It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

It’s that time of the year where we start slipping into lower temperatures and perhaps have more moments to cuddle up with a good book. Has that been happening for ya? This season reminds me of a series that I’ll probably start reading again before the year is out – Harry Potter, a timeless classic in my eyes.

One of my favorite J.K. Rowling quotes is this one:

(source)

Aย few weeks agoย I was inspired to bring the Harry Potter books alive in our home. If you’re curious you can click here. Have you ever recreated the world of a favorite read in your home? If so, do share!

Well I’ve managed to get in some solid, good reading this week. I cleared off my nightstand stack and found some in-between books before holds came in.

sweetshop

I decided to try out Jenny Colgan this week because I believe one of you had mentioned another series of hers recently. I was hesitant at first because I read a modern-day romance by a UK author once and found the style, which didn’t appeal much to me, very different from that of American authors’. However, the summary of the plot was intriguing enough for me to request it from my local library.

I enjoyed reading Sweetshop of Dreams. The snarky humor of the characters had me chuckling. I liked the progression of Rosie’s journey ย of getting her butt out of her rut and finding her groove. I liked how some parts weren’t predictable and oh, to have candy shop full of classic sweets sounds delectable. I think maybe Dylan’s in NYC is the closest to having vintage sweets? Three stars.

countess

During a recent library trip I happened to peruse some shelves after not finding anything in the New Fiction section, and this historical romance caught my eye. I have never heard of Karen Hawkins so I thought it’d be fun to try out another new author this year.

How to Capture a Countess was a great read. The author’s take on the bringing these two characters together was unique. I enjoyed the competitive spirits of the couple. They made the competitions fun.

I’m happy to have found a new author in this genre as many of my old favorites have turned to modern-day romance. I look forward to searching for more of her work. Three stars for this book.

I hope to have started by the time this post is up, The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. I’ve heard good things about it! What lined-up book do you have that you’re rubbing your hands in glee over?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. You are really making me want to reread Harry Potter!! I loved those books, and it has been too long since I read them.

    Glad you found a new author you like – I always love that, especially if they are a prolific author. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Good to hear you are finding a few new authors you enjoy. I want to read the bookshop book by Jenny Colgan. I have only read one of hers and enjoyed it. Have heard of Karen Hawkins but not read anything by her. I think British authors are a little different to American, but I grew up on the British ones although now I read mostly American!

    Like

  3. Oh I hope you like The Invisible Library. I thought it was quite fun and I’m looking forward to diving into the second one, hope fully it will be as good as the first.

    Love that quote (and the picture too). Looks perfect for this time of year!

    Like

  4. I’ve been working my way through Knitlandia by Clara Parkes. I’ve been listening to HP but I need to finish getting them all into iTunes from my CDs. I’ve got the rest of GoF, OotP, HBP, and DH to do. And I’m not listening in any particular order. I just click somewhere and start listening.

    Like

  5. Your Harry Potter dinner looked amazing – a lot of thought, creativity and prep work clearly went in to it!

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Jenny Colgan’s work, although never read any myself. I hope you enjoy all upcoming reads!

    Like

  6. Sweetshop of Dreams sounds great, and that is wonderful that you found a new author that you enjoy. It’s always great discovering the previous books by a good ‘new to you’ writer!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

