One of My Favorite Charities

Aloha. ヾ(@⌒ー⌒@)ノ What are you up to this Saturday?

Our crew is already up. The husband is clickin’ away, workin’ on his Masters paper. Cupcake is no doubt immersed in a book up on her bed. Jellybean is laid out on the couch reading her graphic novel. My groggy brain has been woken up by a double cup of Irish Breakfast tea in my favorite, made-in-Washington mug.

A quick mahalo to all of you for all of your read-a-thon cheer on my book post. To clear up any misconceptions: Please don’t think I read all of those books in 24 hours. I had only read the last two, The Masked City and The Bookshop on the Corner. The Invisible Library was finished a week before the read-a-thon; I had forgotten that I had finished it and thus forgot to blog about it. Belgravia was finished right before the read-a-thon started. I’m still listening to Cinder and started Six of Crows, a YA fantasy. I won’t have a book post Monday.

I’m droppin’ a quick post today. My Friday was filled with volunteer work and Zumba. Then I had to cook and bake for tonight’s family dinner up the peninsula – potato salad and chocolate cupcakes – while squeezing in dinner for us. At about 7:36 p.m., I pulled out my cardstock and stamps and sat down to figure out how I was going to make a belated birthday card for my SIL.

Every year, I make sure to knit or crochet for a charity. You know I’m all about good karma for the ohana. As a member of Itty Bitty Knits group which was created for fans of Susan B. Anderson’s work, there is a monthly charity drive. Each month is headed up by a willing member. I found Gregknittingdaddy, hosting this month of October; you can read his story here. A couple of years ago his daughter was born a preemie at 30 weeks old. During the stressful time of her being in the NICU, he and other families were comforted by the Family Support Network of Central Carolina and he also learned how to knit.

When I had first learned about his story two years ago, I was touched. My brother and I were born preemies, not that early – just a month. We each were a little over 4 lbs. and had to stay in the NICU for a week. Flashback to two years ago when I had knitted these preemie hats for Greg’s drive – please excuse the quality of these photos; I have the originals on an old laptop and had to pull these from Ravlery:

You may faintly recall them from my former and retired blog, Knitspiring Odyssey. Isn’t it unbelievable how small these hats are?

This past Thursday I mailed off this time a group of crocheted preemie hats:

img_5896

I wanted to step up my game for Greg’s 2016 FSNCC drive and because I was knitting so much, crochet was a lovely change of fiber crafting. Another plus: I used leftover, stash yarn!

Top to Bottom:

  1. Preemie Hat by Ashlea Konecny – Berroco Comfort Solids & Heathers in pink; for a 1-2 lb preemie
  2. Simply Double Crochet Hat by Oombawka Design – Araucania Pomaire Multy in Purple Multy
  3. Preemie Pumpkin Hat by Janaya Chouinard – Berroco Comfort Solids & Heathers in orange + Karabella Aurora 8 in green; for a 2-3 lb preemie
  4. Preemie/Newborn Bear Ears Hats by Cream of the Crop Crochet – Knit Picks Brava Worsted in Sienna; for a 3-5 lb preemie

The pumpkin hat was the most challenging for me to crochet. You know I’m a knitter first and can crochet the basics. This design involved FPDC, front post double crochet which was new to me. I had to restart once or twice in order to be able to get used to keeping track of numbers with this stitch. Despite that, the results are stinkin’ cute!

And I love Berroco Comfort Solids & Heathers. It is highly recommended for chemo patients. There were two other designs I had wanted to do but didn’t have the colors for them. For the main hats I wanted to use really soft, washable yarns since they’ll be touching the fragile noggins of preemies. The next time I’m up in the city, I plan to stock up on this yarn for future charity crochet.

Okay, GTG. I have chocolate buttercream to put together. I think I’ll be making poop cupcakes again since I have a whole bunch of eyes left and because the ohana hasn’t seen them in person. Have a great Saturday. TTYL.

16 thoughts on “One of My Favorite Charities

  1. Your crocheted baby hats came out so cute!!! Knitting for babies is so satisfying. And your poop cupcakes look very professional and entertaining, I might try these for our Halloween too.

    Like

  2. You know me, the retired NICU nurse . I have to say those donated hats were darling, made the baby look so much more a baby and less a sickly one. Great charity to knit for. !!!! Have a fantastic family gathering. .

    Like

  3. Stefanie, this post made me teary! Wyatt was such an itty bitty preemie, 2 lbs 15 oz. He spent 6 weeks in the NICU, and he received so many handknit hats and even two blankets; I can tell you that we were so appreciative of these gifts while we were there. Those hats helped him to keep his body temperature up so that he didn’t burn important calories trying to keep warm. He was a “double bundle and a hat baby”, meaning they swaddled him in two blankets and kept a hat on him all of the time. We still have all of his NICU hats and the blankets. I am sure those hats that are so lovingly made by you for those little babies will just as thankful. And that pumpkin one is adorable. 🙂

    Like

  4. those hats are adorable! it’s been quite some time since I have crocheted a hat of any size. I will have to look into donating preemie hats to our NICU, two of my nieces spent some time in there.

    Like

  5. I love that tiny bear hat!
    I want to eventually crochet some hats or trauma bears for charity. I’ve had trouble finding places that accept crochet pieces in Australia, but I’ll find one eventually!

    Like

  6. And thank you for being a generally good and kind person! My second son wasn’t prem, but he was still very small at full term and I didn’t have a small enough jumper for him. The hospital gave me a donated knitted jacket, which I will keep forever.

    Like

  7. Hi😀 I’ve recently started a blog where I talk about my work experience, but mainly the experience I am currently gaining at a children’s charity called Tiny Tims that offer free treatments for young people with disabilities. I would really appreciate it if you could follow me🙂

    Like

  8. That is so amazing, you are doing such a good thing!! those little tiny babies will love having the extra warmth, and everyone who sees them will smile at the cute little hats they are wearing. You are amazing!

    Like

  9. Pingback: A Year of Projects – Week 19 | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

