Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon: Night Update

Aloha. There are about seven hours left of this read-a-thon. I finished my first book which was entertaining and had lots to absorb.

Between then and now I cranked out and slapped dinner onto the table for the crew and got in some crafting while listening to this recent Overdrive Listen hold that had come in:

cinder

I’m 40% the way through it so far. All I can say about it so far: What in tarnation took me so long to read it?!

Karen had mentioned, “…I look forward to seeing the cookie:)” Here you go:

img_5883

I don’t usually follow the blogs of  food bloggers since I pin recipes all the time on Pinterest. However, I discovered Hip Foodie Mom on IG and liked her enough to follow her blog.

This is Alice’s Spiced Oatmeal Cookies. I’ve tried a couple of oatmeal cookie recipes but lemme tell you, hers is the best!

Backstory

I had bought a bag of organic, tart, dried cherries at the last Costco run since my mum once made cookies with dried cherries which was a pleasant change from raisins. For weeks, I’ve had to give the evil eye to the husband and Cupcake for wanting to break open the bag. I told them I was saving them for baking and if they were going to bust it open and eat it, I wasn’t bakin’ anythin’. That made each of them put the bag away quickly.

Look at today’s recipe results:

img_5884

I didn’t have sliced almonds and my honey likes to have a bit of chocolate in his sweets so I subbed the 1/2 cup of almonds for 1/8 cup of chocolate chips

img_5887

and for an 1/8 cup of walnuts.

img_5889

I used my medium and small scoops from Williams-Sonoma to make each ball of dough. These cookies came out like pillows of dough in the middle with edges of crunch. I love how thick they are and how the dough’s not dried up from these three components. I was able to get 30 cookies out of Alice’s recipe. The four of us each had at least two today.

Okay; back to reading. I’m going to start this one:

bookshop

in my little spot here:

img_5890

I’ll try to stay up as late as I can. Aloha.

10 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon: Night Update

  1. Those cookies sound and look delicious. I just now subscribed to her bog posts and got that recipe! I will be totally interested in what you think of the bookshop book! It’s one I really want to read!

    Like

  2. OMG I want one of those cookies now!! So yummy looking, I have to go get that recipe, and walnuts in them would be yummy. I must get to read Cinder, I too have been putting it off too long!! Want to read Jenny Colgan’s one as well, you have beaten me to both.

    Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  4. I read the first four of the Lunar Chronicles and loved them all! I think I finished Winter too; however I need to check it out of the library again and see if I actually read it or just think I did 🙂 My mind is confused on the last book. Those cookies look so yummy…especially to my low-carb starved brain right now. Is it worth not eating cookies to lose weight? I guess we’ll see 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Friday Favorites – fiber and sustenance

  6. Pingback: Some of the Christmas FOs – Gift Knitting III | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

