Be Ready to Smile!

Hello. What’d ya’ll eat for dinner this Hump Day? We had ground turkey, Asian lettuce wraps. I never get tired of lettuce wraps. Ours is always in iceberg lettuce.

I have been eagerly waiting to post these FO’s! These were sent off today.

Are you ready to be blinded by cuteness?

Cupcake’s former, third grade teacher had a baby boy end of August. I was going to knit him something of course. I chose hats in sizes before six months as you know the wee ones like to pull them off around that time.

#1: Wes’side (newborn)

She, her husband, and I are all born on the Wes’side. Had to have the bebe represent:

img_5742

I’m known to stripe and have that jogless jog technique down. The yarn is Loops & Threads Snuggly Wuggly in Dove Grey and Soft Gray.

If you follow me on IG, you have seen that fluffy pom-pom that I made with my Clover pom-pom maker. It was the very first time I used the contraption. I had to Youtube it as it doesn’t come with any instructions. I had originally just left it sans two-toned topper but when I showed it to my mum, I asked her if she thought it needed a little somethin’ somethin’ like a pom-pom and she said it did.

#2: One Little Pumpkin (0-6 months)

img_5741

Since the baby was going to be an August one, I figured I could knit him Susan B. Anderson’s Little Pumpkin pattern. I have only been able to knit it once. I love this pattern. In the book it originally has the stem and leaf in green I believe. You’ve heard this before, in Chinese culture, Asian males cannot wear green hats because of the superstition that doing so signals your wife is cuckolding you. So my mum was like change the colors. The main body is in Cascade 220 Superwash, the stem is in Spud & Chloe Sweater Rootbeer, and the leaf is in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted Bold Red.

#3: Hey Mr. DJ

The bebe’s daddy used to DJ before he met S. I had Repeat Crafter Me’s Crochet Headphones pattern pinned for quite some time and immediately thought of it for baby. It is not listed on Ravelry. I have the link on my project page or if you click on “Repeat…” the words will take you to her site.

Isn’t it cool?! I used Loops & Threads Snuggly Wuggly in Soft Gray which is actually a DK weight instead of the pattern’s worsted weight yarn. So what I did was use Creating Beautiful Things in Life’s post on how to crochet a hat from scratch and I used this Tot Toppers chart for sizing. For the orange and black yarn, I believe (don’t have the ball labels anymore) I used Berroco Comfort Solids & Heathers.

I am so excited for this package to arrive in the parents’ hands! ETA: Friday!

What cuteness has blinded you lately?

15 thoughts on “Be Ready to Smile!

  1. OMG! They get all of them? He’s not even born and already has a wardrobe of hats! They are just precious and you do such a great job. Your stitches are always perfect. I had never heard the Asian male story but then there are none in my family so that’s probably why. It’s good to know other people’s cultures and traditions as we can so easily insult someone just out of ignorance. I love how they all turned out and your color choices are stunning. I pinned them as I want to remind myself of how a well stitched hat should look like! Wish me luck!

    Like

  2. Cuteness overload! I love the pumpkin hat even more with the brown stem & red leaf. And that headphones hat is beyond cool! The parents are going to be over the moon when they open this package.

    Like

  3. utterly adorable hats, all 3! I agree about hats needing a little somthin’ somethin’, I always vote for a pom pom if a pom pom is potentially on the table.

    Like

  4. Pingback: FO’s in Action! | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

