A Year of Projects – Week 17

waterfall of thoughts

heart into typing fingers

connecting freely

Before I start today’s post, I (•ˇ‿ˇ•)-→ wanted to say thank you for your lovely reactions to all of those cards I had created, for your comments during my trifecta of posts yesterday for the read-a-thon, and for drooling along with me on the new oatmeal cookie recipe I tried out. Your sweet support is like rays of sunshine that travel far to my window and bathe me in warmth. *bows down in gratitude*

yop_yr_6_banner_futuristic

After my Ravellenic beanie was completed, I haven’t started anything new. I know I had teased you in the last YOP1617 post with those happy pops of color for the top, but I’ve decided to wait on casting on.

November is known as NaKniSweMo or National Knit a Sweater Month. It is modeled after NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month where in the month of November writers write a 50,000 worded novel. Following along the same lines, knitters are encouraged to knit a 50K stitched sweater.

Last year I failed miserably. I had probably started too late on that Tin Can Knits cardigan. This year I decided to link YOP and NaKniSweMo together for the month of November. While the pattern is called From Another Place Crop Top, it is considered a sweater. I don’t know if I’ll have 50,000 stitches to qualify for prizes, but that’s okay. I’d like to knit along for the spirit of the meme and to have another garment for myself.

During one of Jellybean’s hip hop classes, I was able to finish up the honey yarn – Cascade Yarns Highland Duo. I started knitting with the deep purple, Plymouth Yarns Worsted Merino Superwash, but I didn’t like the gauge of the nine rows. So…ribbit

img_5891

I will be going up to an Addi Turbo size 8 (5 mm) circular needle from the size 7 that was used for the honey section.

I’m really excited as this is the last part of my scarf! I want to cast on a smaller project since November isn’t quite here yet but I’m going to finish up this project first.

Have a relaxing Sunday. And I’m off!

13 thoughts on “A Year of Projects – Week 17

  1. I am a wanna be in nanowrimo. I think about it every single year and do not do it. I could easily knit a sweater in a month but I don’t want to 🙂 I have that retired free time and no kids to achieve it, but Christmas knitting is more pressing for me!! lovely knitting!!

    Like

  2. National knit a sweater month sounds a good motivater to finish stuff. However I would never be able to finish a whole sweater, it would take me at least 1 year 🙂 unless it was super chunky lol xxx

    Like

  3. I love that scarf! I wish I cold join in on some of the knitting and novel get togethers but alas….remodeling and cleaning have taken the forefront. I will live vicariously through you and your beautiful projects!

    Like

  4. I love the perspective of the last photo! I have yet to even think of sweater knitting in full size lol I have only made baby size and love how fast they work up. i might have to treat myself to a leisurely sweater knit.

    Like

  5. A haiku post, amazing! And hey, the knitting takes as long as it takes. What’s more important than the timeline is how much you enjoy knitting it and wearing the finished product.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

