your suggestion in the comments (Click on the + sign.). I may pick one or create a poll for everyone to vote.

Off to make some tea. Annyeong kaseyo!

32 thoughts on “A Year of Projects – Week 19

  1. I am in LOVE with your color tipped scarf! I have four hanks of Berroco Flicker in two colors. You have inspired me to use it for this pattern!
    BTW, I adore your short hair!

    Like

    • Ooh, I had to Google that Berroco line as I only know of its Vintage and Comfort lines. The scarf’s only garter and it takes a while to knit up because of length, but it’s really worth it in the end. I like how the color-tipped ends make it unique. Thank you very much, BTW.

      Like

  2. One of the indie dyers I found via IG was Mud Punch. She’s in Canada but whatever, her shop works in USD instead of CAD. I’ve got so much yarn but I picked up a skein a few weeks ago. I also found Fiberdestash, which is one dedicated to destashing yarn, fiber, and yarn-related things (books, notions, etc.).

    Like

  3. Loving the scarf and I think all three ways of wearing it are great. Loving the colours in your Frankie socks. All I can think of for your jumper is pink blamonge but that is definately not an apt name 🙂 Hope others can help you find a name.

    Like

  4. That scarf is gorgeous and really looks good whichever way you wear it. Lots of choice and going to keep you warm with winter coming. Love the beanie too.

    Like

  5. Your color-tipped scarf is beautiful and I love seeing the different ways you can wear it. And the Frankenfeet yarn is great. So pretty and so perfectly named! With the gorgeous pink color of the yarn you’re using for your sweater I think “flamingo” in the name is pretty perfect. That’s all the help I am, though, I’m afraid.

    Like

  6. Great scarf……..it looks so warm and cozy. I am glad you did your beanie the justice of a 360 photo shoot. It really looks nice and the cables are my favorite stitch. Your Frankiefeet yarn is wonderful. I am loving the contrasting heels and cuffs too. As for the sweater……………..Your name is just about right. I actually had a ‘friend’ place plastic pink flamingos in my front yard as a joke and your sweater is just that color. (BTW, the flamingos were removed shortly after being discovered)

    Like

  7. I love your scarf, you should be rightly pleased with it. I have seen and heard about the gingerbread yarn and I’m really hoping one of the dyers over here do something similar!

    Like

  8. love that shawl and the ways you are wearing it! You are stylin’. I think you could wear this year after year and it will still be lovely!! Well done! (psst, I love your hat and socks too.)

    Like

  9. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  10. Love the scarf and hat, awesome finishes! I find IG to be a terrible enabler for indie yarns! There’s so many I want to buy from

    I like your sweater name, I vote that, it’s fun!

    Like

    • Oh man I hear and feel ya about how IG is such an enabler. I have a list for next year. Will try to be good and just make a yarn purchase once a month so I can fit in stamping supplies. Sometimes when I watch a knitting podcast, I stop when they talk about their acquisitions. And thank you. I think I’m going to stick with that name.

      Like

  11. Pingback: A Year of Projects, Week 52 – The Round Up – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

