It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Well it’s been quite some time since I’ve last chatted about books. I’m prepping this post Sunday as I’m finally able to relax after having been so busy the past few weeks. My kids are finally back in school. We have our new route and schedules down. I had a lovely birthday and I’m still riding the high of last night’s Harry Potter family dinner! I’ll be posting about that this week.

So. instead of the usual planning of what to read next, I’ve been bringing home hardcovers from the New Fiction section practically each library trip with the girls. Today’s post I will be to the point for each read as it’s been seven books since our last conversation!

janesteele

I had just finished listening to Jane Eyre and thought it perfect to read Jane Steele afterwards with the classic fresh in my mind. I liked this book. It’s slightly dark and has similar but different events in the classic. Three stars.

dylan

You know from a past post I enjoyed the first in this Montana Creeds series. However, with Dylan I ended up giving two stars even though there were moments that made me smile. The plot was just okay. Even though this was a disappointment, I will still read the last book in the trilogy.

charm

If you want a simple, beach read, then The Charm Bracelet is for you. Each chapter stays on topic and gets right to the point.

There were several good quotes throughout this book; for example, “Pablo PIcasso once said, ‘Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.” (Page 18) This sentence pretty much represents this read. As a child, we’re full of imagination and dreams right? As we get older, sometimes we forget as we get bogged down with adult responsibility and obligations. Sometimes our paths may be chosen for us. The Charm Bracelet is about contemplating one’s life, the rediscovery of what’s been forgotten, and what to do about it. Three stars.

obsession

If there is one book I’d recommend out of today’s bunch, it would be The Obsession. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a romantic suspense. And oh boy what a suspense it was! I loved it. Four stars.

whatwefind

You know I liked a past series of Robyn Carr’s. However, this one I wasn’t wowed by. While I enjoyed parts, I expected so much more. Two stars.

pp

After finishing Jane Eyre,  I was seriously hankering for Pride and Prejudice. So yay on my library carrying a CD audiobook! The version I listened to was by Blackstone Audiobooks. The narrator, Carolyn Seymour, did a terrific job. Four stars.

summerhill

Funny enough, I had no idea The Girl from Summer Hill was a modern day Pride and Prejudice. This was a light read and a good one. Three stars.

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    • Thanks Patty. I appreciate you taking the time to comment while you’re recovering. I think most were a bit on the romance side. I just finished The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and it was a nice change. The Obsession is fantastic. I would have given it 5 stars but I guessed who the stalker was and so gave it 4. Hugs!

      Like

  1. Have you read Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld? We read it for my book club the month before last and it is also a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. It was really good 🙂 I used to be obsessed with Nora Roberts books and love the way she writes. I really need to get back to her books and catch up. Thanks for the reviews!

    Like

  2. I remember years ago I was recuperating at home from an illness and just wanted something happy and cheerful to read, so my friend brought my an armful of Robyn Carr paperbacks and I think I must’ve read twenty of them! They were just what I needed to cheer me up and keep me entertained without wearing me out. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ha, scrolling around looking for the comments place. Found it. Great load of books. Yes loved The Obsession too. Still have the Jane Steele book to read and sorry you didn’t really like the Robyn Carr book, but sometimes books just don’t work for us. Have a great week. Must check out the Susan Anderson sheep pattern. We are working from a pattern for the whole set so guess I better stick to that size.

    Like

  4. You are a prolific reader! I’m not into romance much but I do think I need to read Jane Austen to see what everyone is raving about. As a feminist I find no enjoyment in reading about how trapped and enslaved women were back then. It’s not romantic to me at all but in order to have an honest opinion I think I need to read it. Plus, history can teach us many things even through it’s fiction.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

