The Other Craft, II

*yawns* ヽ( ´O`)ゞ Oh boy, even though I had a Green Giant (bubble tea) and some more green tea (Good Earth), I can’t help feeling sleepy. Currently, I have Irish Breakfast Tea steeping.

It has been fun learning what you’re reading lately. A few of you lean toward YA, some of you are into nonfiction, and others go for sagas. I like how everyone has different tastes and find joy in the written word.

Today is another catch up post but on the cards I’ve made since two months ago. Of course they’re inspired by Pinterest.

JUNE

These were thank you cards from Jellybean for her birthday presents.

Okay, I’m adding here as an edit because I totally forgot to explain what I did…

I cut rectangles of the patterned cardstock. I cut strips of the red and yellow so I could use the Punch Around The Page punch on each side to make them look like lace strips. I layered the strips under the patterned cardstock. For the sentiment, I cut smaller strips and used the corner punch of the eyelet lace to just punch the ends. These Thank You strips were mounted diagonally via Cupcake’s opinion with 3-D foam squares.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • patterned & solid color cardstock
  • Martha Stewart Punch Around The Page set, Eyelet Lace
  • glue dots
  • 3-D foam squares
  • wooden Thank You stamp

JULY

The first card was for my BFF on the peninsula. I tried out the layering technique where you cut several sizes of white cardstock, stamp the images, back each paper with a color one, and then layer them on top of one another. A black and white color theme gives a classy and more mature look. To have a pop of sweet color, I added that pink ribbon. I need to plump up my sad supply of skinny ribbon.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • white & black cardstock
  • mini birthday stamps with Staz On ink
  • skinny ribbon
  • glue dots

The second card was created for my husband’s former boss who was turning 40. Because this was for a male recipient, I wanted a masculine look and feel. I have had that balloon-confetti stamp for who knows how long so I wanted to dust it off to use. The Happy Birthday stamp is a new purchase from Michael’s. To stay monotone, I used dark grey since I had new, dark grey ink.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • white & grey cardstock
  • large, party-themed stamp to be the main feature
  • birthday greeting stamp
  • glue dots
  • Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette

These Thank You cards were for the goodies I had received in this post. For the first card, I wanted to try ink shading and shadowing with my Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette. I originally had punched out a strip of the eyelet lace to use like a stencil while I used a make up wedge as an ink blender. When I finished, I didn’t know whether to just mount that plaque on top or add something. In the end I felt the card needed something more, so I punched a white strip of the lace to glue on top. The plaque as I call it is made from this 3-in-1, frame stamp set. I used the middle one and cut it out to mount in the middle of the card.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • grey & white cardstock
  • Martha Stewart Around The Page, Eyelet Lace
  • Momenta Mounted Stamp, Modern Nest Frames
  • Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette
  • make up wedge sponge
  • 3-D foam squares
  • glue
  • alphabet letters stamps

The second card I wanted to break open my new tube of washi tape. I covered the front of the card with matching color tones. I then used a circle punch to punch out that space to show off the sentiment. I felt it would be boring inside to just see the Thank You there. A side note: When I see a card idea sometimes I wish I could see the inside of the card because I wonder, is it plain inside? I cut out black and white rectangles to layer inside as the message space. I also used my smaller punch to stamp the sentiment on and glued that on top of the punched out circle.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • white & black cardstock
  • washi tape
  • Recollections 2.5 inch Circle Punch
  • Martha Stewart Punch All Over The Page 1.5 inch circle punch
  • glue
  • small & skinny Thank You stamp
  • Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette

AUGUST

IMG_1500

I have been lazy in the past to send one of our friend-of-the-group anything as she lives overseas. I don’t know her well but wanted to remedy that with a birthday card. I wanted to use the panels technique but on a smaller basis to just highlight the unique portions of this stamp that you’ve seen earlier in this post. I cut a piece of speckled cardstock to glue on top of white cardstock. I stamped the image in black. I cleaned the stamp and then stamped it again in blue on  a white, cardstock scrap. I used my paper trimmer to just pare down to the blue image to those corner balloons and then glued each one on dark blue cardstock to match the ink. I mounted each balloon with 3-D squares. The sentiment was stamped in the same blue ink on white cardstock but backed by black cardstock. I think I mounted that with foam squares also.

Basic Supplies Used:

  • white, speckled, blue, & black cardstock
  • large, party-themed stamp
  • Happy Birthday stamp
  • Tim Holtz Permanent Mixed Media Ink Palette
  • 3-D foam squares
  • Tombow adhesive

Is this a pretty thorough post or what? Many stampers don’t explain how they make their cards. Some list what supplies they’ve used while other don’t do anything but show pictures. *shrugs* As a former teacher, I can’t help but be detailed.

Off to figure Σ(-᷅_-᷄๑) out tonight’s dinner and then make another card tonight. Thanks for hanging out here. TTYL.

12 thoughts on “The Other Craft, II

  1. I love learning more about the details in these cards. You make it sound so easy. Do you have most of the supplies already on hand or do they require a special trip to the craft store? I can spend hours at Michael’s browsing the scrapbooking/journaling/stamps supplies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I personally approve and love the cards you ve made M’lady!

    I try to buy the cards from our senior center ladies. THey do a decent job! Its mostly stickers but they find really fun ones

    Like

  3. You are so creative! These are beautiful cards, and I’m so impressed with the varied techniques and layering used to achieve the effects.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

