It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

_〆(。。) Is it Monday again? I swear I just blinked and now it’s mid-August. Thank you to those of you who have been vocal about ChiaoGoo and Hiya Hiya needles in yesterday’s post. I’m makin’ mental notes from you and Ravelers in Carol E. Herman Designs group. Thanks also for the beanie love. I worked on my scarf yesterday so today I will work on the beanie.

For those of you who have kids, did they start school today? Our old, SF friends did. Cupcake and Jellybean don’t start until the end of this month. The tween however did start her first day of Academy, which is like an introduction to her new junior high where she’s getting used to changing classes and getting used to navigating around campus. My baby’s growing up *sniff, sniff*.

Well, you know what time it is…linkin’ up with Kathryn.

Untitled

Today’s book post is short and sweet. I  have only finished one read this week: Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia Quinn. I noted in last Monday’s post that I was rereading the Bridgerton series because I gave up looking in used bookstores for a copy of this fourth installment. Jellybean’s teacher and class gifted me an Amazon gift-card at the end of the year so I used part of it to buy this copy.

I liked this book, giving it three stars. I didn’t give it four because I had high expectations for this storyline because I sensed something was going to come out. The plot wasn’t as shocking or dynamic as I thought it would be. However, I do appreciate that since Penelope has been around since the first book, I wasn’t bored to death by repetitious angst like I was with Nora Roberts’s third book in the Cousins O’Dwyer trilogy. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton was about the development of Colin and Penelope’s relationship especially after they were married. So I liked that. Would you believe I read this book in four and a half hours on Saturday?

How was your reading week? What was an interesting piece of writing that you’ve read recently?

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. School here doesn’t start until after Labor Day but I know a lot of areas are starting up already. The summer sure did go by fast! I didn’t do much reading thanks to the Olympics!

    Like

  2. It can be a real drag trying to find books that you want to reread, I haunted second hand book online sites at one stage but these days I just have so much to read I am not doing it at all really! I still want to read the latest Bridgerton book though.

    Like

  3. I’ve been lazy on the reading front. I’ve been meaning to reread the entire Harry Potter series (again) and I just can’t seem to get into it. Part of that may be the allure of fake internet medals from Ravellenics, as I’m spending time knitting…but I keep wanting to go back to The Hunger Games trilogy, which I’ve read twice now. I need a break from it. It does things to me. ::sigh::

    Like

  4. The kids here start September 1st, can’t wait! haha

    I’ve been reading Jane Eyre, I started it a couple months ago but other books got in the way of me really getting into it, I’m only ready Jane now though. Loving it! it’s one of my favorite books!

    Like

  5. My grands don’t start until next Tuesday up in Iowa but my daughter, the teacher started this last Tuesday which makes it hard to find childcare for a week. I wish I was there to help her out but she has great friends and neighbors so that’s fortunate.
    I just finished a book and will be posting about some this week hopefully or maybe next Monday. At my age I’m not into romance and really never was. I’m the tom boy, scientific, practical and anal type. LOL! I am reading a cookbook though which you would like, I think. TTYL! So good to catch up with my blogging friends! My family was here for 2 weeks…3 adults and 3 children…fun but crazy! Grandma was tuckered out for sure!

    Like

  6. It always feels especially fun to reread a book you enjoyed, and to cruise through it as such a pace- Amazing! I bet you felt really productive on Saturday, having read a book start to finish. That’s impressive!

    Like

  7. My son doesn’t start school until Monday. Wish we had a little more time for summer vacation now that the heat has let up. I’ve been reading some light romance novels.

    Like

  8. I have been having a bad reading year.. too much happening. The last book I read was Leaving Blythe River.. it was a wilderness survival type book that I sort of liked.. but it took me so long to get into. Sitting on my bedside table right now is Matchmakers of Minnow Bay which I have yet to start..

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

