It’s Monday! What are you reading?

readathon5

Good morning to you. How was your weekend? Did you participate in Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? Last minute I did. If you’re curious about my Saturday, you can read any of the morning, afternoon, and night updates. If you want to try an awesome cookie recipe, read the night update post. I think it’s the best one I’ve ever tried.

I’m not going to go through the usual questions of reflection Dewey usually posts this time. The main reason why is that I was really relaxed during the 17 hours I was up and I wasn’t worried about snacks. I had fun and would you believe I was able to get 812 pages read even though I made breakfast, lunch, dinner, and sweets from scratch? I even got in some audiobook time and crochet! How’s that for being productive?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

I have four books to chat about this Monday. Pull up a chair and let’s get crackin’.

invisible

I know many of you have read Genevieve Cogman’s The Invisible Library. I was on its electronic hold list for quite some time. When it opened up for me, whatever hardcopies of other holds were in the wings for me, I wasn’t in the mood to read them and let the pick up time run out.

This book is chock-full of genres.  You got science fiction because of time travel, there are supernatural characters, don’t forget the fantasy aspect as magic can be utilized, and there is a steampunk technology. This is the first time I’ve encountered a book so mixed like this. In the beginning, I had to adjust to the mixture and absorb the concept of traveling between worlds/dimensions. Once my brain understood it all, my enjoyment of the story grew. There is action constantly going on all because of the value of old books. I became so curious about the Library and I want to know what their language sounds like! Whenever Irene used it, I had flashbacks to Parseltongue being spoken in the Harry Potter books. I really liked this read; three stars and I’ll be trying out more steampunk because of it.

belgravia

I happened to spot Julian Fellowes’ Belgravia in the New Fiction section. I was a bit fearful to read this book as I’m a Downton Abbey fan . I worried it would let me down, but I know many of you loved it so that buoyed me up.

As many of us were swept by the grandeur of Downton’s settings and how the English royalty lived, Belgravia did not disappoint. Detailed descriptions of estates, gowns, and town filled up the pages as I came to know the characters. While we loved the below stairs staff of Downton Abbey who were treated like family, this book really shows the attitude towards class separation. The upper crust was more jaded and haughty, tradesmen and their families worked it to get their foot into the circles of the elite, and those in service almost had a by-all-means-necessary attitude to benefit in any way they could. So this novel was grittier as it wound its way through the plot. I liked how it was different. Three stars.

maskedcity

The Masked City, the second book following The Invisible Library, surprisingly didn’t have a long hold list. It was the first book I had started for the read-a-thon. It took most of Saturday to read it as I had bouts in the kitchen to fill up the bellies of my crew.

This read gave me lots of details to absorb. It gave me a closer glimpse into the workings of the Library. I still have questions as so much about its hierarchy is elusive to me. I learned more chaos and got a better understanding about it. The term, “spheres,” was used a lot and it took a bit for it to sink into my understanding. The steampunk aspect didn’t run through this book which was a bit disappointing to me. It focused more on the balances of power. Lots of action, more blood, and good ol’ teamwork. Three stars and I’m looking forward to the third installment.

bookshop

After my night update of the read-a-thon, I was finally able to settle down for the night on our Caribbean blue couch with a fuzzy blanket and start this book that many of you want to read. I read The Bookshop on the Corner in three hours!

This was easy reading. After being made redundant (Did I use that correctly UK readers?), Nina is trying to figure out what to do next so she’s somewhat at a cross roads. It’s scary to go on a different path from where she’s been most of her life, but sometimes taking steps ahead, no matter how scary it seems, inspires her to jump at an opportunity to take what she loves and create a new life for herself.

The Bookshop on the Corner was a pleasant read. I loved the book aspect. Nina is almost like a book whisperer where she gets a sense of what the individual likes to read then makes a recommendation from her stock. It felt like why I started following book bloggers and joining on Goodreads where you’re inspired by what others are reading. This story shows community and how books can bring one closer altogether or make a light bulb go on in one’s life. Three stars.

Well, that’s all I got for this post. TTYL.

Currently Reading:

cinder I keep asking myself why did I take so long to get to it while I’m listening to the audio.

I’m thinking a mystery for my Kindle is up next as well.

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Thanks for your reviews.The Bookshop on the Corner sounds most appealing to me but only because of the easyread aspect. You got the term redundant right 🙂 A readathon sounds like a great idea and I am in awe of how you managed to squeeze everything in, super fast reading ninja warrior 😉 xxx

    Like

  2. I loved Bookshop on the Corner! Such bookish fun. I was the same way with Cinder on audio. I loved it and kept wondering why I had hesitated. I read Scarlet and loved it too so now I just have to finish the series. I have the rest of your books on my TBR. I’m super curious about The Invisible Library. I can see where the mish-mash of genres would take some getting used too so I’m glad to know that if I’m having a little trouble at the beginning to just persevere! Have a great week!

    Like

  3. Bookshop on the Corner sounds delightful! I dont have any reading plans just now. Fireman has us very busy in the woods until the cold weather hits. I’ll ready this winter. FOr now I have to save my downtime for my knitting!!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. I am eager to read The Bookshop on the Corner. So glad you enjoyed the readathon…I decided not to do it. I don’t like “forced reading.” lol. It feels too much like work.

    I do enjoy reading whenever I want…and love seeing how others enjoy these events. Thanks for sharing, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  5. I started Barkskins by Annie Proulx this weekend and I’ve become pretty immersed in it. It’s a very good book, I’m still waiting to see if it is a great one. It is a little too much like a James Mitchner book right now; I keep waiting for the richness of character growth I remember from The Shipping News. Still, I am completely hooked.

    Like

  6. So the readathon ended well – go you. Yes I enjoyed Belgravia too and look forward to the Jenny Colgan book, now I just need to get some reading accomplished. Maybe a long 3 hour stint would help.

    Like

  7. You were super productive! That’s a lot of reading! All of the books you listed sound awesome and amazing and now I need to read them all. Lol. Hmm you have me intrigued about Cinder. I have been toying with the idea of reading it but have never gotten around to it.

    I saw your cookies on IG; they looked delicious! And that little pumpkin hat was precious!

    Like

  8. you read some amazing books on your readathon!! I’ve been wanting to read Belgravia, thanks for the mini reviews!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

