A Year of Projects, Week 14

Let’s set the mood shall we?

October by Robert Frost

O hushed October morning mild,

Thy leaves have ripened to the fall;

Tomorrow’s wind, if it be wild,

Should waste them all.

The crows above the forest call;

Tomorrow they may form and go.

O hushed October morning mild,

Begin the hours of this day slow.

Make the day seem to us less brief.

Hearts not averse to being beguiled,

Beguile us in the way you know.

Release one leaf at break of day;

At noon release another leaf;

One from our trees, one far away.

Retard the sun with gentle mist;

Enchant the land with amethyst.

Slow, slow!

For the grapes’ sake, if they were all,

Whose leaves already are burnt with frost,

Whose clustered fruit must else be lost —

For the grapes’ sake along the wall.

Has the weather altered in your area with Autumn now in season? Our week went from 100° to the high 90’s and then dropped to the 70’s. The wind used to just come in the late afternoon, but now it gusts about all day.

yop_yr_6_banner_futuristic

I’ve let go of the notion that I must post every Sunday for YOP1617 which is why I didn’t post last week. When there’s progress, there’s progress and I’ll converse about it, yeah?

It has been a quieter week after our epic Harry Potter dinner. I had good opportunities to knit, some at home or during a daughter’s extra curricular class, but mostly in the car.

Wool & Company

The honey section of my scarf is almost complete.

img_5790

In playing it by ear, I am going to finish this yarn up. I have over 400 rows knitted already.

Ravellenic Games Beanie

Guess what?! I finished it!

img_5788

It’s waiting for a photo shoot for its 360° reveal.

A close up of the beautiful stitch patterns.

img_5789

So if you’re looking for a beanie for the cooler weather, you cannot go wrong with Carol E. Herman’s Wayfarer Hat. The pattern is laid out in an easy format to follow, most of it practically line by line. And hey, a chance to use this wonderfully soft Malabrigo Arroyo? C’mon, ya can’t pass that up.

What’s Up Next

*rubs hands in glee*

So earlier this week I made sure to be good and finish off my new beanie because I’ve been dying to cast on a particular pattern. I had until the 30th to get the yarn. Why? Well, during your whole birthday month Green Planet Yarn in San Jose not only gives you a free project bag – I chose this one because it reminded me of Oahu’s palm leaves – but it also

img_5781

allows you to buy yarn at a special, discounted price. You reach into a ceramic jar filled with colored poker chips. Most represent 20% off while there are surprises of either 50% or I think even 75% off. Last year and this year I got 20% and I ain’t complainin’.

My next YOP project is the pattern, From Another Place Crop Top by Leah Coccari-Swift. I won this pattern from Jesse/Oocha of Hungry Cat Podcast. In her Ravelry group, I participated in her Watch Me WIP KAL. She was drawing a prize just for participating in each month’s discussion, etc. and I had won! I got to choose a pattern $7 or less on Rav and I chose From Another Place Crop Top because I had fallen in love with Kat’s, The Wayward Knitter, adding the pattern because of her. So thank you Kat and thank you Jesse.

Before going to Green Planet Yarn, in my mind, I wanted more Madelinetosh Vintage. I loved how it knitted up for my nephew’s Flax last Christmas. I already had a skein of Forestry (a discontinued color) in my stash that I really wanted to use in my jumper. So my mindset was to buy either a light grey as my first choice or light blue as a second.

I went to GPY but wasn’t satisfied with the colorways they sold in the Madtosh yarn. Instead this catches my eye:

img_5782

Meet Sweet Georgia’s Trinity Worsted in Grapefruit. And check out the content: 70% merino, 20% cashmere goat, & 10% silk. *grins like a cat that’s got the cream* That’s one way to treat oneself for her 42nd birthday, yeah? *winks*

Don’t you love how the pink goes with the green? I love it. It’s a combination so different from my usual greys, black, and blues. I have a secret and slowly growing fondness for pink but it has to be in the right shades for my taste.

I hope to cast on today but I have to get my mini swap items done. I can’t wait to show those off at a later time. Until then, enjoy the rest of your Sunday. Thanks for hanging out with me. Bye!

19 thoughts on “A Year of Projects, Week 14

  1. Love the hat and the stitches are really beautiful. I love how your posting when you have progress to post, it’s good to kick back and take things as they come, no pressure, no timelines. Love the pink with the green it’s a great combo. I find myself wearing more greens and teals with my hair as they compliment each other so well! 😀 Looking forward to seeing your top

    Like

    • Are yours in the Trinity Worsted too? I have their sock yarn which I need to give another chance. The skein I had tried out for my dad was all tangled up within which had me go all crude sailor.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I came in here to see what yarny goodness you had to share and I got totally caught up in reading about your Harry Potter birthday party (using the link you provided above). What fun! Your beanie is really pretty – I love the close up pictures of all the beautiful stitch work. Can’t wait to see what you make with that gorgeous new yarn you’ve recently acquired. 🙂

    Like

  3. That hat is just lovely! Beautiful stitching! I keep meaning to knit something with my one skein of Madelinetosh…one day, one day! That pink is very pretty. I am not one for pink but orange just gets me.

    Like

  4. Oh, I love that Robert Frost poem…that’s a new one to me, but so perfect! I love the madelinetosh and Sweet Georgia colorways together…wonderful! And I love your finished Wayfarer…your work is always a-mazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mahalo nui loa, Carol. I’m so glad to have bought your beanie pattern. It is freakin’ awesome. The detail that went into that pattern writing is amazing. I totally look up to you and will hope to venture down that path next year. I’m excited to try out this Sweet Georgia yarn!

      Like

  5. Well, first off, I loved your poem selection because,well, I LOVE Fall! Your hat? Wow, Stefanie-what beautiful stitches and what beautiful yarn. I wish I liked to wear hats more! And then, I need to wish you a very belated Happy Birthday! You do not look like you are in your 40’s girlfriend! I have not commented much lately but I did see a few postings here and on Instagram so I know you had a pretty wonderful birthday celebration. And lastly, the yarn you bought is to die for and will be a gorgeous top.
    I hope this week is going well and that whatever is on your plate is ticking right along!
    xoxoo

    Like

  6. Oh, what a wonderful poem, I haven’t read it in such a long time- a great reminder!! And your hat is bloody gorgeous, just absolutely perfect.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

